We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shallows Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shallows Resort to your Saves list
Shallows Resort
2.0 of 5 Specialty Resort   |   7353 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Egg Harbor, WI 54209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Oak Forest, Illinois
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We honeymooned at the Shallows over 27 years ago and decided that we would try it again after so many years.

It was like coming home to an old friend. Everything was the same. The homey, family feeling, the benches by the water to watch the sunsets, beautifully landscaped grounds and the good morning cinnamon rolls and coffee. It is easy to tell that a lot of love and attention to detail has remained constant after all of these years.

What was different? We stayed in a motel room and it had been completely renovated. The bathroom was spacious and completely redone and our bed was super comfortable with upgraded bedding. The porch area adjacent to the pool is now closed in and is a very comfortable place to enjoy a cup of coffee or play games. We were astonished at how low the water levels are on Green Bay. But that didn't mar the beauty of the fall sunsets.

If you are looking for a cozy, family run hotel that is close to Egg Harbor and ON the water, then I would highly recommend a stay at the Shallows.

Room Tip: Second floor hotel rooms have a nicer view of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    15
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
27
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chippewa Falls, WIsconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This place was FABULOUS!!! This is the perfect place for a couples get-a-way or a family vacation. We only stayed one night in the motel. It didn't have a lot of new updates, but was cozy and perfect for us. I would rather have a clean room that has everything we need without adding all new things every year and charging double!!! What ever happened to use it till it is worn out...by the way...nothing was in such bad shape that I would complain. The staff - terrific!! I lost my credit card and they did everything they could do at 10:00 at night to help me. Talk about going the extra mile! Although, I wasn't worried for a second because the people we met here were nice, courteous and seemed trust worthy. A real family place. We met a family that has been coming there OVER 40 years and this seems to be common here...and why?? Because of the views, the choices in lodging types, the prices and the staff. We hope that we will be able to find a weekend next year where they will let us stay again. Just a wonderful, relaxing time!!! Oh...and did I mention that when we thought our babysitter was not going to be able to watch the kids, they suggested on they used for their own kids???? Just spectacular!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

The location and views and grounds are beautiful. However, they need to make a few upgrades for me to return. Firstly, the mattress had defined indentations - desperately needs replacement. The continental breakfast could use better,more and healthier selections. When we checked in, I asked to have a bed linen change mid-week, and was told it would cost me $10.00. Excuse me, but if I am here for 7 nights and dropping over a $1,000., you're going to charge me to get fresh bed linens? The minimum stay is 3 nights, so after that the staff should come in and clean and change sheets. All said, if I ever turn to Door County, I will ask very specific questions and stay in a nicer place.

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Had an excellent time. Breathtaking sunsets. Good location. Would recommend to anyone. Looking forward to coming back in the future. Make sure you plan a night to sit and watch the sunset. Perfect launch point to the North Door.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

What a find! We recently stayed in the motel part of the resort and found it to be a wonderful experience. The rooms are really very nice, extremely clean, if not a little dated. But the bathrooms appear to be newly renovated. The staff couldn't be more pleasent. It's close to everything Egg Harbor has to offer, features a small continental breakfast (plus in-room coffee), and use of recreation equipment, as well as their firepits. The only thing I can think of that may not be to everyone's liking is that there didn't seem to be much of a beach. We will definitely be back with our family, including our dogs, :-)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Our family rented Bluffside House through the Shallows, and had full use of the resort facilities while we were there. It was our first experience with The Shallows, though we've been to Door County many times. Management was very friendly, our rental home was immaculate & the resort was clean and well kept. A great place to take the kids! We'll be back!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were lucky enough to get to stay in the cabin, 3 bedroom, 2 bath close to the waters edge. What a pleasure it was to stay and relax. The cabin was spotless and well maintained,furnished with very nice fireplace and webber gas grill on your outside patio. Screened porch to relax and watch the beautiful sunsets. Bob gets up and has coffee and bagels and sweet rolls every morning for who ever wants to go to the lodge by the pool. The grounds are simply gorgeous and well maintained.
We have done a lot of traveling and can say the Shallows is right at the top of the list of the best places we have stayed and enjoyed.
I would definetly recommend staying here and we will be staying here when we have the opportunity to get back to Door County.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shallows Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shallows Resort

Address: 7353 Horseshoe Bay Rd, Egg Harbor, WI 54209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shallows Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shallows Resort is a relaxed, family-friendly Door County resort located directly on shores of Green Bay. From our shoreline you can watch the sun set, launch one of the resort's canoes, kayaks, or rowboats and sit by the camp fire ...all in the seclusion of our Egg Harbor waterfront resort. We have a variety of accommodations and price points to meet your vacation needs. Make our Door County lodging your home base to tour the entire Door peninsula - we're centrally located to some of the area's best restaurants, parks, golf and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Shallows Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shallows Hotel Egg Harbor
Shallows Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shallows Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.