We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awfully pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Roadhouse of Carlsville

The Roadhouse of Carlsville
5790 Hwy 42, Egg Harbor, WI 54235
(920) 743-4966
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 23 Restaurants in Egg Harbor
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Sturgeon Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awfully pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

We visited the Roadhouse shortly after they reopened following the remodeling following their fire. It seemed pleasant and comfortable enough inside. In this touristy area, we realize we are going to pay the "tourist" price at restaurants, but I was rather offended by the out-of-line prices for the rather basic fare we ordered. I doubt we'll return.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    6
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thiensville, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An old stop with a new fresh look”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Roadhouse had a fire a few years back and it is now a new bar/restaurant that is very clean and neat. Just drinnks and some appetizers were sampled.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Appetizers and Beverages”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a nice place to stop for appetizers, beverages or a sandwich. Prices are a little high but it is Door County. It is also in a little out of the way location but we still recommend.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great little place - if you've got time to spare”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We were camping down the street and looking for a late night dinner. We stumbled on this little place. We like broasted chicken so we thought we'd try that. It was excellent!! We also ordered a cheeseburger and a steak sandwich. They were all excellent. If we hadn't ordered the broasted chicken, dinner would probably have come faster, but it was worth the wait :-)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

My wife and I stopped by the Roadhouse during Carlsville Days this past Saturday. I expected the restaurant to be packed, but it really wasn't. They were busy, but I assumed they would be prepared, seeing as there was a festival going on in town and they had live music on their lawn. Well, it took about 15 minutes for a waitress to stop by, take our drink orders and drop off menus. After another 15 minutes our drinks showed up and the waitress took our order. We only ordered two burgers and an order of fries. It took about 30 minutes for the food to arrive, then they had forgotten the fries. I asked the waitress about the fries, she went back to the kitchen and returned with nothing, saying they sold my fries to someone else. By the time I received my fries I had already finished my burger. There was no offer to give me the fries or a free drink or anything else. I cannot rate this restaurant very high at all. The service was poor. The burgers were nothing special - overcooked - dry - and not much flavor. The fries were of the frozen variety and not very good. All this and I think their prices were rather high for this type of food. $10.60 for a burger and fries. We visit Door County 2 - 3 times a year. We won't be going back to the Roadhouse. The Blues Band playing on the lawn was quite good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Roadhouse of Carlsville also viewed

Egg Harbor, Door County
Egg Harbor, Door County
 
Egg Harbor, Door County
Egg Harbor, Door County
 

Been to The Roadhouse of Carlsville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Roadhouse of Carlsville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.