We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect...... :)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Landing Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Egg Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Landing Resort
7741 State Highway 42, Egg Harbor, WI 54209   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Egg Harbor
Sheboygan, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Almost perfect...... :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is our 3rd trip to Door County and we finally found a place that didn't require the selling of a kidney to pay for it. Had stayed here once before about 11 years ago, and completely forgot how nice it was. Right on the main highway in Egg Harbor, perfect location to pretty much everything in D.C. Staff was wonderful, always pleasant and friendly, served wonderful D.C. coffee every morning in the lobby. Nice warm indoor pool, hot tub, even the outdoor pool was nice the one day it got hot. Now for the complaints......The room was okay but could use some updating. Oven was from 1974 and the microwave about 10 years later. Bed was really firm, had trouble sleeping. Bedroom was small but we made it work. A/C was severely underpowered, even at 65 on high it barely kept the room cool. Bathroom and shower was very nice, and we had a 1st floor room so we could walk out and use the community grill. Overall though I would definitely stay here again! :)

Room Tip: Depending on how many people are travelling, request a room that is attached to the main building wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    29
    7
    4
    0
See reviews for
47
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our 4th time staying at The Landing and we just love this place more and more.
We like the location in Egg Harbor. It's an easy walk to the marina and downtown for shopping and restaurants.
The rooms are always clean and have everything you need for your stay. Although we do bring our own bath supplies, as they only have a dispenser of soap in the shower, but that doesn't bother us.
One room we did not care for is the loft rooms if it is realy hot out, as the cool are does not get up there.
On our last visist I needed some papers faxed back and forth from my realtor, and Traci at the front desk was great. She was so friendly and helpfull with our whole stay there.
We used the outdoor pool alot and when the rain came, we just walked right in to the indoor pool that is just steps away. They also have a nice hot tub inside.
There are plenty of picnic tables and outdoor gas grills to use.
Can't wait to get back up to the Door and stay here again.

Room Tip: Loft rooms can get quite warm upstairs on hot days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family with small children stayed for 3 nights. our room was clean spacious and comfortable. we felt like we were in the middle of the woods. actually we only had a very short walk to many places. a market, 5 restaurants, the marina and shopping for many items. really enjoyed this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at The Landing Resort for our first ever trip to Door County. The location of The Landings was just perfect for our family. You could walk to Egg Harbor beach, the marina (great for sunsets), shops in Egg Harbor as well as to the eateries in Egg Harbor. That is a huge plus for us. It is an older resort, and some things have not been updated. But, it is clean so that didn't bother me too much. I was surprised there were no bath amenities other than some liquid soap and a dispenser of hair and body soap (that stuff never seems right to me). So, I had to pay for overpriced shampoo and conditioner for my family as well as regular soap. I would have brought those items had I known which is why I am putting this in my review. The staff was very friendly while I was there. After reading a few reviews before going I was a bit worried about where our room would face so e-mailed the staff to let them know I'd like a wooded view if possible and on the first floor. The response to that e-mail was that it would be a wooded view and since I chose a loft on the second floor. I then looked online and it didn't say anything about a second floor, but that wasn't a huge concern. However, when we got to our room we found out the "wooded" view was a view of trees and the parking lot. The other side of the hall had an actual wooded view. So, that was a touch misleading. Seeing as it is an older building there was some musty odor in our room which may not be true in all of the rooms. Not terribly bothersome as you only notice it when you walk it, but it did aggravate my allergies and gave me a headache. Would I stay here again, probably yes. I really liked the location and room size was good although I think next time I will get a room with another bathroom and where the second bed is not in the powder room area. I liked the location, price, friendliness and choices of rooms. The issue I mention above are really small things that now that I know better I'll be prepared with allergy meds, shampoo and a different room.

Room Tip: 1 bath might not be enough for a family of 4, best to upgrade to 1 1/2 bath or 2 bath unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed our summer stay at Door county particularly Egg Harbor. The Landing resort was just walking distance to the Marina as well as the beach. I chose this place as opposed to the other resorts on the beach mainly because of the reviews. We had a one bedroom loft and a balcony and was satisfied with the room quality for the price. The only inconvenience was that the upstairs bedroom didnt have its own AC unit which made it a little warmer compared to the rest of the unit. Had to turn the AC full blast downstairs and keep the ceiling fan and second fan blowing to feel cool. Might not be an issue during spring and fall weather but during hot summer months I can forsee it being an issue. Other than that, the staff was great and they do have a decent indoor and outdoor pool which the kids loved.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Our first trip to Door County and this hotel. It was clean and comfortable. It had nice outdoor grills and playground equipment. Indoor and outdoor pool area nicely kept. Kitchens well equipped. Only complaints would be that it is older and if you wanted wi-fi you had to be in the lobby or pool area.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rschartner, General Manager at The Landing Resort, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing The Landing Resort! We apologize for the problems with our WIFI and any inconvenience this may have caused. We were having some troubles during the time frame of your visit. We have consulted with a technician and the problem is fixed and everyone can again get WIFI throughout the property. Thank You!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, il
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Great location, walking distance to everything - make sure you get your food across the street at the Main Street Market and bring it back to cook on The Landing's many available Weber grills. Great pools, great staff, very wooded and private.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Landing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Landing Resort

Address: 7741 State Highway 42, Egg Harbor, WI 54209
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landing Resort is located on five wooded acres in the village of Egg Harbor. We are a family friendly facility that is open year-round. We have 1, 2 and 3 bedroom suites with fully-equipped kitchens, decks, cable TV, Wi-Fi, hairdryers flatscreen TV's and DVD players in the room. We have an indoor pool and whirlpool and a heated outdoor pool along with many other amenities such as: fireplace lobby, BBQ/picnic area, bike rentals, large playground, basketball, ladder golf and video games. We are within walking distance to shops, restaurants, harbor/marina, public beach and market. We also offer easy access to the county snowmobile trail. Whatever the reason, whenever the season, let The Landing Resort be your "Home away from Home!" ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Landing Hotel Egg Harbor
Landing Egg Harbor
Landing Hotel Egg Harbor
The Landing Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Landing Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Landing Resort to your Saves list