We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Fall Colors!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Landmark Resort

Save Saved
You added Landmark Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Landmark Resort
4929 Landmark Drive, Egg Harbor, WI 54209   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Egg Harbor
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Fall Colors!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

We usually stay down in Sturgeon Bay when we visit Door County, but we went up for Pumpkin Patch in Egg Harbor, so decided to venture a bit further north and stayed at the Landmark this past weekend. We booked a room that was a Queen Main Level Water View Room. We were placed in the Flagship building.

The things we liked:
-- our room was ready, even though we checked in before the "official" check in time

--apple cider and coffee at the check in area, roaring fire going, felt like a warm welcome

--seeing the incredible fall colors from the balcony of our room, and being able to see the waters of Green Bay just beyond...just beautiful!

--the space in the condo suite--it was just two of us, families might feel more cramped, but we liked having a living area, kitchen, sep enclosed bedroom w/ ceiling fan, and most especially, that balcony!

--the walking paths all around the resort, again, gorgeous, esp with the fall colors

--the on-site restaurant...we did not eat in the restaurant, but ordered a pizza there to take back to the room, which was a nice option.

--the fact that there was a whirlpool in our building, esp since the indoor pool/rec center area is a sep building

--we didn't use the indoor pool, but it looked very nice and is open 24 hours a day for adults

the things we didn't care for:

--We didn't really like that the indoor pool/rec center was located in a sep building, we are more used to everything being under one roof, could be more of an issue in the dead of winter, this trip was great weather

--the fireplace in the lobby of our building was out of order, mentioned it to the desk, and were told our building was the only one not working...we like to sit by a fireplace when coming in at night, and are used to actually having one in our room at some other places we have stayed, so it was disappointing that we couldn't even enjoy the one in the lobby of our building

--kind of a musty "odor" when you walked into the building, it didn't carry over into the room, not sure what it was??

--again, some other hotels we have stayed in Door County offered in room whirlpools and fireplaces, so we kind of missed those touches

I would stay at the Landmark again, esp for a fall trip, because the views/colors there are incredible, and the location in Egg Harbor is very convenient, being closer to the towns on the northern part of the Peninsula. For a summer trip, it looked like they had 3 very nice outdoor pools, grills to cook out on, tennis courts, & shuffleboard available.

The location for Pumpkin Patch was great, they even had a shuttle service availalble on Saturday!

  • Liked — the gorgeous veiws!
  • Disliked — indoor pool/rec center in a sep building
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    75
    36
    24
    17
See reviews for
96
60
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

It isn't easy distinguishing between reliable reviews and unreliable ones online. People have different taste levels, expectations, etc.

There is nothing "updated" about this "resort". It is very tired.

They employ a "bait and switch" tactic, IMO, by advertising 2br2ba with waterview. They take the reservation, but then call you to advise that there are only 2br1ba available.

Why anybody would want to isolate themselves in this resort, after all the traveling and effort it takes to get to Door County and all that the cool little villages have to offer, is beyond me.

Believe me. I just did it.

What a mistake.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2008

This was our first vacation in Door County and the Landmark Resort was an ideal home base.

It's a mile and a half out of Egg Harbor which puts you mid way up the peninsula. It's a short hop to many nearby ports and towns. The resort is up on a hill, so you have a gorgeous view out over woods to Green Bay, where you can watch the sunset from your room or down by the pools. There are several buildings and we stayed in Navigator. Each building has it's own outdoor pool, and indoor laundry. The indoor pool is at the central office building, and that is also where the exercise room is.

Our room was ok, as we spent little time there. We had a one bedroom condo, with my daughter and her friend bunking on the (adequate for young bodies) fold-out sofa. We did wish for more closet space and a few more hangers for the space we had. The kitchen had a full size fridge, a small oven, microwave, and coffee maker (bring your own filters). Grocery shopping in the town market was close and easy, and WOW what a selection of wine that grocery store has!!

The balcony is pretty small, but has a couple chairs and a small table. We spent most of the time either at the pool or out doing "Door County" stuff. There are pool towels at the pool, and and at the indoor hot tub down stairs.

Things we did that we liked:

-We went salmon fishing out of Bailey's Harbor with Lynn's Charter Fishing. She's quite the character, and along with first-mate Nick, they took good care of us. We all caught fish, with my daughter hauling in the big catch of the day...a 16 pound chinook.

-We went to a "fish-boil" dinner at The Old Post Office in Ephraim. You have to go to a fish boil at least once.

-My daughter and her friend enoyed the drive-in movie near Ephraim.

-We had a great dinner at Alexanders.

-We went out on a sail boat ride from Ephraim.

-I tried the microbrews at Shipwreck's.

-We explored Cave Point Count Park. It's beautiful and free.

-We ate lots and lots of cherry stuff (and that's just the free samples) at Wood Orchard Market, just north of Egg Harbor. It's a great place to buy edible gifts to bring home.

All in all, it's a great vacation destination and Landmark was a very nice place to stay. We would stay there again. We had nobody approach us regarding buying time share during the week.

  • Liked — The beautiful location.
  • Disliked — Lack of closet space, and a not so comfortable fold-out sofa bed.
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waterford
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

This was our first trip to Door County and the Landmark was recommended by a family member. The setting is very nice in a very wooded area . The resort has an excellent view of the harbor. We stayed in the Harbor wing and found that the room we had was kind of small and cramped. All they have is a small window air-conditioner that did a poor job of cooling the bedroom on the lower floor. Basically the whole unit needed to be updated. But our biggest issue was the cleanliness of the carpet. It was one of those deals if you didn`t keep your shoes on, your socks would become black from dirt. We also found that the beds were very hard and uncomfortable ,but I understand that that could just be a personal preference issue. What you really have to keep in mind if you stay here is that these are timeshare condos so cleanliness and updates will vary from room to room. During check out my wife told the woman at the desk some of our issues with room and she was not very interested.

  • Liked — the view of harbor
  • Disliked — cleanliness of room
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2008

Got a waterview room - view of the lake is wonderful but we were right beside one of the outdoor pools so it was noisy rather than relaxing. If you're here with kids and want the pool, this would be a great room, but if you want quiet ask for a room away from pools and common room outdoor decks. Rooms are small but adequate. Ours was clean and well stocked with kitchen equipment etc. Everything worked fine. Would probably come again if we could get a quieter room. Egg Harbor is a nice little town and there is a terrific market and several restaurants nearby.

  • Liked — location and grounds
  • Disliked — noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove,Il
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2008

We have been to Door County many times over the past 13 years with our 2 kids, and we have always stayed at The Landmark. It has some great features we just can't find anywhere else in Door County, such as the 4 pools, tennis courts, basketball court, shuffleboard, hot tubs in every building, water views, and full kitchens. The grounds are spacious, and nice, but have not been kept up as nice as they could have been over the years. The rooms are small for the price, and every year there has been some minor problems with each room we have stayed. Air conditioner not working properly, refrigeraor not working, sewer gas smells from the bathroom, shower door not sliding, screen door to balcony not working, no internet connection from room, uncomfortable beds, uncomfortable furniture, cleaning staff not very good, dirty carpeting,moldy smell. Each time we reported these things to the staff they were not very accomodating, especially since we have been such longtime customers. This could be a top notch resort, if they would just update it to the times we live in. Also the staff could be more customer service oriented,and maybe even greet you with a warm welcome.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

Wonderfully wooded grounds and views away from, yet near, the hubbub of Door County. Kitchen well stocked for cooking, if desired, plus several picnic areas with grills nearby. Housekeeping staff (looked like mostly college kids) did a great job. Reservations placed our group of nine in two adjacent condos which worked out great. Condos were not large, but adequate. Quiet in the evenings except the air conditioners do make noise. A little warm in the loft bedrooms, but we were there during fairly warm weather. The outdoor pools have nice seating areas and towel service. Our family had a great vacation at the Landmark.

  • Liked — comfortably secluded yet near attractions
  • Disliked — noisy air conditioner (but glad it was there)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Landmark Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landmark Resort

Address: 4929 Landmark Drive, Egg Harbor, WI 54209
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Door County > Egg Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Egg Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Landmark Resort features 294 spacious one, two and three-bedroom suites. Each is tastefully appointed. Comfortable and casual, the accommodations reflect Door County's relaxed attitude. With alternate views of the forested countryside or Green Bay's glistening waters, the suites include a fully-equipped kitchen, living room, and deck within a smoke-free environment. All of the units are air-conditioned, feature cable television, a DVD player, and free wireless internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Landmark Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Resort Egg Harbor, Door County, WI
Landmark Hotel Egg Harbor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Landmark Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.