We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anchor Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Anchor Inn
709 E State Road 59, Edgerton, WI 53534-9089
608-884-7565
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 25 Restaurants in Edgerton
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Edgerton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

The staff there is very friendly, and is quick to see that you are satisfied with your meal. We have eaten both in the bar, and out on the patio, and will definitely return. The food portions are more than satisfactory for even the heartiest appetite.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    22
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Local Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Location is great on the Rock River you sit have a beer, listen to the bands and watch the fun at the boat lauch.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Anchor Inn has great steak sandwiches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

On a recent trip to the Janesville area, we stopped at the Anchor Inn for lunch. The chicken strips came highly recommended. We tried the appetizer version, chicken bites. They use chicken tenderloins soaked in milk and hand battered. They offer three different sauces for dipping. Our basket of chicken bites was a bit overdone. The serving was large and two of us could not finish the basket. The flavor was really good, but I wished the chef had taken them out of the fryer a bit sooner. I will try them again on a future visit. We also ordered the steak sandwich. It was perfectly done and the tenderloin was very flavorful. It was probably the best steak sandwich I have ever had! I didn't order one, but the Anchor Inn is famous for their Bloody Marys. They are served with all kinds of garnishes, such as sausage and cheese, shrimp, pickle and more. They looked like a meal! We enjoyed our lunch so much, we returned the next day. I ordered the same steak sandwich, and it was just as good as the day before. That's a sign of a good restaurant. Others in our party ordered cheeseburgers. They were good, but not excellent. I recommend that you try the Anchor Inn if you are in the area.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Live music on the River”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Right off the Interstate 39 exit at Newville is the Anchor Inn. We stopped for a bite on Friday night and were treated to live music outside on the river along with some excellent grouper served blackened with salad and rice. Hubby had fish sandwich and loved the hand battered fish. Fries taste home made. There is plenty of outdoor seating with shade along the river. A swingset for the kids and you can even rent a pontoon boat and take a cruise on the lake. Loved it.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Best chicken strips ever!! Burgers and great steaks too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

The chicken strips here will spoil you for any other strips in the future,
They are the best! Everything here on the menu is great, and live music
Through summer. Good bloody Marys and a fun outside bar in the summer!!
Aid your in the area and have a chance to stop in, do!!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.