We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner was excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coachman's Golf Resort

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Edgerton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Coachman's Golf Resort
984 CTH A, Edgerton, WI 53534   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Edgerton B&B and Inns
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dinner was excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

My husband and I went to Coachman's for dinner on a Thursday. With it not being busy, it took a little bit to get seated. My husband ordered his usual T-bone steak (he has been to the resort in the past for golf outings with his dad) and I ordered the pretzel covered Walleye. Our food was excellent! The walleye was just amazing and they served it with a honey mustard tartar sauce that I just loved (I typically do not like tartar sauce). They definately did not skimp on the alcohol in our drinks (i coud have used a little less vodka). For there not being anyone in the restaurant area (the bar was pretty busy), I thought service was a little lax.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Meadows
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Our group of 24 to 32, has been going up twice a year for over 30 years. Playable course for all handicaps. Great staff, food and the drinks taste better there.

You never have to leave, park your car for a long weekend and golf, drink and eat.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Coachman's Inn is a great value for golf and dining. We went up with friends and family on 4th of July and had a great time. Everyone there is so nice and friendly. Food is great and bar is a fun place to relax and have a drink.
Nice golf course, did not have to wait on any holes. Just a fun time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Thanksgiving brunch was so unbelievable the food was out of this world. They had prime rib and pit ham craving station as well b.b.q ribs,fried chicken,and of course slow roasted turkey... I'm a big stuffing fan and this one beats my grandma's "sorry ma.." I met the chef and he was so sweet and kind as well creative... next year ill be back and that's for sure...

Stayed November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Chicago Suburbs
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

6 buddies (semi seniors) looking for a place to get away for a few days , relax, play golf and enjoy a few adult beverages. Coachman's provided all of the above.

The location is ideal, right off I-90, 20 miles south of Madison Wi. and less than a 3 hour drive from Chicago area.

Considering the absurdly hot summer we are experiencing, the golf course was in fantastic condition. Greens and fairways were fine and very few brown spots anywhere. Don't let the yardage fool you into thinkg this a chip and putt course. Most holes require accurate tee shots and approach shots in order to score well.

The staff, (golf course, restaurant/bar and maid service) were all extremely friendly and accomodating. They were all local area college kids. Restaurant food was pretty good with a menu varied enough to to accomdate any taste or appetite.

Room accomodations, while a bit dated, were quite comfortable, clean, fresh and well maintained.

Coachman's is a excellent value and the management staff will work with you to configure a package to suit your needs and budget.

Only one caveat. This is a golf resort quite a ways from anything else so there's not much else to do except golf and have dinner. Those with little kids would do better to go on up to the Dells.

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay and plan on coming back next year.

Room Tip: The rooms are motel type in 3 different building but all pretty much the same. However if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Growing up in WI, the Friday night fish fry is always a perfect end to the week. And Wisconsonites drive from place to place to find the best one. We found the best one this week! We drove to Coachman's Golf Resort north of Edgerton, WI. Besides great fish (cod) you get a salad, rolls, choice of potatoe and green bean casserole. I choose the potatoe bake and it was great. I am a picky eater, so to impress me, is tough. I loved this meal! Reasonably priced & good service. We will become repeat customers!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, il
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

Coachmans does the golf weekend the way it should be done. The golf course is always well kept and the staff is very friendly and accomodating. We went as a group last year and just made reservations for this year. This is an annual trip and Coachmans will be the place going forward.
The course is challenging enough to keep you interested and they have 27 holes to choose. The good golfer will score well and the novice will stay interested.
The Motel suites the needs and the food offered at the restaurant is always excellent. We parked on a Friday and never moved the car.
I recommend this location.
DS

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coachman's Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coachman's Golf Resort

Address: 984 CTH A, Edgerton, WI 53534
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Edgerton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Edgerton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coachman's Golf Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Coachman's Golf Resort to your Saves list
;