We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwhelming Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub

Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub
415 South Barstow Street, Eau Claire, WI 54701
835-6621
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 201 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Long Beach, CA
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
“Underwhelming Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We went here on a Saturday night, when they had a group of Irish folk song singers there. They were good, if not a little talkative (more music less talking please boys)...The food was ok. It was not bad or terrible, it was just average. My dinner was sort of expensive at fifteen dollars, and it consisted of a very small portion of blackened pork. The pieces were very small actually, and did not fill me up. There is no value there. The sides were good enough, but this restaurant just has nothing special about it. It's fine if you are in a pinch and there is no place else to go, but if you have time and want a great meal, that you will remember, stay away.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    16
    6
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So, so good!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

I've lived in Eau Claire for 13 years and have never been to Houligan's to eat. We went last night and than the most incredible supper!! The serivce was good, prompt and imformative. The wine was good, my Almond Joy martini was yummy, but our steaks were the real hit!! I had the "candied" garlic medallions and my husband had the rib eye. We can't wait to plan our family and buisness Christmas party there!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not impressed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Unlike the other reviews, we were not impressed. The atmosphere is nice, the bartender was helpful with questions we had regarding the area and attractions. The food was a disappointment. We both ordered steaks. The New York strip was o.k., nothing "out of this world". The Rib Eye was a very poor cut , Tough cords throughout the steak and not very tender at all. The steak was sent back, replaced by another that was rare instead of medium rare. Sent back again. 2 drinks, 2 sodas, 2 steaks later, $94.00!! I do not mind spending money on a good steak, but was very disappointed with the quality we received. There are far better steak places to go.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent walleye”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Short visit to Eau Claire on business. Had an evening to kill, used trip advisor to select this place. Friendly service, food was good. Nothing to write home about, but very good. Friendly service, prompt and efficient. The walleye was well prepared, though if I want to be picky, the capers could have been rinsed a bit; topping was too salty.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great menu and great specials; the place for steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Great steaks and seafood. They have nightly specials that often tempt me away from their great menu. Great list of beers on tap.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub also viewed

 

Been to Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Houligan's Steak & Seafood Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.