We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trail Lodge is the place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3340 Mondovi Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701-6131   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #5 of 23 hotels in Eau Claire
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Trail Lodge is the place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Excellent location near freeway access and excellent restaurants. This place has a large and bright breakfast area next to the pool and elevators and nicely, comfortably furnished rooms -except for the sleeper-sofas, which can only be described as scruffy and very uncomfortable even to sit on unless you do what we do: sit on the extra pillows provided. These accommodations are excellent for two people but no good for four unless, possibly, the other two are small children.

Room Tip: We like the large suites near the back entrance on the first floor: convenient to get to our car
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you for you for sharing your experience during your recent stay at the Best Western Plus Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites. We are so glad you are pleased with the location and amenities our hotel has to offer. We understand the guest room sofas are in need of repair. However, we are happy to inform you that we have ordered new sofas for each of our guest rooms. As always we value each of our guest’s comments. Thank you again for your kind remarks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    58
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
67
40
7
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nekoosa, Wi
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed at the hotel during a youth boys basketball tournament. When we checked in three boys basketball teams plus their parents were using the breakfast area eating pizza and watching the Geen Bay Packers playoff game. I thought it was pretty nice of the staff to allow them to use the area but I was wondering if we would get a quite nights sleep with all these kids and drinking adults. I must stay they were all very well behaved and when we went to bed early we didn't hear any noise at all, no running or yelling in the hallways or rooms. The girl that checked us in was very efficient and professionaly dressed. The room was clean except I did find a few crumbs on the floor next to the bed and the mirror in the room wasn't properly cleaned. The sink faucet in the bathroom spayed water and the bedside light kept blinking on and off. I realize that unless someone tells them there's no way they have of knowing these items are not working. The breakfast was typical of most hotels, nothing special. Would I stay there again, the answer is definitely yes.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We are pleased that you had a good night of sleep in your guest room and that you were satisfied with the service you received from our front desk staff. We appreciate you informing us about the maintenance and cleanliness issues found in your guest room. This will allow us to ensure these issues are corrected immediately. Thank you for your comments. We await your return to Best Western Plus Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Manitoba. The check in process was quick and easy, we got into a lovely room hotel room. Enjoyed the fact that there was a microwave and mini fridge in the room. The washroom was huge, almost the size of my kitchen at home. The wallpaper in the bathroom is a little dated but did not effect me sleep at all. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was typically, I love finding a hotel that lets me make a waffle for breakfast (easy to please that way) The only draw back was the room assignment based on the number of cars in the parking lot it would be safe to say the hotel was not filled to capacity so to me it would make sense to not assign a room with a baby any neighbors unless necessary. As I mentioned in other reviews I am one of the lightest sleepers out there and we were put in a room that was next door to a baby that cried and was audible in the room. When I mentioned to the gentleman at the desk I got a "sorry to hear about that" and to be absolutely fair I did not go to the desk to specifically complain and request a resolution however had he suggested he would move us to another room at my mention of hearing this baby I would be able to say I received knock my socks off service. The baby did calm down and we were able to sleep just fine.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 10, 2013
I am glad to hear you were satisfied with your in room amenities. It’s nice to know that you enjoyed your breakfast. For your next stay we would be happy to accommodate your room requests to ensure a more quiet evening for you. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay, we appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

This hotel is the only place I'll stay in Eau Claire whether on business or pleasure. The rooms are always clean and the staff always welcoming. When traveling on business it's always nice to know that a comfortable bed awaits at the end of a long day. Yes, a hotel can be disrupted while undergoing renovations but it's nice to see that this property keeps itself fresh. The bathrooms are nicely sized and that's appreciated when you run into so many that make it hard to turn around in them. It makes my day, at least, start out so much better. In the nice weather months it's nice to slip into some casual cloths and make use of the bike/walking trail so close to the hotel before it gets dark. That's a special treat for some of us who have to travel a lot.

Room Tip: I always ask for a room on the top floor just because I'm a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. We are pleased to hear that your guest room and the service you receive meet your expectations. We would also like to thank you for noticing our efforts in refreshing our décor, it is pleasing to know our efforts have made an impact to our returning guests. I am glad you have found the Best Western Plus Trail Lodge to be in an accommodating location for your travels. We truly appreciate you choosing us for your Eau Claire travels. We await your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fond du Lac, WI
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This had the 3 key elements for me - clean, good bed and not a wimpy shower. The front desk staff was very efficient and helpful - made a great dinner recommendation. The inside is a bit dated, and the hallway we walked in had soft spots down the middle of the floor. A little roughed up, but good value for the price and had the essentials right.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that your guest room met your needs. We are also pleased that our staff could help you choose an appropriate dining location. We very much appreciate you noting your concerns in areas of the hotel. We will take your concerns into consideration as we continue to update our property. Again, we thank you for your comments and look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed overnight here on 12/4/2012. The outside of the hotel "looks" to be fairly new. Once in the lobby you are confronted by a lobby being remodeled...terrible smell, no wallpaper, dirty lobby. Once checked in and heading to the room, walls appeared scratched and worn, and generally over-used; halls dark with low light. Room was very worn...tile in bath dirty/moldy/broken in places; found an insect on ceiling near bath. Looked like at one time they had replaced beds, but dresser was very well worn and scratched. TV although looked new, had very little selections...hardly any HD reception. Room heating/AC was hard to regulate...too hot or too cold...very little in between for comfort. Needed a telephone with a built-in speaker...no one could find one in the hotel so conference-type was not possible so we left hotel on next morning. Intermittent internet access. Breakfast included eggs which appeared reconstituted dried eggs...very grainy, hard little kernels of something yellow...but definitely scrambled eggs as advertised. UCK!
The only good part was the lady at the front desk at checkout was kind. Even so, to us it didn't make up for the flaws in the property.

Would we stay here again -- not a chance! Would we stay in other Best Westerns -- not likely at all. Had a similar experience in the Madison Best Western. These two (only two B.W. we've stayed) in) are worn, out of date, lacking minimal standards available even as found in cheaper hotels. Nope...we'll stick with Hilton and Hilton Garden Inns: quality, service, great people.

Best Western...not nearly as much.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your comments concerning your recent stay. Unfortunately, we are in the process of remodeling our Lobby and truly apologize for any inconvenience that you experienced during your stay concerning this process. However, we are very excited for the outcome of this remodel as we feel it will better the appearance of our hotel and provide a much more pleasing experience for our guests. We also apologize for the issues you experienced with your guest room. Thank you for noting the concerns that you had in your room as well. Please be assured that we take all comments provided seriously and your comments will allow us to better serve our future guests. I am sorry to hear that you found our breakfast less than desirable. Please know that we welcome all of our guest’s suggestions to any area of our hotel. It is always helpful to know where our strengths and weaknesses are in order to better our property for our guests. It is pleasing to hear that the front desk service you received met your expectations. Again, we truly do appreciate you taking the time to note your concerns with our Hotel and allowing us the opportunity to better our hotel in order to exceed the expectations of our future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stopped here for only one night while driving through the area. Checked in after 11 pm and the desk clerk, Daniel, was wonderful! He made us feel welcomed and gave a quick rundown of the breakfast times, pool and even that the lounge was still open until midnight! Our room was spacious and clean. There was a fridge and microwave, plus a coffee service.

We didn't use the pool....but there were kids swimming at 7am! The breakfast area has a glass wall so you can watch who is swimming. Food was hot and refilled constantly. Biscuits and gravy, waffles, asst breads, hot and cold cereal, fruit and yogurt.

We were very happy with this hotel and would definitely stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessie G, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Best Western Plus Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites. I am glad to hear that Daniel’s service met your expectations. We greatly appreciate the opportunity to hear about your satisfaction with our hotel amenities and your guest room. Our staff looks forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites

Address: 3340 Mondovi Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701-6131
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Eau Claire
#5 Business Hotel in Eau Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites welcomes you! We offer a variety of 85 spacious newly updated guest rooms and oversized suites to accommodate each of our guest’s needs. We extend to you an invitation for lodging at Eau Claire’s premier hotel, just off I-94 at Exit 65. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Eau Claire
Eau Claire Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Trail Lodge Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.