We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheese curds!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dooleys Pub

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dooleys Pub
442 Water St, Eau Claire, WI 54703
715-834-7597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #88 of 180 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Restaurant details
Withee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Cheese curds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great cheesecurds. Good prices. A smaller menu with some classics and a few pub items. A great place to get a drink and appetizers with some friends.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    9
    5
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Super friendly bartender - food was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This was about the only place open the night I was in town so stopped in for dinner. Although it is a pub, it does have a food menu although very limited. Burgers, wraps and irish stew are about it. They were able to make me a grilled cheese sandwich which was very good. I had a cup of their tomato bisque which was good. The bartender was friendly and I enjoyed his company while eating.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mn
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Get the cheese curds!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The cheese curds are the best ever and must get when you go there. Everybody in our group really enjoyed the food and the ambiance. It is not a very large place but I think that helps with the charm. I got a burger and waffle fries and my son got the kids mac-n-cheese and fries and the portions for both our meals was very good. The food and beverage price were not bad either. I would definately return next time I am in town.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We went for an afternoon snack before a football game and found the bar packed. Still, the service was good and our waittress was working hard to get to everyone. Drinks were very cheap and yet still very good. We ordered the cheese "cubes" and they were good too. We loved the ambiance of the place and wouldn't hesitate to try it again for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The bartender was great (as were the drinks), and the Shepherd's Pie was amazingly good! If I am back in Eau Claire I will definitely be going back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dooleys Pub also viewed

 

Been to Dooleys Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dooleys Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.