We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel for the price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire to your Saves list
GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5310 Prill Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701   |  
Call Hotel:
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Eau Claire
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Odenton, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel for the price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

We're a family of 4 on a military move from Alaska to Florida. We stayed one Sunday night. Our rate was $85 including taxes for the 1-bedroom suite. The location is super convenient, in a nice area just off the interstate. There are restaurants and big box stores in the immediate area.

The lobby is very nice, with good coffee and a nice cold breakfast. The decor is midwestern and nice. There's a snack area where they sell anything you'd need if you arrived late at night. The front desk is extremely helpful. I called about a small problem (toilet kept running long) and they immediately offered a room change, although we declined as it didn't bother us at all.

The pool is very tiny. I had our two kids (7 & 5) and there was another couple with two smaller kids. It was uncomfortably tight in the pool. The hot tub says its capacity is 6, but 3 was enough. However, if you've got the pool to just your family and your kids are 10 & under, it's perfect. There's a good chance you'll have it to yourself. The kids also liked the small swingset out back, where there's also a b-ball hoop. The fitness center had a bike, an elliptical, and a treadmill that was out of order as well as clean/neat towels, water, and a TV.

The room was clean and the full kitchen was nice, although we didn't have any glasses or silverware. I'm sure it would've been there in 5 seconds if I would've asked. The pullout sofa mattress was thin and uncomfortable, but the main bed in the bedroom was comfortable. We had to move a chair and lamp to unfold the pullout bed, so yes, the rooms are a little small, but not tiny. The TVs are 27" CRTs of late 90s vintage that need to be replaced with flat panels. One interesting thing about the layout of our suite was that the bathroom is not in with the bedroom. If you put the kids to bed in the bedroom, you don't have to go in there to use the bathroom, shower, etc. You can also get ready in the morning without bothering your spouse. Sweet. The Bath & Body Works Coconut Lime & Verbena toiletries were excellent!

The negative of this hotel is that it's just a little "flimsier" than the leading brands of suite hotels. The bedroom and living room of the suite shared a wall vent so you could basically see and hear through the wall between them. Hallway traffic and doors were easily heard. Our room was above the conference room and I could hear the chairs being moved around in the morning.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay at this hotel, especially for what we paid. I'd have to agree that it's the #1 hotel in Eau Claire, so if you have business in Eau Claire, you should stay here. If you're planning a road trip, however, and you're more used to a Homewood or Residence Inn experience, I think you'll be slightly disappointed with this hotel and I recommend getting into the Twin Cities or down to Wisconsin Dells for your pit stop.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    44
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
65
43
8
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Little Rock Ar
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

When making my reservation and later checking in for my two night stay....the staff was very personable and accommodating. The atmosphere was extremely relaxing and condusive to doing business which was my purpose for being in Eau Claire. The Grand Stay had all of the comforts of home. It is as totally awesome hotel!! I will definately stay again and would highly recommend it to others whether their stay be business or pleasure.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2007

We (two adults with one kid) stayed at the Grandstay Suites for two nights just before Christmas, while visiting family in Eau Claire. Our suite was on the first floor, and included a bedroom, "great room" with a small kitchen and sleeper sofa. The room was VERY clean. While our intent was to visit area relatives, and not spend very much time in the room, it was a place that was comfortable to stay in, with DVD and cable tv. Toiletries are from Bath and Body works, nice. Housekeeping stopped by while we were still in the room, asked if we needed anything - towels, coffee for the rooms coffee maker, whatever; and please, let us know if you need anything else. The property has a lovely lobby area which was fully decked out for christmas with a tree, garlands and what all else. The pool is smaller than small - but did provide play value to the kid (and two cousins). Breakfast was the usual hotel fare - pastries, bagels, cereal; coffee or juice and milk.

Should we find the need to stay in a hotel in Eau Claire again, we will definatly include this one on our short list.

  • Liked — clean rooms, helpful staff, easy to find location
  • Disliked — draft from the heating/cooling system,
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, SC
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

My wife and I stayed one night at this hotel while touring the northern part of Wisconsin. Check-in was very quick and efficient. The staff were friendly and helpful. We really appreciated having a kitchen area and living area in addition to the bedroom. We had traveled all day and were able to spread out and relax. We were very impressed with the cleanliness of the room and the hotel in general. The hotel has a very clean laundry room with supplies available for purchase. We did not take advantage of the pool, but did take a quick look at it. The chlorine odor was quite strong.

There are several restaurants in the immediate area. We were able to eat dinner at one across the parking lot.

Our only complaint was that the breakfast area did not appear to have an attendant and several items were gone or nearly gone even though we were there quite early.

  • Liked — Very clean facility with spacious rooms
  • Disliked — No apparent attendant to replace items at breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zumbrota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

We came to the area to look at Modular Homes and stayed at the Grand Stay. The lobby was very clean and really nice. Our room was also nice and clean and had lots of room for the 4 of us to move about. I started laughing when I saw how small the pool was. I didn't think much of the continental breakfast either for the price of our room. I thought they would have at least had a waffle maker. Overall it was a nice hotel, but i don't think we would stay again with our 2 children for the fact of the pool and breakfast.

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, NJ
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2006

After leaving the Mall of America and heading east into Wisconsin, we (5 adults) decided to stay at this hotel as a 1 night stop over. We were not disappointed. Great Place!

This is a fairly new hotel, geared mostly for extended stay guests, however, they have a good amount of rooms available for overnighters. We stayed in a two bedroom suite. It had 2 separate bedrooms, each with a queen sized bed and television, a living room area (with a pull-out sofa and a third television), a nice sized bathroom with all the regulars (hair dryer as well), and a FULL KITCHEN (with real-size fridge, freezer, sink, countertop, cabinets, stove, dishwasher, microwave, as well as a table with 2 chairs separating the living area and the kitchen).

The pool area was very clean and comfortable, with a whirlpool and heated indoor pool. No complaints what-so-ever for this amazing hotel. Also, very friendly employees.

Would definately recommend it for any travelers (family, business, getaways, etc.) and we would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — Spacious Suites, Cleanliness, Fair Price
  • Disliked — No Complaints, other than I wish I stayed longer
  • Tips/Secrets — If staying in the Eau Claire area, definately stay here.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coon Rapids, MN
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

Stayed one night on the way back to Minneapolis. A/C worked very well during the heat wave. The room was modern, clean, and very comfortable; all in all, a very pleasant experience. Many rooms are rented long term, but still enough rooms available for those staying only 1 or 2 nights. My positive reaction is very similar to the other reviews. Would definately stay here again when passing through Eau Claire.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire

Address: 5310 Prill Road, Eau Claire, WI 54701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Eau Claire
#1 Business Hotel in Eau Claire
#2 Family Hotel in Eau Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire 2.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Newly Renovated GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel is Eau Claire’s only all-suite hotel and is conveniently located near Interstate 94 and Hwy 53 on the southeast side of Eau Claire. Experience our updated and beautiful guest rooms! All of our suites provide the highest levels of comfort with fully equipped kitchens, separate living areas, open concept and private bedrooms. Enjoy the indoor relaxation pool, whirlpool, fitness center and Gourmet Express Breakfast each morning. Unlike other hotels, GrandStay can provide you with the accommodations you are looking for whether it is nightly, weekly or monthly stays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grandstay Residential Hotel Eau Claire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage GrandStay Residential Suites Hotel Eau Claire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.