We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicken Gizzards” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Randy s Family Restaurant

Randy s Family Restaurant
1132 West MacArthur Avenue, Eau Claire, WI 54701-6213
(715)839-8449
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 180 Restaurants in Eau Claire
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Chicken Gizzards”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

If you like Chicken Gizzards, this is the place to go to. It has been years since we have visited this place, in fact the last time it was called the Chicken Hut. The place has been remodeled and the menu changed, but they still offer deep fried chicken gizzards with potatoes, toast and a salad. The price has gone up slightly bus as I said, its been a long time since we have been here.
Fast friendly service, good food, well worth the stop

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    27
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

If you want a home-cooked breakfast this is your place. Great pancakes, superb corned-beef hash. Staff is friendly and efficient. They're not open on Sundays :-(

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine family value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I've been a fan of this restaurant for decades. It used to be the best 24-hour restaurant in the city, but they've made their hours more civilized. What remains true is that they provide well-prepared, ample meals at reasonable prices. I also approve that they are not open on Sundays; that is a family day for their staff.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fox Point
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Both of us ordered salads, one topped with chicken and one served with soup. It seemed to take quite a long time for our order to be prepared, especially considering how few people were in the restaurant at the time. The salads were OK; nothing notably great or bad. The mini-loaf of bread which accompanied one of the orders felt unusually heavy; when we cut into it, we could see that it was not baked completely. The 11-bean soup was unpleasantly salty; it tasted like it started with a base of beef bouillon.

The service was friendly and efficient, to the point that the bill was left on the table when our entrees were served. We actually had to flag down the waitress to order dessert. The bread pudding had a strange gelatinous topping (icing that melted when the pudding was reheated, perhaps?). We agreed it wasn't worth the effort/calories.

Although their breakfast menu looked tempting, we will not return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Best Food ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Randy's is one of the best restaurants in the city of Eau Claire. I love their food so much. My favorite is their cheeseburgers. They are the best cheeseburger you will ever find.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Randy s Family Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Randy s Family Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Randy s Family Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.