We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a lunch and drinks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cowtown Saloon aka The Livery

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cowtown Saloon aka The Livery
316 Wisconsin St., Eau Claire, WI 54703
715-833-7666
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 198 restaurants in Eau Claire
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chippewa Falls, WIsconsin, USA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great place for a lunch and drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great drinks, pretty good food. Atmosphere isn't too uptight, yet remains a great environment for a business luncheon or dinner and drinks with friends. Outdoor fire pit is a WONDERFUL place to gather, oh and did I mention they have great drinks.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

64% Recommend
    13
    12
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loud but has Atmosphere :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The music can be a bit loud....sooo if you are trying to have a conversation with someone, you may get 'horse' from hollering. Other than that, the way the place is remodeled is awesome...it has brick walls and open ceilings and a working overhead garage door for when they want some fresh air in there, plus a firepit in the back for smoker's, because there is no smoking in bars or restaurants in WI. Also, some of the menu items are a bit unusual, which I love trying new things, but other's don't, so there are the regular items, such as burgers, too. :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“NO ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FOR 30 MINUTES”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

NO ACKNOWLEDGEMENT FOR 30 MINUTES: I can't really rate anything except for service and decor. My husband and I called ahead last night and made a reservation (9/28@ 7:20pm) at the Livery, when we walked in they had our name and quickly seated us at a table near the bar. When we were seated the menus were already on the table. We literally waited 30 minutes to be greeted or for some one to take our drink order or something, anything. A waiter that was within 2 ft waiting on other customers walked toward us twice and then looked away when I made eye contact. I had no reservations about walking out after not being acknowledged for 30 minutes. Instead, we decided to drop $100 at Mona Lisa's and loved our divine food and service! Thanks "the Livery" for failing so that we would leave for a better experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire WI
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Nice patio with brick firepit!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Livery has a nice patio area with a great firepit! Great place to have a drink outside. Would like to see a greater selection of draft beers...especially a pilsner variety.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire WI
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nice Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This is a different atmosphere, food is a bit eclectic but is also delicious. We all ordered something different and then samples each other's meals.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowtown Saloon aka The Livery also viewed

 

Been to Cowtown Saloon aka The Livery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cowtown Saloon aka The Livery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.