We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed in customer service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire to your Saves list
Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1202 West Clairemont Avenue, Eau Claire, WI 54701   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Eau Claire
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed in customer service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed in this hotel for New Year's Eve. We discovered that are sinks hardware was broken, no water would go down the drain, due to plug that would not go up. We called the front desk informing them off the situation two times. The second time we were informed that someone would be up "right away". We were patient, and we waited, but again no one came. I had to take it upon myself to fix it. It should not be the customers responsibility to do this.. just disappointed.. otherwise breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie F, Manager at Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
I appreciate you taking the time to bring this very important matter to our attention. We strive to provide our guests with clean, comfortable rooms in working order. I'm very sorry to hear that maintenance never arrived at your room to fix your sink. We do not believe that any guest should ever have to take care of a situation like this on their own. The head of the maintenance has been alerted to this problem, so that we can ensure that it does not happen again in the future. However, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed breakfast. If you should decide to come stay with us again, you may contact the Sales Department directly. We will take every measure to make sure that your stay is a pleasant one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    35
    23
    27
    28
See reviews for
44
21
5
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire WI
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Seems they went to a liquid coffee concentrate that works in the machines..versus brewed...tastes awful...and weak!!! Complementary breakfast seems to have went downhill in the past two years...the milk is good...but the pastry leaves a lot to be desired

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katie F, Manager at Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. I want to happily inform you that we now only serve fresh brewed coffee at The Plaza Hotel & Suites. I'm sorry that you weren't impressed with breakfast. I'll pass your comments along to our executive chef. If there is anything that we can do for you, please do not hesitate to contact the Sales Department. We would be happy to assist you in any future stays at our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family stayed there this November and really seemed to enjoy themselves. The pool and hot tub facilities were nice, the bartenders were extremely nice and helpful, and the rooms were a nice suite-style set-up with a couch, fridge/snack area, and bed. My one big complaint is that the shower in my parents room has a really nasty squeel. I'm sure this is something that is easily fixable. A very nice place with lots of potential, but does need some more work to bring it up to it's potential. There were rooms that were being renovated while we were there, so it seems like they are well on their way to those improvements :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I stayed here as part of a church youth gathering. There were about 200 of us there. The hotel was very good at accommodating to our needs and were there to help the whole time. The rooms were average, no complaints. The TVs are nice, new, and HD. The pool area is fairly nice too. It was a little hot for the rooms around the pool but nothing they can control. We just cranked the air conditioning in our room. Good place for a small convention!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are convenient Outside the poolside rooms, the temperature is very hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Step back in time!

Needs some renovation and upkeep. Room smells funny. No closet. Smallest bathroom ever. Fridge not working.

I have called the front desk three times this evening to complain about the wifi not working. No one has answered the front desk phone all night. Disturbing.

Breakfast was classic hotel mediocre, but "free."

Room Tip: There's a Hampton Inn across the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

In Brief:

$129 after tax for the wrong room, a filthy room at that, & a tiny bathroom.

The Specifics:

I traveled there with two co-workers to visit a supplier. I booked a room three weeks in advance, asked for an upper floor room, was told I would get it. Got there, found out they had moved me to a ground-floor room, but a suite at the same price. OK....

On the plus-side, the TV's were good-sized, there was an in-room jacuzzi (which with an 11:30pm checkin, I wasn't inclined to try), and the counterspace outside the bathroom (counter/sink/mirror) was ample. The breakfast was fairly decent (sausage, french toast, etc., like what is available at Hampton, Best Western, etc.).

Their idea of a suite was to take a regular-sized room and put a wall in the middle to make two rather small rooms. OK.... However, the room was quite disappointing. The carpet was filthy (several medium to large dark, grimy spots in the middle of the floor), there were crumbs all over the couch (which also was rather grimy in appearance), and for two rooms, only one tiny garbage can under the sink. The shower in the pint-sized bathroom was a joke - I only had 19 inches between the wall and the cold wet curtain!! That was interesting (and yes, I measured, since I have a small tape measure in my jeans coinpocket).

In the morning, I found out that the supplier we were there to visit had left a "Wisconsin Cheese Sampler" in the rooms of my cohorts - but I didn't get one (no biggie, but I'm wondering where it went...), and that their rooms were also filthy (especially the carpets) as well, so I was not alone in my observations (they brought it up, to my surprise, and I concurred that my room was also that way).

I debated two or three stars, and the price for the room is what dropped the rating to two stars. For the kind of room, especially in the condition it was, and tiny bathroom, I would expect to pay in the $60-$75 range (and that takes breakfast into account).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Beautiful site for a wedding. The staff went way beyond what one could expect. My father-in-law misplaced his wallet, and it was found by a staff member. He was called the next day. The wallet was returned and all was intact. (a considerable amount). I do recommend staying in the tower.Unless things have changed, this appears to be the most updated, comfortable part of the hotel. If you have young children, the poolside rooms are perfect to keep an eye on them. Yes, it can get warm temperature wise, but I just think it's just a very warm place-in the inviting sense!

Room Tip: The Tower Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire

Address: 1202 West Clairemont Avenue, Eau Claire, WI 54701
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Eau Claire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Eau Claire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire 2.5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Plaza Hotel & Suites has 233 guest rooms. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, hairdryer, cable TV, and free high-speed wireless Internet. Guests of all ages enjoy our Atrium Courtyard Pool Area, including a large swimming pool, children’s pool, and jacuzzi. In addition, each of our guests receive our full, hot complimentary breakfast each morning of their stay. Casual dining within our facility is available at Burgundy’s Restaurant, which features a full menu for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. Daily chef specials and our Friday fish buffet are always favorites among guests. Our on-site sports bar, Brewski’s Pub & Grill, offers daily drink specials and "happy hour," as well as a lounge where guests can relax and watch their favorite game. A selection of burgers, sandwiches, and appetizers are available for dinner or a late night snack. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Eau Claire
Plaza Eau Claire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Plaza Hotel and Suites Eau Claire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.