We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fathers Day Weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of East Troy Electric Railroad

East Troy Electric Railroad
2002 Church Street, East Troy, WI 53120
262.642.3263
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 Attractions in East Troy
Type: Scenic Railroads, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Fathers Day Weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Took part in the dinner train experience on the 15th of June. Museum has a little layout and kid activated sounds. Building is a working station with a generator supplying the trains with power. Street car rides through the countryside to the Eloquent Farmer, and back. The same route is used for the Dinner/Pizza train but goes farther onto Muckwanago, and then back. The dinner was great and served by an attentive staff. Even without the dinner part the station/museum is well worth it. The Museum is free. Rides are all day $12.50 for adults. Other discounts apply. See there website. East Troy Electric Railroad.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    9
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orange Park, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our Dining Car Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

As part of a convention group, we enjoyed an evening meal on board the East Troy Historic Electric Dinner Train. It is a slow ride, to facilitate the serving and enjoying of the meal, but we had a great trip and the meal was exceptional...and the staff on board the train was super!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Railroad loves will be in heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Great sense of history and educational with a trip to Elegant Farmer and back as a trip. Great family fun.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Australian tourists-loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My hubby and I visit Wisconsin often as we have friends who live there. Whilst looking through the local paper we saw an add for the railroad. Decided to take a drive and are thankful we did. The whole family which includes a 5 and 7 year old loved it. The people who run the train were really nice and explained a lot of history regarding the railway and the town of East Troy. The kids loved the museum and had a great time picking out something special to take home as a souvenir. Worth a visit.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
84 attraction reviews
Reviews in 103 cities Reviews in 103 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Neat, but lots of greedy ill-mannered kids running amok!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

We have been here and rode the rails many times over the years. We stopped in on our way to LJ Laubers and the gift shop and museum was over run with kids who seemed to have no parents. They were playing roughly with all the toys that were supposed to be for sale! I would not purchase the toys after they were used like that! My own small children asked why the kids were not in trouble for being so naughty! A grandma of one of the kids only told them to put the trains back after i walked by and shook my head in disgust. If you purchase a toy train, dig for the bottom of the stack for one not used already, and lower your standards for the kids running wild. Also the prices have gone up. 12.50 for adults and 8 for ages 3-11.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Troy Electric Railroad also viewed

Been to East Troy Electric Railroad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Troy Electric Railroad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.