We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getting Better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alpine Valley Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in East Troy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alpine Valley Resort
Save Saved
You added Alpine Valley Resort to your Saves list
Alpine Valley Resort, East Troy, WI 53120   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in East Troy
Yorkville, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Getting Better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Have stayed here quite a few times on concert weekends. Before we always had a room that was kind of gross, however we were pleasantly surprised this year to have a really nice room! It was clean, and comfortable, with a balcony facing the ski hill. Seems like they are trying to revamp the place which is great because we love seeing concerts at the amphitheater, and getting a room right there is a great bonus. It is however VERY expensive for what you get, but you are definitely paying for convenience. The prices for everything seem to be jacked higher on concert weekends. Pretty good bar and lounge on site, and especially great bloody Mary's at the little snack hut on the golf course. Hope to get a room again next year for the same concert.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    3
    5
    7
See reviews for
4
6
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

For a last minute anniversary getaway we thought heading to WI would be a great place to hit the slopes and enjoy some R&R. Boy, we could not have been more wrong! The hotel (motel) it self was outdated with terrible amenities; dirty and dingy. The room was less desirable than a Motel 6 or another cheap motel, but at a much higher rate. The slopes were icy and the snowboard lesson was terrible. I did not bring a blow dryer, because most hotels, even motels, provide then in the room. However, when I called the front desk to inquire about a hair dryer, they told me I could come down and pick one up. Overall this place is definitely a "resort" that should be skipped. Travel the extra miles in the midwest, or better yet, save your money and head out west where it is the real deal! I am not a gambling woman, but I am pretty sure this "resort" was built in the 12th century, see pictures!

On a positive note, we met an excellent sever in the bar, named Darren who was fantastic!

Room Tip: Find a different resort!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This last September 24+25 ,2012 was the second time we booked a golf package and it was as great an experiance as out August 2009 visit.
We booked a a Monday night 1 night stay and had the place to ourselves.
With the $132 per person golf package you get unlimited golf and a cart on their 27 holes (on your check in day) which were in excellent condition, then you get dinner and breakfast-and another day of unlimited golf.
We had lucked out on our date and there were only 2 other people staying overnight and golfing Monday.
We had the golf course to ourselves and at dinner had the full attention of a waiter and the Chef.
We had a fantastic meal- included in the package- and paid extra for drinks and desert.
The rooms aren't real modern but were clean and ours was very large with a mini fridge
We had the indoor pool and hot tub to ourselves- never saw the other 2 guests.
Breakfast was a feast and included in the package- in the dinning room looking out at the ski hill with the fall colors changing.
Day 2 we golfed till we were worn out. Well worth the package price but check your dates- there's ladys golf day and mens day so the course may be busy on those days.

Room Tip: Monday and Tuesday on a non concert weekend are the night to stay if you want the golf package. C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Golfing was fine and enjoyable, hanging by the pool no issues. Dining was very good. Package deal is worth the price............BUT out of 8 rooms we had, 2 of the restrooms had issues......unresolved. We all enjoyed the golf weekend wishing all of us would have had a good bathroom to utilize. Could it be updated sure........but it is for golf and sking..........

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

The ski part is well organized. The slopes are good for Wisconsin. The hotel and inside bar/restaurants are really old and gross. They really should invest in updating the interior. They have outdoor grilling and seating which is cool on the warmer ski days. This place has potential.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I stayed here with my daughter for one night. We had skied all day at grand geneva's mountain top and met up with our family who was spending MLK weekend at Alpine. I loved the fact that you were allowed to keep boots and skis in room and didn't have to return them and get new ones everytime. The hotel is aged but nice. Indoor pool and large hot tub was nice for my daughter to relax in after skiing all day and I was able to sit in the lobby and watch her through the windows and not have to breath in chlorine. Game room was nice and so were the beds. My only complaint is no elevator (but we ended up on 1st floor, just had to walk up 3 to meet others) and the heaters were ancient you were either cold or burning up. I spent most the night turning it on heating up the room to an uncomfortable hot and then turning it off, it would stay warm in the room for about 2 hours maybe. Food areas were great and accessible from 2nd floor of hotel didn't have to walk out side to go eat. If you are looking for ultra fancy this isn't the place. If you are looking for a place to crash after a day of skiing this is the place. Desk staff was great quick check in and got me everything i needed for skiing and dinning. Will return.

Room Tip: Bring warm jammies if coming in the winter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

Clean, comfy, and affordable. Bathrooms are a little small. Towels a little rough. But all in all a good place. I was there for a double DMB show, so we didn't spend much time in the room. The location is great, just far away enough from town to not have to deal with tourist traffic.

Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alpine Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine Valley Resort

Address: Alpine Valley Resort, East Troy, WI 53120
Location: United States > Wisconsin > East Troy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in East Troy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Alpine Valley Hotel East Troy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alpine Valley Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.