We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to grab a casual meal with family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Leif's Cafe

Leif's Cafe
904 N Railroad St, Eagle River, WI 54521
715-479-2766
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 53 Restaurants in Eagle River
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to grab a casual meal with family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This place deserves the number one spot for food in Eagle River. Its not over pricey, the staff is great and so is the food. As an example of excellent staff, they noticed our party of 7 as we exited the vehicles and had already moved some tables around before we even entered the restaurant. The menu has a great selection anything from breakfast to dinner. Everything we ordered was great and there were no complaints about anything. Price is definitely appropriate for the food and the atmosphere was fun and friendly. Will visit again even if just driving through.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    30
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barron, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Busy, but superb staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We over shot a place to eat & while trying to turn around my wife spotted this cafe. Why so many cars at this little place she asked? Well entering we found it much bigger, a 50X30' addition of beautiful Knotty Pine. Packed @ 1pm, but plenty of staff all running their hearts out to give good service. Great soup for mr, chef salad for my wife. When i saw it was called Leif, I knew it had to be great. I did expect lefsa & lutefisk, but hey, gentile time in Aug.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stopped at Lief's for lunch, right after the 4th of July parade. It was incredibly busy, but it didn't take us long to be seated. With that said, the food was good, but the service could have been much more pleasant. I asked for water with lemon in it and was told rather abruptly that they did not serve lemon. Surprising, but not the end of the world. As I said, it was very busy, so our waitress may have been feeling overwhelmed, which would account for her lack of tactfulness. We also waited a loooong time for our food. Again, it was probably because of how busy it was. I gave this restaurant 3 stars instead of 5 because of the impersonal service and because the food was just o.k. Perhaps next time we come to town we'll come for breakfast, since other reviewers are raving about it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

This was the first year that we had tried this restaurant and we did because the parking lot was always full. Now we know why. Great foods! We ate here for Breakfast, Lunch, and Dinner over our week long stay and were never disappointed. Great for families.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillette, Wyoming
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely killer breakfasts, and great lunch and dinner. It's far less crowded on the inside than it might look with the packed parking lot outside. A must stop and eat if you're in Eagle River.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Leif's Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Leif's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Leif's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.