We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch salads are great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Flour Sack - CLOSED

The Flour Sack
348 W Pine St., Eagle River, WI
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Description: We now have our coffee shop in the front of the store for your enjoyment along with free WI-FI. We serve all espresso drinks both hot and cold along with a selection of freshly baked muffins, turnovers, cookies, scones and more. Our retail store sells gourmet & specialty foods, mixes, baking supplies, cooking utensils, organic & natural foods, and "Everything from Soup to Nuts". The Flour Sack is an attraction besides being a unique retail store and small coffee shop-- it is a fun and interesting place to visit.
Restaurant details
Description: We now have our coffee shop in the front of the store for your enjoyment along with free WI-FI. We serve all espresso drinks both hot and cold along with a selection of freshly baked muffins, turnovers, cookies, scones and more. Our retail store sells gourmet & specialty foods, mixes, baking supplies, cooking utensils, organic & natural foods, and "Everything from Soup to Nuts". The Flour Sack is an attraction besides being a unique retail store and small coffee shop-- it is a fun and interesting place to visit.
Manitowoc, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Lunch salads are great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Try this place for a quick lunch, but it is a store also, so be prepared to load up on the frozen scones and other goodies. The cranberry and blueberry ones are a hit with my family. This is one of the few places where I can find different flours and rices as well and they are packaged in reasonable volumes for reasonable prices.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    12
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great inventory for baking etc”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

They have RYE FLOUR! That is nearly impossible to get! And they have a lot of other great things for baking! Stop in and take a look! You will find something you didn't even know you were looking for. They also have a cute place to sit and have coffee and lunch and also a great selection in their freezer to take home and bake.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Pricey for sandwiches.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Very pricey for an average sandwich. Service was slow and it wasn't even busy. We definitely would not go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in the Northwoods!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

The Flour Sack is an unexpected find. The Northwoods is not a location where one can easily find unusual grain or pasta ingredients and / or dried herbs and spices. However, this place offers all of that and more! In addition to an impressive array of baking ingredients and tools, one is able to purchase artisanal cheeses and home-baked goods. And a huge, upright freezer is fully stocked with frozen turnovers (unbeatable), various cookie doughs, bread dough and frozen pies (easily as good as anything one can produce at home). And, if that doesn't do it for you, then sit down in the darling café located at the rear of the store. They serve absolutely scrumptious sandwiches, wraps, home-made soups and "real" salads (the kind with dark green lettuces and fresh herbs). You'd expect all of this to be expensive, wouldn't you? Well, guess what? The staff is lovely and the prices are totally reasonable. If you're planning to visit Eagle River, then a visit here is a great idea.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Does not look like much from the outside, but is very nice inside. Great sandwiches! Not a lot of seating for a busy lunch though. Cute store attached. Service was fine. Soup was excellent!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Flour Sack also viewed

Eagle River, WI
Eagle River, WI
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Flour Sack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.