We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The House on the Rock Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dodgeville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The House on the Rock Inn
Save
You added The House on the Rock Inn to your Saves list
3591 State Road 23, Dodgeville, WI 53533   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dodgeville
California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We arrived in the evening and checked out fairly early in the morning. We picked this hotel because of the room/ticket combo. The breakfast was fairly basic. I had a hard time getting online in the lobby so ended up down the road at the McDonald's. I didn't think the staff behind the desk were that attentive, but maybe it's because of the time we checked in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    39
    29
    20
See reviews for
75
41
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Silvis, Illinois, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

the building itself is fabulous.the rooms were decent,but the beds,linnens,pillows and tv were out of date.the indoor and outdoor pools were very nice,but the water was way to cold.the continental breakfast was nothing but muffins ,toast ,bagels and juice. the front desk people were very nice and helpful

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We signed up for the hotel and House on the Rock visit combo for families. When arriving, we found out the water was not drinkable and we needed to come to the desk to obtain bottled water and ice. However, they did not say we could not shower or swim in it. When we went to the water park - no one was there and it was not even running. The smell of chlorine was overpowering and it was difficult to be in the room. The pool area and rooms were not well kept. The beds were rock hard and they had an archaic television. We would not stay there again - even if it was a good package deal.

Room Tip: Maybe the top floor, away from the parking lot?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Absolutely wonderful! I was a bit apprehensive about staying here because of a lot of mixed reviews and a really bad experience somewhere else on a previous vacation. Our options were limited because there was a baseball tournament going on the weekend we were staying so a lot of the other hotels were already booked up. For this I am grateful because I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were so friendly! There were menus on the counter at the check in desk for several local restaurants. We already knew where we wanted to eat and the young lady not only gave a strong recommendation, but gave us excellent directions to get there. She was right on.
The rooms were very clean and very comfortable. Our reason for staying was seeing The House on the Rock, so it was nice to have the option to get the tickets with the room rate. We stayed in the standard room with 2 queen beds, my only complaint would be that there was no microwave or fridge. You can upgrade to a room with these, but thought that was a little ridiculous as in my experience these are things most standard rooms come with anyway. The beds were firm, but not uncomfortable. We all slept very well.
The pools were very clean and did not have that burning chlorine smell that you sometimes have with indoor pools. There was a large outdoor pool with a dragon fountain, a large indoor pool just a little deeper than the outdoor one, a 45 foot submarine with slides for the kids, and a large hot tub. They are also open until 11pm which gives you plenty of time for swimming after a full day of touring the area. From some of the photo’s I was expecting it to be a little dingy, but the entire pool area was immaculate and very well maintained.
The breakfast was a typical continental breakfast of cereal, bagels, donuts, muffins, toast, peanut butter and jam. Fruit and yogurt cups, juice and very good coffee. It is located in the lower level of the hotel, but it was not basement like. It looked like a conference room and if you didn’t push the LL button on the elevator, you probably would never know.
The hotel itself is beautiful. Very clean and labeled well so you know where everything is located. The gift shop is very nice and has anything you may have forgotten at home.
I would absolutely stay here again.

Room Tip: I questioned previous issues with the wifi upon booking and the young lady made sure to put us in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here to attend a wedding in Spring Green (15-min drive on highway) and were pleasantly suprized. We had a deluxe double-queen for our 5-yr-old, my husband, and me. We made full use of the balcony for spraying on sunscreen and drying beach towels (from our visit to the beautiful nearby Gov. Dodge State Park), the refrigerator for drinks and lunch makings, and the extra sink outside the bathroom for our daughter's use. Everything was clean and in good condition. The pools are tons of fun. We thoroughly enjoyed both the outdoor pool with the dragon fountain and the elaborate indoor shallow pool with the fish/submarine jet-spray obstacle course and water slides! (There is also a hot tub and deeper-water indoor pool that we never made it in to.) The breakfast was basic but adequate for our needs (menu includes yogurt cups, fruit cups, bagels & cream cheese, toast, oatmeal, cereal, juice/tea/coffee, and donuts and muffins). I was a little nervous based on the other reviews about breakfast being served in some sort of cellar, but it's just housed in one of the lower-level conference rooms that don't have windows. They have set up a nice display case in the breakfast room with several doll houses from the HOTR collection, which my daughter and I enjoyed. The staff was very friendly and accomodating, letting me changed my reservation several times and also allowing us a late checkout. We'd stay here again if we ever return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Families with small children could use the indoor water park. The continental breakfast carried a bare minimum of choices and would not meet the needs of 80% of the population.
Mattress quality sub-standard. Discount hotel chain quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here because of the Stay and Tour package offered with tickets to the attraction. Not being from the area, we figured this would be the only accomodation close to the house on the rock attraction. If we were to do it again, we'd stay somewhere else. For the amount they charge, I just don't think it's worth it. For starters, it took me two weeks prior to even make a reservation because the computers were down. When it actually came time to staying there, the computers were down again and we waited almost an hour to check in. I'm not really sure who is at fault for this persisent issue, but to be fair the ladies working at check-in were genuinely sorry for the inconvienance. However after being on our feet for 6 hours at the attraction, we wanted nothing more than to crash in our room. Speaking of the room, while it was very spacious, that was about the only thing going for it. Ours was just a king bed and sofa with no microwave, fridge, coffee maker or any other amenities. My husband was bewildered that the TV was still an old tube TV! But it worked and we got plenty of channels. As another reviewed mentioned the continental breakfast was in a basement room which was very odd and the food was nothing to write home about. Overall our stay was fine but I'd recommend finding something else in the area. Madison isn't too far of a drive and you can get a much better room for less money.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The House on the Rock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The House on the Rock Inn

Address: 3591 State Road 23, Dodgeville, WI 53533
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Dodgeville
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Dodgeville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The House on the Rock Inn has something for everyone. There is virtually any room style available from family suites to a standard room. A submarine-themed play pool for the kids stands next to a swimming pool for all ages, or relax by the fireplace in the plush lounge. And of course the cozy rooms make for the ideal conclusion to a fun filled day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The House On The Rock Hotel Dodgeville
Hotel On The Rock
House Of The Rock Wi
The House On Rock Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The House on the Rock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.