We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sam and Maddies - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sam and Maddies
3656 State Road 23, Dodgeville, WI 53533-8904
608-935-2790
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Nice for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Checked into the DonQ late, so having the restaurant right there (and accessible via tunnel!) was nice. Service good, food hot and tasty, reasonable prices - what more could you want in a restaurant?!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    4
    8
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food is OK - Could use a thorough cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The food is not bad and it's nice to have a "fancy" restaurant close to work and home. I do think they could invest in some serious deep cleaning ... especially the carpets in the dining area ... scary.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We were staying over the road at house on the Rock Hotel. That was mediocre so it was pleasing to find Sam and Maddies so close. My husband and I ate in here for two nights and. the food was was really, really good. The young girls that served in the restaurant were very friendly and attentive. We sat in the bar area after dinner for a few drinks and this was pleasent too with good service.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Food, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

good quality food, not great but good. The atmosphere really is kinda mixed from banquet hall to bar to restaurant... It's a very multifunctional place

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Clinton OH
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice place - friendly service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Nice place - we were promptly seated. I had the an excellent salad and the veggie burger - both were very good. I also had the "Mounds" Martini....awesome !!!! The waitress was helpful with our questions on the menu. I thought some of the prices were a bit high.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam and Maddies also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sam and Maddies, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.