We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was- o.k.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Basil's II

Basil's II
5595 S County Road P, Denmark, WI 54208-9405
920-863-8454
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 12 Restaurants in Denmark
Restaurant details
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“It was- o.k.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I ordered a bacon cheeseburger, my hubby a double burger, and we shared a basket of fries.
It was o.k. Fries were good, salted, and hot.
Drinks were good, he had two beers, me one mixed drink, total bill was about $16.50.

Nice neighborhood type bar/restaurant. People were playing cards at one table.
Next time if we go I'll order something else.
The address/mapping for this place is way off- the actual place was 3 miles away from where it said. We called for directions and the bartender said we're not the first people that have told them that. So, why don't they change it then?
Friendly service- fast, ok food for what we chose.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    1
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
GREEN BAY
Top Contributor
406 reviews 406 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Father's Day eve family gathering”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Family tradition to celebrate with all the fathers in the family. Good bar atmosphere and attentive staff, burgers are decent, regular chili was a little uninspired.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Basil's II is a family favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

We go out of our way to make the trip, but it is always worth it. I always get a bowl of spicy chili and a bacon cheeseburger. My mother in-law gets a pizza burger and my wife gets also gets a bowl of spicy and a cheeseburger. We split a basket of fries and each have beverages (usually a total of 4 beers and 1 soda). If memory serves, I think the bill was $29 something. I have tried other items from the menu, but the past several trips, I stick with my favorite. The food is so good and so reasonably priced. It is a nice atmosphere and is motorcycle / snowmobile / kid friendly. When you go in, go to the bar and order first then they will send you to a table where the food will be brought out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eator
1 review
“Found on Trip Advisor ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

It is in the middle of no where, and you can tell locals love this spot. There is a large central bar, and tables + booths surrounding the bar. We were instructed to order @ the bar, then was told where to sit. The service was friendly, and they brought the food to the table. The food was good. There were several televisions playing. The bathrooms were clean and there was an area where children were playing.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Burgers Rock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Love Basil's II! It is a country bar with the best butter burgers you will ever eat. Part of the Kroll family that is know for their restaurtants in Green Bay, only better. Their chili and side are all great and they have a variety of items on their menu. It's not fancy but it is a friendly atmosphere with good food at very reasonable prices. Stop in and say hi to Mary, the bartender! She always has something interesting to say. I give it two thumbs up!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Basil's II also viewed

 

Been to Basil's II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Basil's II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.