We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Chance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Duck Inn Supper Club

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Duck Inn Supper Club
N6214 State Road 89, Delavan, WI 53115
(608) 883-6988
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 61 Restaurants in Delavan
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Whitewater, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another Chance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

After 2 years we decided to give the "Duck Inn" another chance. The last time we dined here, we left with the intent of never coming back. Yea, it was that bad.

So this time we were skeptical, but I have to say...Glad we gave it another try! Although they were very busy and finding a parking place was not easy, we were seated rather quickly.
They certainly maximize their seating capacity. It's a good thing the servers are thin or they would never fit between the tables.

I wish they would clean or replace the chandeliers. You can't help but notice them and the burnt out bulbs. It would have been nice to have the fireplace lit on the coldest night of the year but I imagine the tables right next to it would probably have gotten to warm.

We were impressed with the service. Starting with the hostess then the bartender, our server and even the busser were all very attentive.

I don't think the menu has not changed in ten years but evidently it works because they always seem to be busy when we drive by.

The Friday night fish fry was good. The coleslaw was fresh. My tossed salad was cold and crisp ( not part of the fish fry) and the dressing was thick and delicious. The fish was much more than we could eat. The potato pancakes however were barely warm and therefore didn't really taste that good.

All in all, we are glad that we gave it another chance and I'm sure we will be back.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    19
    12
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delavan, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Absolutely fabulous!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

From the time we walked in the door, we felt welcome and at home. We were a little late arriving for our reservation but they were very understanding.
Everything from our server, bartenders cocktails and dinner were exceptional. Really can't say enough good things about this place. Our home away from home. :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, IL
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

I've eaten here a few times and have to say the food is pretty average and expensive for the quality. We like the little relish tray you get when you sit down but the food really isn't worth the prices.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Very good with some reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This restaurant is seemingly in the middle of no where, and just when we thought we'd never find it -- there it was. The dining room has a high peaked ceiling of natural wood. One end of the dining room has a stone fireplace (gas) and the room was nicely decorated for the holidays. The room is very large and there was only 1 other diner on a Monday night.

Several of our group had oysters (both raw and Rockefeller) which they thought were very good. We ordered both soups and they were tasty but exceptionally thick (you could practically stand your spoon up in the bowl). We had several duck dishes and one filet mignon. The filet was perfectly prepared. The duck itself was very good, but again the sauces were very thick and not at all subtle. Prices were as expected. The place is known as an old-fashioned Wisconsin supper club and I think that is a reasonable designation. Don't expect haute cuisine and you'll be OK.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Safe bet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

Very good fish fry and nice menu selections if going for other than fish. Soups are outstanding and the chef has been there many years and keeps things interesting. I would say if you are looking for a good meal in the Delavan area you have made the right choice. Service is what I would call above average. Located about 10 miles NW of Delavan. Prices are reasonable for what you get. Fun place to go!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duck Inn Supper Club also viewed

 

Been to Duck Inn Supper Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Duck Inn Supper Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.