We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horses were pretty....show was just "eh"” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater

The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater
5065 State Rd 50, Delavan, WI 53115
262-728-8200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 attractions in Delavan
Type: Dinner Theaters
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Enjoy a day full of experience at Wisconsin’s own Dancing Horses, Animal Gardens. You day begins with The Dancing Horses Theatre presentation of an enchanting NEW performance that is unparalleled anywhere else. From the moment the show opens until the finale, the audiences of all ages sit spellbound, applauding each equine performer and trainer, exclaiming in wonder, chuckling at the humor and even wiping the occasional tear when a moment of connection touches a heartstring. Get up close with the trainers with our newest park feature: the Backstage Tour. During the tour, you are given a demonstration about liberty-style horse training and then you will be invited into the stables to meet the equine performers. Next, as you exit The Dancing Horses Theatre, you enter the 30-minute Exotic Bird Show which follows. Meeting our Exotic Birds is a delightful treat. This performance features several different species of exotic birds that will amaze you with their incredible abilities and antics. Your experience continues with more, a visit to the Baby Animal Barn. The Baby Animal Barn is filled with both domestic and exotic baby animals that children can hold and feed. Our staff is there to answer any questions you may have about our baby animals. In close proximity is an outside petting zoo and several charming rides children will enjoy.You can then take a walk or ride through our Wildlife Exhibit, a natural-setting zoo where you can see animals, many of which are indigenous to Wisconsin. The exhibit culminates in the Deer Park where you can pet and feed white tail deer. You can experience a tractor-pulled wagon ride though the park, where larger animals are available for viewing. You won’t want to miss the train ride though our Indian Village; complete with teepees, Native American art, and oral history lesson about the area’s indigenous people.With the two stunning performances, The Dancing Horses and the Exotic Bird Show, and our animal attractions, this will be a day you will not soon forget and will want to share with everyone.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Horses were pretty....show was just "eh"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I took my mom here for her birthday and she loves horses. We both thought the horses were pretty, but the show was a bit "cheesy". A lot of the horse acts were them running around the ring while wearing costumes. There were other times where there were no horses in the ring and we had to watch water spray around or girls dangling from hoops. We went to see the horses....not girls doing acrobatics. I would say this show is best for kids aged 4-10. The staff was very nice.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    31
    10
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kihei
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Missed the Dancing Horses, but the kids loved the feeding the deer”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We took the three grandkids, ages 8, 4 and 3 to this attraction on a Monday. At first, we were the only ones there. Best deal was the family package, but there were extra charges for the rides, food to feed tha aminals and boat and pony rides. We took the train to the "zoo"...Rip off. Over half of the "cages" were empty. The intern was very knowlegable and the grandkids loved feeding the deer.But the grounds and buildings need updating, paint etc. Exotic bird show consisted of four birds, but again the kids loved it and were able to pet one of the birds after the short show. At the end of our stay, the four year old proclaimed he was bored....Out of the mouths of babes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“To be fare, we did not stay....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stopped by intending to visit the gardens, buit ended up not stayiong. The place seemed to need a major clean-up, it was VERY expensize to get in considering admission did not include any activities from rides to fed cups (those I can understand, but EVERY ride is an extra $3.00-$6.00) except for the bird show which was starting in several hours.
Staff seemed nice, except girl at check-in once we discussed how expensive it was.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This place is a scam”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Let's start with the fact that you still advertise "camel rides" on your website and also with a big display at the entrance to the "park". You can see two rather unhappy looking camels hidden somewhere in the back of the park, but that's about it.

Apparently, we visited the park on the one day that the big "dancing horses" have the day off. Which may explain why more than one staff person informed us that horses had the day off, but people didn't, and that everyone seems involved in "clean up activities", everything from mowing the lawn to washing picnic tables.

There wasn't enough staff to run all the activities, so you literally had to wait for the girl from the pony rides to run the boats, etc. which left a lot of time standing around with frustrated and bored children. Not to mention extra fees for nearly everything.

Not to be completely negative, the women who ran the "train" were very kind and knowledgable and that ride was a bright spot in a kind of bummer (and expensive) experience. Also, the other college aged girls were very kind.

We would not return. We are frequent visitor's to lake geneva and have told those we know to look elsewhere for an animal experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendota, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great for the Kids-Pretty good for the adults”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My twelve year olds loved the show and petting zoo. My wife and I both enjoyed the show but felt it was a little long. Decent but not spectacular family attraction, I rated it four stars instead of three simply because the kids really enjoyed the experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater also viewed

 

Been to The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater to your Saves list