We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average show.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater

The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater
5065 State Rd 50, Delavan, WI 53115
262-728-8200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 8 Attractions in Delavan
Type: Dinner Theaters, Performances
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a day full of experience at Wisconsin’s own Dancing Horses, Animal Gardens. You day begins with The Dancing Horses Theatre presentation of an enchanting NEW performance that is unparalleled anywhere else. From the moment the show opens until the finale, the audiences of all ages sit spellbound, applauding each equine performer and trainer, exclaiming in wonder, chuckling at the humor and even wiping the occasional tear when a moment of connection touches a heartstring. Get up close with the trainers with our newest park feature: the Backstage Tour. During the tour, you are given a demonstration about liberty-style horse training and then you will be invited into the stables to meet the equine performers. Next, as you exit The Dancing Horses Theatre, you enter the 30-minute Exotic Bird Show which follows. Meeting our Exotic Birds is a delightful treat. This performance features several different species of exotic birds that will amaze you with their incredible abilities and antics. Your experience continues with more, a visit to the Baby Animal Barn. The Baby Animal Barn is filled with both domestic and exotic baby animals that children can hold and feed. Our staff is there to answer any questions you may have about our baby animals. In close proximity is an outside petting zoo and several charming rides children will enjoy.You can then take a walk or ride through our Wildlife Exhibit, a natural-setting zoo where you can see animals, many of which are indigenous to Wisconsin. The exhibit culminates in the Deer Park where you can pet and feed white tail deer. You can experience a tractor-pulled wagon ride though the park, where larger animals are available for viewing. You won’t want to miss the train ride though our Indian Village; complete with teepees, Native American art, and oral history lesson about the area’s indigenous people.With the two stunning performances, The Dancing Horses and the Exotic Bird Show, and our animal attractions, this will be a day you will not soon forget and will want to share with everyone.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Dominican Republic
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Average show.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Show started about 15 - 20 min late. the lady who sold me my corn dog was riding in the show. There was a leak in the ceiling and the seats right beside us couldn't be used because they were all wet. The horses were beautiful. This was a Christmas show and the music was good. The audiovisual stuff needs some serious updating. The fountains and the woman acrobat didn't have anything to do with horses and weren't that necessary. I think they could make the show a whole lot better for the price. We did not do the bird show.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    37
    10
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Skip it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We purchased tickets for our family of 5 through Living Social. We visited on December 23rd to see the Christmas show. We were very disappointed, especially after reading all the great reviews! We did appreciate the horses and what they have been taught to do. We were disappointed by the "down" time in between animal acts, the "finale" being a mini water and light show and the focus on the ladies riding the horses. And they showed a Budweiser beer commercial in the middle of it all? I am certainly glad we did not pay full price for this show, perhaps the petting zoo helps make up for it, but our kids did not want to stay for the bird show or the backstage activities. Very bummed, this was supposed to be a special holiday afternoon for our family.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Dancing with Horses Theater”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The 1st weekend of December we went to Lake Geneva WI and decided to see the Dancing with Horses Performance. We loved it. They offer camel rides and pony rides before the performance starts. There is a gift shop and snack bar in the same building. There is also a petting zoo outside. The costumes, horses, and perfromance was like something in Las Vegas. There was also a bird show after the main performance which we did not stay for because of time constraints but I would have loved to have seen this as well. Echo the bird on America's got talent was performing. This is a great show for children, and people of all ages. The price of the show was very reasonable. You can also get a regular dinner before the performance but remember you will be eating in an area with animals. That is not my cup of tea so we ate in Lake Geneva and only paid for the show itself. After the show everyone is invited to come down to the stage and pet the horses. This was a real highlight for me as I am a horse lover.
If you're in the Lake Geneva area make sure to take in this venue.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Dancing with Horses - A MUST SEE if you like horses!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

What I like most about this show is the love and dedication of the Owner (Dana Montana) her family and the trainers! Dana is a true American success story - a lady who worked very hard in her life and is a devoted horse lover, breeder and trainer. The horses are cared for in a lovely, clean environment and treated like the rock stars that they are.

The show is amazing with a level of horse training not seen in the midwest. The head trainer is from Germany and commands the show ring with her talent and connection to the horses. We have seen the show several times and it never gets old. Not even Disney does it better.

The petting zoo is fantastic too, and the bird show really entertaining. The bird Echo was a finalist on America's Got Talent.

Make sure you introduce yourself to Dana Montana who is always there, with her warm smile and love for horses, you will feel like you've meet a new friend.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palos Park, Illinois, United States
1 review
“IF YOU LOVE HORSES - GO SEE THIS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I own three horses so I was drawn to this sort of thing. I was blown away by the amount of tallent that was there. The horses, performers, trainers, hospitality, owner (Dana Montana) everything was of the highest calliber. The decorations for the Holidays were spectactular! Please don't miss the show of a lifetime. Our whole family attended and it was marvelous.
They also have a petting zoo and bird show. My grandchildren got to ride a camel!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater also viewed

 

Been to The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dancing Horses Dinner Theater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.