We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Delavan

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Delavan to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Delavan
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   313 Bauer Parkway, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Green Bay, WI
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“nice place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We chose this hotel because there was nowhere to stay in Whitewater (college town 15 miles north). Not a bad place - beds were comfortable and room was spacious although the pull out sofa had seen it's better days. Reasonably priced for the amenities (suite-style room, queen beds, fridge, microwave). It is a bit off the main drag and difficult to find at night - they could use better signage. Close to I-43 and retail locations. The breakfast was a little weak -- we had to keep asking them to refill things -- ran out of scrambled eggs, sausauge, etc. and it seemed that no one was in charge of watching when things ran out. Also seemed like there were family members of the workers hanging out in the lobby -- small children were going in and out of the office area which we thought was a little odd.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    20
    12
    9
    8
See reviews for
27
21
4
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

There are two "chain" hotels in Delavan. I chose this one because the other one looked scary. It was a good choice. It was nicely decorated and pretty clean. The bedding was of good quality. The staff was very friendly. Yes, the carpet is kind of old and gross. Don't let that scare you away. A little overpriced for what it is, but they really don't have any competition. If you have to stay in Delavan, and a B&B is out of the question, this is the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walworth, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

It was one of the worst hotel expiernces I have ever had! The carpet was scary to begin with but then on top of having to wear shoes all the time we had items stolen from our room when we went out to eat! Took most of our valuables with us but left behind cell phone charges and batteries when we returned they were gone! The worst part the hotel showed no interest in helping us with this matter! Don't leave anything in your room if u plan on staying here!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVH, General Manager at Comfort Suites Delavan, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
It is unfortunate that some items were found to be missing from your room and I apologize! All of our employees are long-term...in fact, the housekeeper that cleaned your room has been with us for nearly four years and we've never had to question her honesty. Most recently, she has even turned-in a large amount of "cash" that was left behind by one of our guests. We do have safes in all of the rooms and we recommend that you always secure your valuables. It is my understanding that you were missing a phone charger, some bicycle pedals, and a tupperware container...I cannot forsee you locking-up these items but I am sure that we probably had a phone charger that would fit your phone in our lost and found. I do know that the hotel called the police on your behalf and a police was completed. The authorities were back the following day to question the housekeeper and pursue this matter with management. Again, I apologize for your loss and hope that these items are either found or turned-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We checked into a different hotel in the Delavan area and the first thing I noticed when I entered my room was the smell of mold. We decided to check out of the hotel and decided to go home. On our way home we stumbled across the Comfort Suites and to my delight, the hotel was updated, very nicely decorated and most of all the air was clean and mold free. The best part was the customer service, the man at the front desk was so friendly and accommodating! We love boating on Delavan Lake and will always consider the Comfort Suites when staying overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed this past weekend. While it was apparent that they had made some upgrades (bed linens, countertops in bathrooms), the carpeting and upholstered furniture was god awful. Unfortunately the rate we paid was well beyond what this hotel deserves given its condition. Thankfully our weekend events were off site, so we just used the hotel for sleeping.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnVH, General Manager at Comfort Suites Delavan, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
My response is directed to the next three comments as I know that you were all friends and traveling together. We appreciate your comments and we are aware of some the concerns that you had mentioned. We are in our eigth year and due for a refresh but this requires budgeting and proper planning. The industry has taken quite a hit with hundreds of hotels failing and in foreclosure...we are choosing NOT to be one of those hotels. Not only do we have a responsibility to our guests, we have a responsibility to our investors, our community and to our employees. In order for our properties to stay "afloat", we must budget properly and spend accordingly. It may appear that we started to do some updates and then stopped but that is not the case. Last year we replaced all of the bedding, linens, and terry throughout the hotel along with some updates to the pool area, our computer system, and our breakfast display pieces. This year we started switching over to flat screen TV's and re-charge devices...roughly $500 per room with 80 rooms is a sizeable investment. During the summer months and our busiest time of the year is NOT the time to put rooms out of order as we must maximize the hotel to its full potential...However, we have purchased carpeting for the property and will start installation in the fall when things slow down for us. We should have the rooms completed by the end of the year or the first part of next year and at that time we are planning on furniture replacement. This is a step-by-step process but it is our intent to tackle everything in time. I again apologize that some things were not up to par but hope that you can understand our position. We are aware of some the issues and we are constantly investing into the improvement of our facility.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

The title says it all. It really seemed like they started to refresh this hotel and then stopped. The linens were nice and the beds comfortable, but the carpeting in the rooms and in the common areas was horribly stained and dirty. There was also an upholstered bench in the room that was horribly stained and dirty. The couch was ok with the slip cover on it, but because of the carpet and the bench I would never sit on it. The microwave and refrig were nice to have and clean. The bathroom seemed to have a newer tub and sick and was clean.

There were also really loud people running and jumping upstairs at all hours of the night that could be heard from at least 3 adjoining rooms.

I agree with the prior reviewer: I wore my shoes at all times and I was glad that we were really only in the hotel to sleep and had activites off sight all weekend.

I did not have a groupon and as such paid about twice as much for this hotel than I think it is worth.

I won't be staying again.

Room Tip: On higher floors you won't have anyone causing noice above your head all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

All I can say is that I won't return, nor will I recommend this place to anyone. Well maybe if you really need some place to spend the night. The carpeting throughout the entire place was horrible. Whenever my feet were on the ground I had on shoes.. that means even going to the washroom in the middle of the night. The whole place was a little musty. I really didn't want to stay but we had plans to be gone most of the day and would only be in the room to sleep. I guess we got what we paid for through Groupon. If Ihad paid full price for that weekend stay I would have had to get my money back and go elsewhere.

Never again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Delavan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Delavan

Address: 313 Bauer Parkway, Delavan, WI 53115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Delavan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Suites Delavan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Delavan Hotel Delavan
Delavan Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Delavan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.