We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mexican food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hernandez El Sarape

Hernandez El Sarape
212 S 7th St, Delavan, WI 53115
(262) 728-6443
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 61 Restaurants in Delavan
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Small restaurant but had great food, atmosphere -would recommend to anyone looking for a good meal at a great price

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    13
    2
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food, Friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Everything I have ever had here has been delicious, the Owners and staff are very friendly. They make fresh chips that are served with 3 different salsas

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican fare with great choices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday afternoon. Chips were hot and flavorful as usual. service was a little slower than in the past, but worth a short wait! Great portions and reasonable prices!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayville, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Somewhere in-between”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

As Mexican goes, so goes this restaurant. I've found most Mexican Restaurants marginaly good, I felt the same here. Great service but just average food. The chips were the best thing I had. They are fresh, warm and tasty. I did not like the salsa. Dinner was just OK. Our server was VERY patient and attentive as my friend and I sat for hours and talked. The temperature outside was in the 20's, they could have turned the heat up a bit inside. It felt in the low 60's. I wore my jacket the entire time. Cute place, nice people, average food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Mexican Food, EXCELLENT chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

The Mexican food is good -- we ordered very standard fare. Service was good, Margaritas are great. Eat the chips when they arrive to your table, they are OUTSTANDING! In a city of not many fantastic dining options, we really enjoyed Hernandez. Don't expect Frontera Grill in Chicago (which we frequent) -- but this is a nice fun evening in it's own way. Very friendly host staff.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hernandez El Sarape also viewed

 

Been to Hernandez El Sarape? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hernandez El Sarape, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.