We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick weekend family getaway!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Sale on Two Nights
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Quick weekend family getaway!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We went for a quick overnight stay at the beginning of March 2014, and this winter, there is still plenty of snow and cold weather around the area. It was me, my husband and two kids (20 and 8) in a loft suite. It was a great room and my 8-year-old enjoyed the loft area with the two twin beds. They had their own television and bathroom up there, so that was an added plus. We had a king sized bed, television, living area, bathroom and balcony with rockers on the lower level. We were able to watch the sunset with a cocktail from the balcony (with coats on). It was nice to be able to walk all around the resort inside. We visited the pool/hot tub area, sports bar for lunch, the general store for snacks, game room and wandered the facility to explore. There are plenty of comfortable leather chairs, couches and even fireplaces in nooks all around. The pool area was large and comfortable. The only negative for the kids is that they were not able to throw a koosh ball in the pool - or any kind of ball for that matter - as it is against the rules. Kind of a bummer for them. It was a nice comfortable stay and we enjoyed it. I've been there before in the summer months when there is a lot more to do, but also a lot more people to contend with. Good time was had by all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    178
    21
    9
    7
See reviews for
235
237
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Everything about our stay was very good. We went for a first date getaway in the middle of January and enjoyed it very much. The pool area with hot tub was large and well designed.
The in house Spa was also very enjoyable. The place has an interesting history and it would be fun to stay there during warmer weather and take advantage of more outdoor activities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I really enjoyed staying at Lake Lawn Resort. We went during the winter, which makes it a much different trip, since they have so many amenities for the summer since it is on the Lake. However, this did not take away from the trip at all.
The resort is close enough to Lake Geneva, so you can stroll around the town and then drive right up to your room at the resort and park. The grounds are expansive and have they have so much for kids and adults.
The Sports Bar was great for dinner and hanging out. The pool was huge, but filled with kids (as it should be)! They had a great little walk-up cafe for a quick bite at breakfast time.
The spa was fantastic. We did a couples massage and I will absolutely go back to enjoy the spa again. Excellent service and value!
The rooms are spacious and the one we stayed in had a huge tub. The next time I go, I will make sure not to have a room on the bottom floor, as kids are everywhere and stomp around like crazy. We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange, Illinois
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We have been loving lake lawn for over 30 years. It has seen some bad times and was even closed for a few months. It now seems better than ever and was busier than ever the weekend we were there. The rooms are nicely remodeled, some with fireplaces. You can get a loft room with an upstairs bedroom for the kids. Unique is the layout of the property. There are several lodges connected to the lobby and restaurant buildings by glass enclosed walkways. They form a huge circle right on delevan lake. The kids love to roam the loop and can never get lost. Lookout bar has good food. There is also an upscale frontier restaurant. Check out their website.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shorewood, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Woodsy and cozy. Perfect for the entire family. We love it here!! Great food. Great service. Kids love the pool area. Husband loved snoozing in the oversize leather furniture. No need to leave the property, although the surrounding area is great also!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Colomban, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I went to that place February 15 and 16 for their first winter kite festival. That was excellent! The place is very nice with several fireplaces inside and outside, several restaurants for everybody. A nice indoor pool. Rooms are very comfortable and it's clean. The personnal was very polite. That's a place I'm looking for to go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the lake side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband and I decided that we needed a weekend getaway, and decided that Lake Lawn Resort would be somewhere different. We had not been there for about 20 years and remembered it as a great place to stay. We were there February 7-9, 2014. We were very happy with our decision! Our room was very nice! The bathroom had a nice massaging type of tub and was very nicely decorated. The rooms are done in a cabin type of décor. They have refrigerator, microwave and a safe. Check in was quick and easy. We found out that there would be a wine and cheese guest reception, which we attended, and was nice. Also there was a teaser hour twice a day at the Frontier bar which had very nice appetizers and drinks on the menu. Our favorite was the short rib crostini's! We had them a few times, and I think I am going to try to make them! The restaurants and bars are the Frontier, which is more upscale and has wonderful buffets and piano bar type of music. The Look Out, which serves sandwiches, breakfasts and such as well as the bar and has bands and karoeke at night. And a café that has gelato, homemade pizza, sandwiches, salads, coffee etc. There is also a nice general store that sells many different items, and it was fairly priced. We found that prices throughout the resort were fairly priced and comparable to what we would normally pay elsewhere. This surprised us as usually things at hotels are a lot more costly. The resort is set up so that you do not have to go outside for anything if you don't want to. There was an extra $12 fee/day that was for use of cross country skiing, snow shoeing, or ice skating for 2hr. Unfortunately for us the weather was too cold for us to want to go out in. They also had a large bonfire by the lake every night which again it was too cold and nobody was out there. There was a small gas fire pit in the middle of the resort for people also. The pool looked very inviting but when we thought we would use it, there were a lot of little Indian Princesses in it!! ( there was an Indian Princess and father weekend going on!) We talked to a few people who used the spa and they loved it!! We met quite a few very nice people at the bars, some of which actually live in the area and just like to stop in! There are many nice areas to sit and relax all around the resort. Some have fireplaces even! The staff at the resort are so friendly! I noticed that I didn't see any job titles on their name tags, which impressed us, as everyone was so attentive to everything. My husband and I will hopefully go back. We had a great time, and would definitely recommend it to others. There is restaurants and stores across the street from the resort, and Lake Geneva is just east about 10 - 15min if you want to get out for awhile. I think there is also a downtown area to enjoy in Delavan. Big thank yous go out to Ben and Lindsay M. at the Frontier bar and Theresa the night manager! You all made our weekend exceptional !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, TravelClick and Tingo so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.