We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Save Saved
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Delavan
Lake Zurich, IL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great family destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

A great venue for families. Well maintained, comfortable facilities with lots of activities. Affordable and close to home. My tween girls love the loft rooms -- they get their "own room" up top with bunkbeds and their own TV and bathroom. And so thoughtfully laid out - every room in the Shorewood/Norwood buildings has a lake view, and everything is connected with enclosed walkways. Love it. Great weekend destination for any season.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    144
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
200
191
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Charles, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wonderful. Highly recommend it! The Frontier Dining was excellent. Room was cozy! Ours had a fireplace. Spa was great. It was very. clean and relaxing. Treatments were excellent. Everyone was friendly!

Room Tip: The loft with the fireplace if your group is more than four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Lake Lawn Resort is a solid midrange choice for a hotel or resort. It's not going to wow you, and there will be things you don't like, but it's affordable and better than most.

Pros:
- nice bathrooms
- helpful concierge and front desk
- solid fitness center and pool.
- excellent, fast, free WiFi.

Cons:
- housekeeping is loud and starts at 8 a.m. This is a resort. Let people sleep in!
- bedding is uncomfortable, but clean.
- Frontier restaurant is laughably over-priced.
- out-dated and ugly decorations. The carpeting looks like The Overlook hotel in The Shining. That movie is over 30 years old.

Lake Lawn Resort seems to still be suffering from an identity crisis following years of changing hands and stop-start renovations. Ownership should sit down and figure out a vision for the resort, then execute. It has the potential to be something really special.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

COULDN'T SLEEP. BAND WAS TOO LOUD AND MANAGEMENT DIDNT HELP. We have two special needs kids that take every ounce of our energy. After getting 4 families to watch our kids, we came up for my wife's 40th birthday to have some peace, quite and relaxation but ended up being angry and getting little sleep the second night. Very upset with this resort and wouldn't recommend anybody going!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schererville, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Spent last weekend at the resort for the Nostalgia Nights; Big Band Weekend. I cannot speak highly enough about the experience…everything from the room, to the staff, to the amenities, to the food, to the show were top notch!! The room was terrific, they even put a "Happy Birthday" sign on the door for my wife which was much appreciated. We stay at Lake Lawn 2 - 4 times a year, and have always had a great time! Looking forward to our next stay!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Spent our Anniversary here recently. All the staff were great, we didn't have a single complaint. The food in their restaurants is excellent, we've been there before for the fish fry and prime rib buffett and they're top notch. This was our first visit to the hotel, the room was terrific, they even put a "Happy Anniversary" sign on the door, which was a really nice touch. The wife got a spa treatment and the staff were all very friendly and professional. We will be returning hopefully in the summer next year so we can use the golf course as well.

Room Tip: There are rooms with a view of Lake Delavan, get one if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed at Lake Lawn on 11/3 for the Big Band event. It was excellent, the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was clean and comfortable. The Sunday brunch was good and a good value. Great views from the Frontier Restaurant. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Try for a lake view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Hotel
Lake Lawn Delavan
Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.