We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice weekend Getaway from Chicago” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Sale on Two Nights
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
GreenLeadersSilver level
chicago,IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice weekend Getaway from Chicago”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My in -laws treated our family of five to a weekend at Lake Delavan and the drive from the north suburbs was a breeze! We were looking for a place within 2 hours from the Chicago area and we found it here. We stayed in a loft. The resort was great and our teens could rent paddle boards and kayaks on the beach.(Though it is not really a swimming beach.) They also fished from a pier and that kept them quite busy while I took a day trip to Lake Geneva and enjoyed some decent shopping. Also ate a wonderful breakfast on Sunday morning at Elizabeth's restaurant in downtown Delavan. Spent the rest of the day at a festival at a park nearby.Of course we stopped at the outlet mall in Kenosha on the way home.
I would recommend this resort and town for anyone seeking a relaxing couple days in WI.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    174
    20
    9
    7
See reviews for
234
231
9
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, SC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A group of us were in town to see the Dave Matthews Band shows at Alpine. Lake Lawn was a fantastic place to stay. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were great. We were right by the pool which was great. The spa was absolutely fantastic, it is brand new and they did it right. The employees couldn't have been nicer. There is a big Wal-mart shopping center across the street which was super convenient for us. My only complaint is that the rooms were really expensive. We stayed in downtown Chicago for 2 nights prior to coming to Lake Lawn and one night at Lake Lawn was more expensive than both nights in Chicago combined which seems crazy for a sleepy little town in Wisconsin. But there aren't a lot of hotel options there so I guess they kind of have you. It would also be really nice if the room serivce stayed open later because we were hungry when we got back after the concerts and we found absolutely nothing open around there. But we would def. stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor by the pool are great because you just walk out the sliding glass door and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I recently stayed at Lake Lawn with my husband and 2 kids (5 and 1 year old). The room at the Shorewood lodge was a decent size and the bathroom was huge. The balcony was nice since we could walk out to the grassy area to the pool from our room. We used all the pools multiple times. I was a little disappointed with the pools since it was just a regular pool without any frills. I called the resort ahead and asked if they had zero-depth and they said yes but they do not - they just have steps that go into the most shallow part of the pool. There is only one kiddie pool (out of 3 pools) and it was just a small pool that was shallow. My 1 year old did not like the kiddie pool since it was a big step down and the water was cold.

We also walked over to the playground which was disappointing. It was outdated and at the very end of the resort. The swings overlooking the lake was a nice touch but otherwise they could've made it a lot better by moving it to the center of the resort and updating it. I wasn't sure if there was a beach area at the resort and there is not. There's some sandy area by the playground but it looked dirty. The kid zone was a nice distraction from the outside but it is just a small room with some toys, crafts and games.

That said, we still enjoyed our stay. The kids liked swimming in the pools and walking around the grounds. I got a pedicure at the spa - the service, atmosphere and the staff were great. If my kids were older or if I did not have children, I would've given the resort a higher rating for great views, room quality and good service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Experienced this resort about 20 years ago and over the years it looked very tired. I have stayed here twice in the past year and can see with the new owners that many improvements have taken place. The rooms are attractively decorated like "Northwoods" of Wisconsin and all have patios or balconies with 2 rockers and lake views. The resort is spread out with many individual buildings so there is a fair amount of walking to do--they are connected with indoor hallways (and views of the lake) so no need to walk outside in bad weather. We enjoy the lakeside firepit--especially nice during cool evenings.

Room Tip: We did hear kids running above our room--may want to consider second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lake Lawn Resort is a recently updated resort that managed to keep it's old world nostalgia. Driving up to Lake Lawn, one is reminded of the resorts of lore... a long winding road, surrounded by grass and golfers, with the gorgeous Lake Delavan sparkling in the distance, one fully expects to see bobby socks and slicked back hair! However, Lake Lawn Resort is anything but out dated! The fully upgraded rooms boast, high def, flat screen televisions and relaxing Kohler, massage tubs. A walk around the resort reveals 3 restaurants, with affordable pricing and 2 pools for hours of fun. There's a spa, an arcade for the kids and it's all connected so that you never need to leave the indoors should it be raining or too hot outside.
If you prefer the outdoors the resort contains a full golf course, walking paths and a plethora of water sports and fun. The rooms are spacious, extremely clean and the beds are warm and comfy. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the parking lot, otherwise you will be looking at gravel and cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Let me start by saying I am biased towards LLR because I grew up coming here and have wonderful memories.

This resort is finally coming back to life nicely after being closed and resold and its great to see the new owners returning LLR to the gem that it is.

Rooms have been nicely renovated and our 2 queen bed room was more than large for our family. One recommendation here is to upgrade the bedding and replace with duvets. There is something very old school and pretty unsanitary about a blanket that is clearly reused from guest to guest. Otherwise room was great.

Grounds are phenomenal, amazing views abound and all the common space is very comfortable and inviting.

The negatives: As it was the 4th of July, they had bounce houses for kids as well as a climbing wall, though we were disappointed to find out they were charging the guests $10/child to enjoy them. We were already paying a holiday premium and felt like this was serious nickel and diming. Also $5 for face paint.

Dined in the Frontier Restaurant both mornings for their breakfast buffet though had completely different experiences each day. 4th of July morning, sailed right through with no problems. Today we were quoted a 20min wait though half the restaurant was empty. Whaat? Informed by the hostess that there were only 3 servers working so even though it was a BUFFET and hot food was already out for the taking, we had to wait. Perplexing. Inquired at front desk with manager Joe who said he'd investigate and get back to me. We heard nothing.

Also, we were charged for my son's buffet though he is 3yr old and should be free. Waitress said she was new and didn't know. Clearly, some retraining needs to happen with this restaurant.

Overall, Lake Lawn blows away all the Lake Geneva resorts and is a fantastic place to get away with your family or group. I'll be back for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is huge! And there is lots of lawn! 'stayed there for 2 nights--we had a beautiful view of the lake. The pool was so nice and warm. Restaurants were great and not terribly expensive. It is an old place, but remodeled wonderfully. Planters of pink petunias all over--just gorgeous!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with view of the lake and 2nd floor balcony. If you don't want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.