We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newtime Nostalgia” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Winter Sale
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Newtime Nostalgia”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Lake Lawn Resort is a recently updated resort that managed to keep it's old world nostalgia. Driving up to Lake Lawn, one is reminded of the resorts of lore... a long winding road, surrounded by grass and golfers, with the gorgeous Lake Delavan sparkling in the distance, one fully expects to see bobby socks and slicked back hair! However, Lake Lawn Resort is anything but out dated! The fully upgraded rooms boast, high def, flat screen televisions and relaxing Kohler, massage tubs. A walk around the resort reveals 3 restaurants, with affordable pricing and 2 pools for hours of fun. There's a spa, an arcade for the kids and it's all connected so that you never need to leave the indoors should it be raining or too hot outside.
If you prefer the outdoors the resort contains a full golf course, walking paths and a plethora of water sports and fun. The rooms are spacious, extremely clean and the beds are warm and comfy. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the parking lot, otherwise you will be looking at gravel and cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    183
    23
    9
    7
See reviews for
243
245
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Let me start by saying I am biased towards LLR because I grew up coming here and have wonderful memories.

This resort is finally coming back to life nicely after being closed and resold and its great to see the new owners returning LLR to the gem that it is.

Rooms have been nicely renovated and our 2 queen bed room was more than large for our family. One recommendation here is to upgrade the bedding and replace with duvets. There is something very old school and pretty unsanitary about a blanket that is clearly reused from guest to guest. Otherwise room was great.

Grounds are phenomenal, amazing views abound and all the common space is very comfortable and inviting.

The negatives: As it was the 4th of July, they had bounce houses for kids as well as a climbing wall, though we were disappointed to find out they were charging the guests $10/child to enjoy them. We were already paying a holiday premium and felt like this was serious nickel and diming. Also $5 for face paint.

Dined in the Frontier Restaurant both mornings for their breakfast buffet though had completely different experiences each day. 4th of July morning, sailed right through with no problems. Today we were quoted a 20min wait though half the restaurant was empty. Whaat? Informed by the hostess that there were only 3 servers working so even though it was a BUFFET and hot food was already out for the taking, we had to wait. Perplexing. Inquired at front desk with manager Joe who said he'd investigate and get back to me. We heard nothing.

Also, we were charged for my son's buffet though he is 3yr old and should be free. Waitress said she was new and didn't know. Clearly, some retraining needs to happen with this restaurant.

Overall, Lake Lawn blows away all the Lake Geneva resorts and is a fantastic place to get away with your family or group. I'll be back for years to come.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, WI
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

This place is huge! And there is lots of lawn! 'stayed there for 2 nights--we had a beautiful view of the lake. The pool was so nice and warm. Restaurants were great and not terribly expensive. It is an old place, but remodeled wonderfully. Planters of pink petunias all over--just gorgeous!

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with view of the lake and 2nd floor balcony. If you don't want to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

My group of high school friends and I had a great time at Lake Lawn for our annual "girl's trip". The resort has been updated since our proms there in 1967 and 1968 :) We rented a loft suite and had plenty of room for all of us.

One afternoon we had a great lunch at the Lookout Grill, but the next afternoon we ate in the Frontier Restaurant and it was terrible. We couldn't even get a Diet Pepsi that tasted right and they tried two different times. Don't know what that was about.

The weather was stormy and rainy while we were there, which is not the resort's fault, and there wasn't much to do when we couldn't use the pools. The inside pool was cold so that didn't work out.

A few of us had massages at the spa which were fine.

One afternoon we took a pontoon boat trip which was delightful. The "captain" grew up on the lake and gave us all sorts of interesting info about the lake and its history. Just great!

The staff at Lake Lawn is exceptional for the most part. Friendly, helpful, just can't do enough for the guests. The one exception was Ryan at the front desk when I checked out. I had forgotten to use a coupon for the boat trip when I bought the tickets and he did not not want to honor it as I checked out. I suggested that he should and then he did but with a definite attitude. Everyone else on the staff was terrific.

Overall it was a great trip and the resort is a good place to vacation, especially for families.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiensville, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

What a beautiful place to stay and only an hour away from Milwaukee, however, you feel like you are far, far away from everything! Great views from your room, nice pool, golf course and we had an extra bonus, pre-4th of July fireworks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Wonderful place to stay - highly recommend it. A lot to do on premise and not far from Lake Geneva. The food and drinks are reasonable. The place is totally remodeled and very pleasant. This is the 2nd time staying and will be back. Great for a girls weekend out or a family getaway

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Springs, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Lake Lawn is beautiful, all four seasons of the year. The place is meticulously maintained and is spotless throughout. The food is excellent in all the restaurants, the staff was polite and helpful. We have been coming here for almost forty years and will keep on coming.

Room Tip: If you like quiet, stay on the second floor of Boulder or Timber. The loft rooms attract larger gro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.