We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Franklin Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 136 cities Reviews in 136 cities
593 helpful votes 593 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We were looking forward to returning to Lake Lawn, but their lack of customer service won't have us returning ever again. We stayed in November and had a good experience. We looked into staying again and inquired about rooms and availability for a January stay a month prior. I was told that the rooms were only available for 2 night stays and that I could be put on a waiting list. I could not understand why such a thing existed especially in a non prime time month such as January. I place several calls to the management and left messages sharing my dissatisfaction. No one ever return my calls. However, as to add insult to injury, someone from reservations called a day before we planned on staying there, to tell us a room was available. Really? Well needless to say we told them they could keep their room and we would not return. Honestly you would think this was the Bellagio. No wait- we would have had better service there!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    183
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
243
244
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago suburbs
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Drove up for an overnight stay at the end of the kids' Christmas break. The lodge was quite festive with holiday decorations. The lodge is a series of buildings connected with passages from one to the other, which allows you to roam around comfortably while viewing the grounds or Lake Delavan. We found it quite enjoyable.

Lake Lawn has a nice, sizable indoor pool (82 degrees) with a hot tub nearby. The kids loved the pool. There are a couple restaurants on site. One is a burgers and pizza type of place, the other is more upscale. There is also an arcade and an ice-cream shop that doubles as a breakfast spot.

Our room was in the newer Lakeside building, which was the only building that required us to walk outside to get to the main complex. This building has an outdoor pool (for warmer weather) and we stayed in a loft, which was quite large, with two twin beds and a tv up in the loft space, which the kids thought was great. The room was clean and nicely decorated, had a mini-fridge and a nice bathroom.

We plan to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have stayed here many times over the past thirty years, and our stay at the end of December showed what a terrific renovation has been had here. Rooms are updated and nicely appointed; bathrooms are much better than you would expect. The loft rooms are great for families, and really nice to have two bathrooms with two adults and two children. The workout facility has been upscaled and relocated, as well. This was a great destination for an extended family vacation.

Room Tip: Lofts have different configurations upstairs, bunk beds or twin beds, and it may have a shower or no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I also came here as a child, and it was fun to go back--facilities have really been updated! Very cute rooms, very friendly staff. Enjoyed our time on the property, and it was convenient to Lake Geneva for some post-Christmas sales shopping.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My friend and I come to Lake Lawn every year in December. It is so festive and fun. The service is incredible. The spa is so inviting. The food at Fronteir is to die for. The prime rib is awesome. The staff is courteous and welcoming. I would recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

i attended a weekend meeting. i'm a self admitted hotel and travel snob. I had very low expectations. This place rocked! It is a solid family friendly and business friendly resort hotel in "friendly" wisconsin. the frontier dining room was outstanding for a lakefront resort. I was very surprised. The rooms were immaculate, lodge furnishings really on the money. Great place. highly recommend it./

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

If you have never been to Lake Lawn Lodge you should go. It is wonderful. It has a warm cozy atmosphere. the staff is excellent and friendly. The prices are reasonable and the guest rooms are beautiful. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Timber Lodge and the Rooms were beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.