We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake Lawn Resort has made a come back! It's a great place for a family reunion” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Save Saved
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Fall Sale on Two Nights
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Delavan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
“Lake Lawn Resort has made a come back! It's a great place for a family reunion”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We have been coming to Lake Lawn for the Thanksgiving weekend for many years. Although we miss the great room, it is a great place for a family reunion. There are so many places to spread out and gather. We always wonder though why the Great Room is not utilized more. It use to be filled with great big chairs and sofa's set up by the window so you could look out over the beautiful lake. Now it's just one big empty room that's hardly decorated. Back in the day they even had a happy hour in there with drinks and appetizers. I have the agree, the grounds were beautifully decorated, the best I've seen. Very friendly staff, so glad to see it's up and running.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    404
    171
    19
    8
    6
See reviews for
230
226
8
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beach Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This faithful resort continues to suprise us. The renovatons are truly wonderful and very well received. The bathrooms in our King loft were made for royalty.Our visit began with a wonderful welcome by front deskers Emily and Melissa who greeted us as old friends returning for a stay. Our room was even seriously upgraded without request by us ! Thank you ! The dining continues to please in every way. We chose both buffet and menu items for dinner. Our server, Nanette, was one of the most attentive and friendly servers we have encountered anywhere. Lake Lawn has taken employee training to the next level! The piano in the Frontier dining room and the sweet carolers at Sunday brunch were an elegant touch. I realize that Lake Lawn trains it's employees using a "team" approach as each employee there supports the next to ensure the guests stays are happy and seamless!
I wish Lake Lawn would consider a few adult-only hours for the pool and hot-soak area each day. Perhaps 9:00pm to close. Rowdy kids monopolize this facility to the annoyance of adults who are seeking some quiet time. We gave the pool area a pass this visit as it was "kid-soup" all the time. We realize that this is a "family resort" but here needs to be limits to the noise. The kids racing whining remote-control cars down the hallways at night needed to be stopped by security.

Room Tip: Norwood is quietest but also furthest from Lodge activities. The newly renovaded Lakewood area also...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The staff seems to be reinvigorated. Our extended family spent this past Thanksgiving holiday at Lakelawn resort and we were Impressed by the friendly enthusiastic staff. The hotel grounds were beautifully decorated. The Thanksgiving dinner was very good. It was overall a great experience! Keep up the good work thanks.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had been staying for an occasional weekend for years and when they closed we were saddened. Upon hearing of the reopening we were so happy and booked a suite for a weekend. It turned out we got the same rooms we had the last several times we had visited but they were dirty. Hair in my bed , dirt on the floor, sticky table tops, no television, and the ending of double billing. I ended up dealing with tech support for an hour to fix the tv, and management was rude about the whole dirty mess. I have owned and worked in the service industry and couldn't believe the attitude that he gave when I inquired about being billed twice for my weekend. We had so many wonderful weekends there and this really did make me sad but we won't be going back, more from the dirty room than anything.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake In The Hills, IL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the resort for our 5 year anniversary and had a great time. We had dinner and breakfast at the resort, good food and good service, what more can you ask for. The "all inclusive" is what we were looking for and we weren't disappointed. We stayed in one of their two room suites and would recommend it. A lot of room but that just made the stay that much more comfortable. Our room looked directly onto the lake, WOW, nice. The bathroom is nice, separate shower from the tub, all fixtures nice. Apparently the resort was purchased and rennovated in 2011, not sure what it looked like before but its nice. I really liked the entry off the highway, gave you the feel of driving onto a fine property. I didn't golf, but the course looked pretty nice. Overall, a great weekend and we'll be back.

Room Tip: Pick the two room suite, I travel a lot and having a separate living area with kitchenette with fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We had been to Lake Lawn a couple years prior to this visit and it was obvious that the resort was struggling. Although it wasn't that we had any negative experience, it was just that the hotel was empty- bars, restaurants, everything. Shortly after, the resort had closed it's doors.

Upon hearing that Lake Lawn reopened, we decided to give it another try. This time, we booked the weekend romance package that included dinner, a bottle of wine, champagne, strawberries, and two nights accommodations. Dinner at the Frontier was amazing; the best meal we've had in years! With our package, we were able to order anything on the menu with no restrictions which surprised us. The dining experience couldn't have been better! We'll be returning just for dinner again.

The rooms are clean and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. Overall, we were happy with our stay and will most definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The thing I love most about Lake Lawn Resort is the far away from home atmosphere that greets me everytime I go. Truth be told, I only live maybe 10 minutes away.... but I feel like I am hours away from the minute I get there. I love the rustic lodge decor and peaceful lake setting. The resort has 3 different restaurants, which is awesome, because you don't have to leave! The indoor pool is nice and warm and just the right depth for my children to swim in. The Staff is warm and always accommodating. We stayed in an amazing loft suite with it's own fireplace, two queen beds and a bathroom on the lower level, and twin beds in the loft area with it's own bathroom and TV. Awesome for families!!!! They have great rates most of the time, which makes it easy to come back often. And I do. It's the perfect getaway.

Room Tip: Watch for Specials! The rooms in the Normandy Building are the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;