We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
milwaukee wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“excellent stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Would definately give this more than 5 stars. We only stayed overnite under a living social special, definately would recommond a minimum 2 day stay at this resort, was extremely relaxing. Very professional and freindly staff.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    194
    25
    10
    7
See reviews for
255
262
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mokena, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

Our stay at Lake Lawn Resort was a wonderful experience. We had a loft room that overlooked Lake Delavan. The weather did not cooperate during our stay, but there was enough to keep you busy at the resort. We took advantage of the pool and Lookout Bar. The pool was crowded at certain times so we just planned around the off peak times. The Lookout Bar had live entertainment and great food. The bar atmosphere was extremely friendly and inviting

Room Tip: It is a large resort, so you might want to be specific as far as where you want your room located in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed at the resort on a Friday night for one night. The resort is near Lake Geneva, WI where we went and did some shopping Friday and Saturday.

We ate at the Frontier restaurant at the resort for the Friday night seafood buffet and for breakfast the next morning. The food was fantastic both times.

We stayed in a loft room and it was BIG. The bathroom was new and large.

I would recommend this resort to everyone and will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

From the friendly, efficient people at the front desk to the high quality, well decorated, spacious room, to the delicious meals in the scenic dining to the well maintained golf course....Everything was superior. Can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a lake view....what a beautiful sight in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We brought our four year old who loved running down the long hallways that interconnect each lodge area. Both the Frontier and the Lookout Bar had really good food. We were not displeased with any offering and we stayed two nights, eating pretty much all meals there for the convienience.

They are pouring the money into resort improvements and many things are already updated.
If you are looking for something specific make sure you ask if it is available as much work is being done, but absolutely done in a way that is not disruptive like other chain hotels may do to you.

We stayed on a very rainy weekend and still loved it. That should say enough.

Room Tip: This resort is broken into several lodge areas. Calling the resort is a real good idea to get the ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was our third stay here, the second since it's reopened. We love it here and are always sad when it's time to go home and back to real life. We love that we don't have to leave the resort if we don't want to. We also enjoy all of the common areas available for guests. We did notice some upgrades/changes in the common areas this trip...ie new chairs by the Frontier Dining Room and some game tables in the gathering area by the indoor pool. This resort would be a perfect place for groups/families to gather. Our room was clean, comfortable and luxurious.

The deli was not yet open, but the staff member we asked said they were hoping to have it open for the summer season. Also, the spa is not yet open. We did go into Williams Bay to the Clear Water Day Spa for massages (a recommendation of Lake Lawn). It was wonderful, but we'll be happy when the spa is open and we don't have to leave at all.

We ate at both Lookout and Frontier. We were happy with the food at both and of course, the views can't be beat. I would definitely recommend reservations at Frontietr, especially on a weekend. We did have one minor disappointment on the stay and that was with the host staff at Frontier. We had reservations but were seated a half hour later and behind others who did not have reservations. I understand that things run behind, but we were never told there would be a wait...they told us it would be just a few moments. We would have been happy to have a drink in the bar if we knew it would be awhile. That was a minor frustration and certainly won't be enough to keep us away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view or a courtyard view. If you have a courtyard view, ask for a second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

When I was a child, my family and I frequented this wonderful little gem many times and remember vividly when it was still Lake Lawn Lodge. Since then, it has recently succumbed under new ownership and has been revived to Lake Lawn Resort. My parents and my husband and I stayed April 27-28 for a mini-getaway to relive old memories and for a little R & R, and Lake Lawn Resort made us just as happy as it did then. :)

Resort - Lake Lawn Resort is spread out within 250 acres, and it is nestled around almost 2 miles of Delavan Lake's shoreline. It is nicely set up where one can walk around the resort within covered hallways that are surrounded by windows, so you have ample views of the lake throughout your "journey." They have conference rooms available for meetings, weddings, parties, etc. Also, they have two restaurants/bars, a deli with wonderful treats (which was being renovated during our stay), an arcade room, both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, a hot tub, exercise room, a kids' zone, and a cute little store with unique odds and ends. They also have a spa, golf course, access to boats, and other activities.

Accommodations - We actually stayed in Shorewood East in a queen luxury loft room. The decor is set to make you feel like you are in a cabin, so expect a lot of plaid and wood. ;) It was immaculately clean; the bedding was fresh and crisp and appeared to practically be brand new. The loft set up was very cool; it was just my husband and myself in our room, so we really did not need the extra space, but the openness was very nice. The beds were comfortable, and it was very easy to adjust the temperature. The shower had a rain shower head and was adjustable to our liking. We also enjoyed a whirlpool bath whilst sipping coffee (that was in the room) in the morning...very relaxing. Other amenities include a refrigerator and microwave in this particular room. We also had a patio with 2 chairs facing the lake and outdoor pool area, and we were very pleased with our view.

Staff - The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We've stayed at a few all-inclusive resorts where the staff constantly greeted us wherever we were, and in the States, I have to say that this is probably the first hotel we've stayed in where we were greeted by everyone we happened to see. The staff also works very hard; one guy was even constantly mopping the pool area to alleviate it of any extra water so no one would slip.

Food - We dined at the Frontier Restaurant for both dinner and breakfast, and my family and I were very impressed with the selections and felt the prices were comparable for what we received. The presentation of the food was fantastic, and we were all very pleased with our meals. I had ordered the 3 cheese baked onion soup and the lobster spaghetti. LOVED it. My husband was very impressed with his apple jack bread stuffed chicken breast. My mom was thrilled with her filet mignon, and they accommodated her request with grilled vegetables in lieu of garlic mash. And my father, who is a little picky, was very impressed with his roasted fresh boston cod. They also have a seafood buffet for $18.95/person on Fridays, and although we were not staying Saturday night, they have a prime rib buffet for $22.95/person, I believe. We received top notch service and waited the appropriate time between courses. The breakfast we had was really reasonably priced (I highly recommend the grilled vegetable salsa breakfast burrito).

I would definitely recommend Lake Lawn Resort for a little getaway. It was very relaxing and fun. My family is already making plans for a return summer trip so we can also go boating and enjoy the lake and other amenities when the weather is nicer. We remember having such great family vacations in our past when it was Lake Lawn Lodge, and as an adult returning after many years, I am just as pleased with the resort as I remember having as a child.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.