We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“We love this resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This was our third stay here, the second since it's reopened. We love it here and are always sad when it's time to go home and back to real life. We love that we don't have to leave the resort if we don't want to. We also enjoy all of the common areas available for guests. We did notice some upgrades/changes in the common areas this trip...ie new chairs by the Frontier Dining Room and some game tables in the gathering area by the indoor pool. This resort would be a perfect place for groups/families to gather. Our room was clean, comfortable and luxurious.

The deli was not yet open, but the staff member we asked said they were hoping to have it open for the summer season. Also, the spa is not yet open. We did go into Williams Bay to the Clear Water Day Spa for massages (a recommendation of Lake Lawn). It was wonderful, but we'll be happy when the spa is open and we don't have to leave at all.

We ate at both Lookout and Frontier. We were happy with the food at both and of course, the views can't be beat. I would definitely recommend reservations at Frontietr, especially on a weekend. We did have one minor disappointment on the stay and that was with the host staff at Frontier. We had reservations but were seated a half hour later and behind others who did not have reservations. I understand that things run behind, but we were never told there would be a wait...they told us it would be just a few moments. We would have been happy to have a drink in the bar if we knew it would be awhile. That was a minor frustration and certainly won't be enough to keep us away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a lake view or a courtyard view. If you have a courtyard view, ask for a second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    429
    183
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
243
244
9
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

When I was a child, my family and I frequented this wonderful little gem many times and remember vividly when it was still Lake Lawn Lodge. Since then, it has recently succumbed under new ownership and has been revived to Lake Lawn Resort. My parents and my husband and I stayed April 27-28 for a mini-getaway to relive old memories and for a little R & R, and Lake Lawn Resort made us just as happy as it did then. :)

Resort - Lake Lawn Resort is spread out within 250 acres, and it is nestled around almost 2 miles of Delavan Lake's shoreline. It is nicely set up where one can walk around the resort within covered hallways that are surrounded by windows, so you have ample views of the lake throughout your "journey." They have conference rooms available for meetings, weddings, parties, etc. Also, they have two restaurants/bars, a deli with wonderful treats (which was being renovated during our stay), an arcade room, both an indoor and outdoor swimming pool, a hot tub, exercise room, a kids' zone, and a cute little store with unique odds and ends. They also have a spa, golf course, access to boats, and other activities.

Accommodations - We actually stayed in Shorewood East in a queen luxury loft room. The decor is set to make you feel like you are in a cabin, so expect a lot of plaid and wood. ;) It was immaculately clean; the bedding was fresh and crisp and appeared to practically be brand new. The loft set up was very cool; it was just my husband and myself in our room, so we really did not need the extra space, but the openness was very nice. The beds were comfortable, and it was very easy to adjust the temperature. The shower had a rain shower head and was adjustable to our liking. We also enjoyed a whirlpool bath whilst sipping coffee (that was in the room) in the morning...very relaxing. Other amenities include a refrigerator and microwave in this particular room. We also had a patio with 2 chairs facing the lake and outdoor pool area, and we were very pleased with our view.

Staff - The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We've stayed at a few all-inclusive resorts where the staff constantly greeted us wherever we were, and in the States, I have to say that this is probably the first hotel we've stayed in where we were greeted by everyone we happened to see. The staff also works very hard; one guy was even constantly mopping the pool area to alleviate it of any extra water so no one would slip.

Food - We dined at the Frontier Restaurant for both dinner and breakfast, and my family and I were very impressed with the selections and felt the prices were comparable for what we received. The presentation of the food was fantastic, and we were all very pleased with our meals. I had ordered the 3 cheese baked onion soup and the lobster spaghetti. LOVED it. My husband was very impressed with his apple jack bread stuffed chicken breast. My mom was thrilled with her filet mignon, and they accommodated her request with grilled vegetables in lieu of garlic mash. And my father, who is a little picky, was very impressed with his roasted fresh boston cod. They also have a seafood buffet for $18.95/person on Fridays, and although we were not staying Saturday night, they have a prime rib buffet for $22.95/person, I believe. We received top notch service and waited the appropriate time between courses. The breakfast we had was really reasonably priced (I highly recommend the grilled vegetable salsa breakfast burrito).

I would definitely recommend Lake Lawn Resort for a little getaway. It was very relaxing and fun. My family is already making plans for a return summer trip so we can also go boating and enjoy the lake and other amenities when the weather is nicer. We remember having such great family vacations in our past when it was Lake Lawn Lodge, and as an adult returning after many years, I am just as pleased with the resort as I remember having as a child.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

This was a new area for us to travel to. We found Lake Lawn to be a treasure that we found. Very friendly staff, clean rooms, good food and entertainment. We will come back !

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed at Lake Lawn Resort for a quick getaway and were very happy with the experience. The resort has been updated and is very stylish and comfortable. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud. The entire staff was very friendly and attentive. I will definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed for just one night, April 21st. We needed wheel chair accessibilty and they put us in a good location close to parking lot and entrance. All the hallways had ramps, except one (lobby to Boulder Lounge), where there were 3-steps. Luckily a young man who worked there was passing by and helped me get my husband down the 3-stairs.
The room was very cute and comfortable (King luxury room). We were able to hear the doors opening and closing of the room above us. If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. It's not too noisy, but could wake someone up.

We spent time at the Lookout bar & grill. Service was great and food was good. Unfornately, the spa isn't re-opening until early summer. Definitely a place to go back too.

Room Tip: Depending on what you what out of your stay; Ask for a water view room or, ask to be close to bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

We had an amazing weekend at Lake Lawn! I have great memories of going there as a child and now my husband and I visited with our 3 year old. We had so much fun! The staff is friendly and very accomodating. The rooms were spacious and my daughter thought it was so cool that there was an "upstairs" with a bunk bed for her. The kids play room was perfect for her to paint, play with toys and she especially loved the indoor pool. The resort schedules weekend activities by the pool such as face painting, bingo, etc for all to have fun.
Overall, a fun family weekend and we can't wait to go back! I would highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: definitely choose one of the loft rooms if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lawn, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We are thrilled that Lake Lawn is back and hopefully thriving! Our family has been going to Lake Lawn for almost 40 years. It's an easy drive from Chicago, a great location and a wonderful facility with many happy memories for all of us. The resort is very family friendly. We were there last weekend with our adult children and we had a wonderful, relaxing time. The staff was great, the rooms were awesome and we had a great time despite some questionable weather. We're hoping the deli will be re-opened by the next time we go back!

Room Tip: We had a total of two rooms, both loft room in Norwood. It was wonderful and a great value because o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.