We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frontier dining room was excellent!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
wisconsin
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Frontier dining room was excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

Recently dined with my father and sister. (so exciting). The food and service was top notch. Dad had the baked onion soup which was first class. My sister had fish served over vegetables and I had some wonderful boneless short ribs. The salads were better than average and we had some delicious sorbet for desert.
This place really deserves some local support and encourage everyone to give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    217
    37
    15
    10
See reviews for
284
288
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

my sons birthday was sept, 17, and we had our 5th annual golf outing for my wife's father at at a golf course in town that he always played at, we decided to stay at the newly bought and renovated Lake Lawn Lodge. It was better than we ever expected. Our room was big, clean, 2 queen size beds and a very large bathroom. Our son and his wife stayed in an adjoining room. We also had an electric fireplace. There was a huge flat screen t.v., but we don't know if it worked. We never turned it on. Outside our room were 2 large rocking chairs overlooking Lake Delavan. Indoor and a outdoor pool were both very large. I took advantage of indoor pool and the whirlpool. ( very nice but could use more jets). The Lookout bar was so much fun. The 4 of us spent friday night talking and listening to music
and eating wings and other snacks. The service was grt. After the golf outing on sat., we decided to just come back to Lake Lawn. ( We had been drinking since 8am). Took a little nap, and spent the rest of evening at Lookout bar. It was Karaoke night. Sunday morning we went for brunch (UNBELIEVABLE). I have been going to Delavan's assembly pk. for almost 40 Yrs. renting cottages. Lake Lawn Lodge is a go to place again and again. Ask for AARP discount, I received $20 dollars off a night
Tom Donlon
they have a gorgeous 18 hole golf course too.
Next time we will golf there,
when it was bought recently they lowered the price of 18 holes drastically

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

This newly-renovated and re-opened property is the perfect weekend getaway in Wisconsin. The new owners have clearly put a lot of money and thought into the refurbishment and overall done a nice job. We had a two-room loft suite that could not have been more charming. Gas fireplace, small kitchen, two decks (with one overlooking Lake Delavan) and a games table. The restaurant featured food far better than it needed to be, served by servers who are still green and a bit timid, but hopefully that will improve with time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My husband and I were looking for a quick getaway while the kids were at grandma's. Everything about the resort was above our expectations. We had never stayed there before but you can tell the new owners have done a tremendous amount of work on the property. We stayed in a basic room, very clean and comfortable. The outdoor pool overlooking the lake was pretty but we did not use it. The bonfire by the lake was a nice touch also. We had the prime rib buffet on Saturday night - outstanding. The breakfast buffet on Sunday morning was one of the best we have ever been too. Every employee was extrememly friendly, asked how our day was, etc.

Since we did not bring our daughters, 3 and 5, with us all we kept saying was "we need to come back here with the girls". There was a great indoor pool, minigolf, beach, playground, bike rentals and a special playroom with kid activiites. They would love just walking around the property.

We will definitley be back!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My family has been coming here since we were little kids. In fact, my parents met here almost 60 years ago. In recent years, we've been doing an annual September weekend. Last year when they closed, we were all upset by it. I do agree that the previous owners compromised the resort by turning it into a condotel. They got greedy in the real estate heyday. But the resort has always been a great place to go, it's really gotten better recently.

This past trip, Sept. 2011, was just fantastic. Even better than last year. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. The indoor pool was great. Frontier prime rib buffet was really good. We like the fitness center. Excellent wifi coverage. The evening campfire by the lake was another highlight. It's a perfect way to wrap up a chilly fall night.

Our room was really nice. Beds are excellent! FYI they only rent in the remodeled buildings, so no more worry about old room vs. new room.

We rented a pontoon for a ride around the lake one afternoon. Delavan Lake is clear and beautiful. Rental went perfectly, and was the hit for the kids, despite the chill in the air. Marina prices are up a bit, but it's really a pro operation. I recommend it. they're adding boats next year, it's so popular. Many places, the boat rental is a fiasco. Not so here. They rent slips too. Next summer we're gonna come for vacation and bring our own boat.

Lots to do in the area, off the grounds. We avoided Lake Geneva, we're tired of it and it's too crowded. We went to the Delavan Scarecrow Festival, which was sorta fun. Very small-town-wisconson-ish. Bought a few things at the flea market.

We didn't play golf but it was packed on Saturday. I heard it's a great deal for the golf.

My only complaints are:
1) walls are thin enough that you can hear loud speech/noises next door.
2) no self-service laundry facilities. Surprising for a condotel.
3) weak/non-existent cell signal (maybe a blessing, but we needed the phones to reach each other around the hotel.

Cannot wait to go back. New owners are doing one heck of a job as far as I am concerned. I hope to God they do great. We're going this winter, too.

Last thought: I get nervous when a place sets so high a watermark. The expectations are now lofty, and it's easier to fall from grace than to reach it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

I had originally booked a room with another hotel for the weekend but they overbooked and cancelled my reservations. This was clearly a case where I actually lucked out because I was able to get a room at Lake Lawn, and was glad things worked out as they did. Our room had a great view, fireplace, fridge, microwave,and whirlpool. Very clean. The staff was considerate and friendly, always available to help without being intrusive. They had a pig roast by the lake with music and a bonfire. Loved it!!!! Great food, people, views. I'll definitely be back!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

We just returned from a long weekend at Lake Lawn Resort. What a wonderful place. Our room (king loft) was perfect our family - very roomy and comfortable - clean and beautifully updated. We loved sitting on our balcony enjoying the lake. Refrigerator in the room allowed us to buy some yummy Wisconsin craft beer at a store near the resort and enjoy it while rocking and watching the boaters.

Played golf twice. We found the course to be in pretty good shape all things considered. It's beautiful and fun to play. When we were there the course was completely full but they did a good job keeping people moving and we never waited long. The starter is a very nice man and really good at his job.

We ate in the little bar/restaurant by the pool. The menu is limited but good. Plus what could be nicer than watching a football game with they beautiful view of the lake outside? The bloody mary's are excellent.

This resort has a wonderful relaxed friendly pace. There were a lot of people there but it never felt crowded. Everything you could hope for in a weekend get away. We can't wait to go back. We're planning a trip for October already.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Delavan
5.4 mi away
Geneva Ridge Resort
Geneva Ridge Resort
#11 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 359 reviews
10.1 mi away
Timber Ridge Lodge & Waterpark
8.8 mi away
Cove of Lake Geneva
Cove of Lake Geneva
#13 of 15 in Lake Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Delavan
Comfort Suites Delavan
#3 of 6 in Delavan
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
3.8 mi away
Inns Of Geneva National
Inns Of Geneva National
#10 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 45 reviews
9.2 mi away
Geneva Inn
Geneva Inn
#8 of 15 in Lake Geneva
4.5 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.