We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are in Love with Lake Lawn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Save Saved
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Hot Deals
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Delavan
Lyons, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We are in Love with Lake Lawn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

What a fantastic place and what a fantastic rennovation. THe Lodge is very new lookiong while still retaining it's original charm. Someone put a lot of thought into dertail and it works! Simulated twig towel holders, Silhouette of bears around light fixtures and twig patterned carpets really manage to give it a feeling of old.
Grounds are beautiful and well maintained. It looked as though every room had it's own walk ouit balcony. Delli and Spa heve yet to open b ut onsite amennities are great. Several dining rooms, two bnars and plenty of stuff to keep the kids busy including outdoor and indoor pools.
Would recomend to everyone!

Room Tip: Most all room views seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    381
    160
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
212
220
8
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We just stayed at Lake Lawn for our 15th anniversary trip. We had heard the place closed down earlier this year, but were really happy it's been re-opened.

The building we stayed in was updated and the room (king deluxe) was very nicely equipped. We had a lovely lake view from our charming balcony complete with rocking chairs. The people who work at the resort are friendly and accommodating, which seems like it should be a foregone conclusion, but let me say that many resorts nowadays are sorely lacking in customer service; fortunately, Lake Lawn resort is not one of them. The only (minor) disappointment was the Frontier restaurant. We had anticipated a sit-down dinner but all they offered was a buffet, stating that their kitchen was not fully open yet.

All in all, we had a wonderful getaway and plan to go back very soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

My husband and I just celebrated our 1 year anniversary at Lake Lawn. We loved it! The room was clean, bathroom was updated, and it was very peaceful! This is our new home when visiting Lake Geneva! Totally affordable and so much nicer than some of the hotels within walking distance of downtown Lake Geneva! We'll be back soon! :)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at Lake Lawn in the first few weeks of their reopening after being closed due to bankruptcy. It is a sprawling, beautiful resort on the shores of Lake Delavan that has been enjoyed for generations but came upon hard times just while they were planning to further develop it. Not sure of that development status at present, but we were so happy just to see that they reopened. They really should do some advertising because this is not a budget buster in the least, and there were very few things we could find wrong with it.. It seems like the prices are quite a bit lower than in their heyday, but the quality remains consistent. The only thing that seemed to be a common complaint was the pool. The outdoor one is clover shaped and right on the lake....all good....but COLD. They need to crank up the heater even though it's summer! All I kept thinking as I shivered in the pool overlooking this gorgeous setting was, "If you heat it, they will come!!"

While we were there only one restaurant was open, The Lookout, which served pub fare. All five of us were pleased with the food. A small general store had ice cream novelties for an after dinner treat. They used to have an ice cream parlor but it's closed....and dearly missed. At night, bonfires were roaring at two locations on the property. There is a walking path right along the lake which was pretty by day and by night (but they should stay on top of the slight duck poop situation!) There is potential beyond belief here and it is a sad sign of the times that it's not all open and hopping. But they are managing the guests they currently have just fine. We had a screen that had completely been popped out by a previous guest. We weren't even sure if we should report it, but decided to mention it. It was promptly fixed allowing us to enjoy the cool breeze without using the air conditioning. Our unit was a loft unit and every kid got to have their own bed without us spending a fortune. In fact, the rate was $50-$100 cheaper than other Wisconsin resorts we researched. We were really happy with our decision to stay at Lake Lawn.

They need to let people know they're BAAAAACK! I just stumbled upon it by accident on Google. It is a great old resort with many, many modern amenities. The bathrooms are gorgeous complete with granite and a rain shower. Our view of the lake was perfect and we had rockers on our balcony to boot. It's the kind of place you really root for when you think about its history. We don't want to see it close again. So go to Lake Lawn!! You won't be sorry!

Room Tip: Shorewood East was a great building with gorgeous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011 via mobile

Never having been to Delevan, we were pleasantly surprised by the beauty of the lake and the resort. The rooms have been beautifully redone and are immaculate. We enjoyed both pools. The outdoor poor is a little cool, but the indoor pool temp was perfect. The area surrounding the pool needs a little cleanup, but nevertheless, this was a real fun spot for the kids. We also rented a boat and went tubing. Ray, at the marina, was so friendly and accommodating.

The grounds are looking great and are constantly being worked on. Lots of areas for the kids to explore. The Starbucks/deli was not open, due to
renovation, but looks promising. Other final renovations are scheduled, as well. Close to Lake Geneva, but without the hassle. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midwest
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

lake lawn is an old favorite. got a little crowded Saturday but otherwise was pretty relaxed. lots to do with young kids and they seem to have their act together even though they recently re-opened. the fried food at the restaurant by the pool was kind of meh. not sure what oil they used but it was heavy.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Wow....this place has really been updated and looks fabulous!! It still has the "Wisconsin" feel to it, without feeling like you're in a boy scout camp. We had been here before and decided to take a trip to see the new updates and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are totally updated and are beautiful. Our room was a king and the bathroom was really nice with a rain shower....and a whirlpool tub!! We took the mid-week golf package and the course was really nice. Every room has it's own patio or balcony with the most comfortable rockers - was also great. The resort is spread out very nice and all buildings are only two stories..feels nice and homey. At night we were able to enjoy a huge bonfire right on the lake. The new furnishings and decorations in the common areas are so inviting, with nice leather couches and chairs...and of course fireplaces for when the winter winds blow. Everything was great, especially the staff. So, pack up a group of friends and have a couples weekend there. It's a short trip into Lake Geneva for the ladies, and the golf course is also nice for the guys! Spa will be opening in the fall. The restaurant called the Lookout had the best burgers, so there was no need to leave to get lunch somewhere else. A great package....fall will be awesome there.

Room Tip: Room views are mostly facing the lake or golf course. Loft rooms good for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelClick, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Delavan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.