We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family and friends!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Lawn Resort

Save Saved
You added Lake Lawn Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Hotels.com
and 6 more sites!
Lake Lawn Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Delavan
Lisle IL
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Great place for family and friends!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

Wow....this place has really been updated and looks fabulous!! It still has the "Wisconsin" feel to it, without feeling like you're in a boy scout camp. We had been here before and decided to take a trip to see the new updates and were very pleasantly surprised. The rooms are totally updated and are beautiful. Our room was a king and the bathroom was really nice with a rain shower....and a whirlpool tub!! We took the mid-week golf package and the course was really nice. Every room has it's own patio or balcony with the most comfortable rockers - was also great. The resort is spread out very nice and all buildings are only two stories..feels nice and homey. At night we were able to enjoy a huge bonfire right on the lake. The new furnishings and decorations in the common areas are so inviting, with nice leather couches and chairs...and of course fireplaces for when the winter winds blow. Everything was great, especially the staff. So, pack up a group of friends and have a couples weekend there. It's a short trip into Lake Geneva for the ladies, and the golf course is also nice for the guys! Spa will be opening in the fall. The restaurant called the Lookout had the best burgers, so there was no need to leave to get lunch somewhere else. A great package....fall will be awesome there.

Room Tip: Room views are mostly facing the lake or golf course. Loft rooms good for
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    340
    144
    17
    8
    6
See reviews for
201
191
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Went there the first week in August. The staff were helpful. Our suite was lovely, overlooking the lake with a nice little kitchen. The golf course was in really good shape, extremely affordable and the staff were very accomadating when my husband broke his driver, lending him one for the two games. The pool area was okay and the games room wasn't very good, and they should have lent out the rackets and frisbee discs for free. For a resort that just re-opened it was a positive experience, even though a few of the amenities were not available, such as mini-putt, the activity hut, and most of the restaurants. The water front would greatly benefit from the same care the golf course is getting. I look forward to coming again in a couple of years and seeing it up in it's full glory.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

My wife and I decided to take a day trip to Lake Geneva, WI and see the refurbished Lake Lawn Resort. We got a very reasonable rate for August and a room with a beautiful view of Lake Delavan. Unlike other writers, we had great WIFI reception in the room, which was free. The bathrooms were beautifully redone with whirlpool bath and rain shower. We were on the second foor and had a porch with rocking chairs. The indoor and outdoor pools were great with the outdoor pool right on the lake. We didn't golf and boat, but those services looked nice also. Unfortunately, the Frontier Restaurant was only open on weekends, but a bar with food was open near the pool. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

new management.....still a few glitches.....but overall a wonderful place to stay.....our first night there we went down to the bonfire(which is very cool by the water)and upon returning our key would not work to our room.....after much discussion/re-keying/maintenance emergency keys.....we were offered to move to another room...which was a beautiful suite with a lake view.....although we moved at 10:30 at night....this was truly what the resort SHOULD have offered.....and we are happy to say....they did........the restaurants seem to still be finding their way.....food/staff....but it is VERY nice to have these right at the resort.....golf course was GREAT!...and very affordable.....our main goal in a weekend getaway was to visit lake geneva....which we did...and found it to be SO crowded....we loved coming back to lake delavan which we found to be most relaxing and less fast-paced.....we will definitely come back!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

We came here often when I was growing up in the 60s and 70s (anyone remember Bucky the Indian boy mascot?), and visited once with our own kids in the mid-90s. It was run down and we hadn't gone back, until last week.

Our loft room with 2 queens downstairs, twin bunks upstairs, 1.5 baths and 2 TVs was wonderful. The details (artwork - including vintage photos of the resort, pine furniture, twig/pinecone iron work, lightning fixtures, draperies, carpet, etc.) in the room and public spaces were incredible, and the bathrooms in our room were very luxurious (large counter with granite top, rain shower, bubbler tub, lighted magnifying mirror, etc.). The mid-week rate was very reasonable. Only one restaurant was open (more dining options are available on the weekends), but we liked exploring other dining options in the area.

They were just opening the General Store, with inventory arriving daily, and they need to put some finishing touches on some of the public spaces. Lobby was beautiful with new leather furniture, but chairs in lounge by indoor pool had frayed seat cushions. Fitness Center is large with adequate equipment for a few guests. Landscaping is minimal, but the views of the lake throughout the resort are fantastic.

An extremely powerful thunderstorm came through on our first evening there, knocking over trees and power throughout the area (though power stayed on at the resort). There were a few leaks in the halls, but staff were visible checking them out during the storm, and by the next morning the large downed trees on the property had been cleaned up and there were workers on the roofs.

We will definitely go back (in all seasons), and hope that many people will stay there so it will make a go of it and return this beautiful property to its glory days!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodridge, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

the lodge was clean and rooms were decorated beautifully. Beds were so comfy and the bathrooms awesome with the rain showers.

Pool was large and chairs were easy to secure. Right on the lake weith awesome views.

Our family had two rooms, king and one bedroom suite. We could not have been happier. The courtyard is a great place for families to play bags or disc golf or ladders. There is a huge bonfire going on the weekends to sit around and gaze at the stars. Much more relaxing and enjoyable here than Lake Geneva.

The only bad thing I could even comment on are the towels by the pool were a little scratchy and the chairs could use cusions, but it was not big deal.

We absolutely loved the place and will be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

I don't know what the review below was talking about- our family had a great experience at Lake Lawn this past weekend. From my understanding, the property went bankrupt and new investors stepped in and the place just reopened. We had two rooms, a huge loft suite and a normal king room. The rooms are in great condition and remodeled with granite, wood, new TVs, comfortable bed, and top notch bathrooms. The bubbler tubs were large and the showers had rainfall shower heads and spray jets. The property was well-maintained and the balconies had beautiful views of Delavan Lake. We ate at the bar and grill (outside) one night and the food was very good. We had nice service the whole weekend and plan on going back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Lawn Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Lawn Resort

Also Known As:
Lake Lawn Hotel Delavan
Lake Lawn Hotel
Lake Lawn Delavan
Address: 2400 East Geneva Street, Off Highway 50, Delavan, WI 53115
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Delavan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Delavan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lake Lawn Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Lawn Resort is nestled on over 250 wooded acres with 2 miles of shore line on beautiful Delavan Lake. Founded in 1878, Lake Lawn Resort has been one of Wisconsin's most popular destinations for both leisure and business travelers. With a rich history of traditional Wisconsin hospitality, Lake Lawn Resort provides a virtually endless array of fun and exciting activities. From cozy romantic getaways and full-fledged family outings to memory-making meetings and special events, Lake Lawn Resort offers something special for just about everyone. Making Lake Lawn Resort an even bigger temptation is its proximity to Chicago, Milwaukee, and other metropolitan cities, only twelve miles west of Lake Geneva. It is a big resort that has all the charm, comfort and attentive service of a small inn. It is truly the resort for all season and for every imaginable reason. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Lake Lawn Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Lawn Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.