We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“it's a classic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Union Hotel

Union Hotel
200 N Broadway, De Pere, WI 54115-2583
(920) 336-6131
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 95 Restaurants in De Pere
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Egg Harbor, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“it's a classic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Love that is is small, quaint and steaks are wonderful. Lovely old charm....hasn't changed in many years. Lots of locals go there as well as people who used to live in the G.B. area and remember eating there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    13
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calumet, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice place, good food, friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

First time visit to the Union Hotel. Good food fast service despite a fairly full dining room. All staff members were very friendly. One of the nicest places to eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“A Nice Step Back in Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Quaint, homey atmosphere in a unique 19th century building. Dinner is started with the usual bread basket, but with the addition of a side plate of cheese spread, ham salad, liver pâté' and veggies. Loved it! The pan fried walleye is very large and was perfectly cooked. Hash browns are clearly hand-cut and tasty. Potato-bacon soup -wow! My partner tried the steak kabobs, which were perfectly done and very tender.

It's like an old style supper club. Good, reliable, well prepared!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Quirky but always good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

As many have mentioned, it's like a trip back in time. And actually that is exactly what it is. Built in 1813, the old time photos look exactly the same as the place looks today. There are plenty of stories about the resident ghost, but we never saw him or her--even while waiting in the Victorian sitting room with drinks, perusing the menu and waiting for our table.
Personally, I love the place, and so does the family. You can sit in the main dining room with the same red and cream toile scenes on the walls that were there when we moved to Green Bay nearly forty years ago. Or there's a fun sort of rathskeller-type bar/restaurant on the other side.
The food is always really good standard fare. Steaks are done perfectly and the best feature of the restaurant, the little appetizer tray is nice, and service is attentive. Desserts are superb. The prices are reasonable, too. It's kind of a local institution, and once you find the barely marked front door to this great old place, you won't be disappointed. No frills--no fawncy additions to the menu--just a very good dinner. By the way, lunch is really nice, too, with a pleasant selection of items--something for everyone.
This is one place that got the message right about a hundred years ago, and never really changed things that didn't need to be changed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mb1883, Owner at Union Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to do the review! One correction: hotel was built in 1883. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeForest, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Always a great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I came here with my parents when I was younger and now come with my kids and parents....it never disappoints. Great drinks, service, and food have always been what we have received and still do. If your in the area i would label this a must try before the trendier stops.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Union Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.