We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Token Creek Eco-Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in DeForest
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Token Creek Eco-Inn
Save
You added Token Creek Eco-Inn to your Saves list
3919 Gray Road, 4 miles North of Madison, DeForest, WI 53532   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 DeForest B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Charlottesville, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful, Beautiful, Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Jean and Jason have a really incredible business plan--sustainable, responsible, local, eco-friendly, etc--and its what originally brought me to their website. But if this doesn't convince you, then know that the landscape/area and the customer service will!

My friend and I were in the area to look at the local university as a potential graduate school. When we arrived, however, we were feeling a bit lost because the professors we had tried to contact were all otherwise engaged. When Jean and Jason heard this, they immediately got us in touch with some university contacts they knew personally to get contact information and meetings scheduled. This little bit of extra effort and concern was the difference between only getting to see the buildings of the university and actually getting a feel for the programs inside of them. So, I'll repeat -- they called a personal friend and pulled some strings just to make our brief stay in Madison that much better. We already loved Madison as a town, but this was really incredible.

They're both familiar with the town/area and are happy to give advice for entertainment or dining (and good advice at that!). The grounds around the house are just what you'd hope for and the kitty cats are pretty awesome, too (speaking of, if you're allergic to cats, dont be scared away -- they're very careful about the cats not getting into the guest rooms).

Last, but far, far from least -- the breakfast. We ate at multiple restaurants while in Madison, most of which are considered among the very best. But which meal do I remember best and most fondly? Jean's breakfast. All I can say is that it was perfect. Both mornings. Perfect.

If the need for lodging in Wisconsin ever arises again, without question I will be booking a room at Token Creek Eco-Inn. Not only do you get to soak up the serenity of the property, but you're supporting local business owners who are making responsible decisions regarding the environment AND their guests' health (ask them about the beds you sleep on!). AND pricing is comparable to many of the Madison hotels, so there really is no reason not to choose Token Creek.

Room Tip: The garden room is PERFECT if you're on a budget. It’s lower cost point sacrifices NOTHING exce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
65
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We just stayed at Token Creek Eco-Inn last weekend and it was wonderful. Jean was very welcoming, she made us coconut chocolate cookies to kick off the stay (nothing like a warm cookie after a long car ride, such a treat) and spoiled us rotten the rest of our day there. I couldn't believe that they've only been running this b and b since May, they have thought of such great little luxuries to make the stay special. Sometimes cute b and b's have the worst beds with springs that you can't move away from...there bed was amazingly comfortable and I would like to buy the organic cotton sheets for my own home. We had our own robes, there were bath salts, 2 boxes of movies to choose from, a library of books that I wanted to read all weekend and the best breakfast ever to send us off with. They gave us great local advice about the area, we will definitely stay there again and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevens Point, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed 5 days in this lovely inn with the kindest, smartest innkeepers anywhere. Attention is paid here to everything: the tranquil rooms, the gorgeous food, the sensitivity and intelligence toward our environment. Jean and Jason live the kind of life that many of us aspire to but don't find because, in my case, of laziness/bus-i-ness. These are thoughtful people who have created a wonderful place to stay. I'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

My wife and I spent two nights at Token Creek and could not have been happier. The Inn has a great setting "in the country" but just 15 minutes from downtown Madison. Outside there are hammocks, a gazebo, and a deck for you to enjoy with plenty of open space. Inside the decor is calm. contemporary, and classy. The breakfast was delicious both days and you will find that your hosts Jean and Jason are two of the nicest, most helpful people you will ever meet. I truly look forward to my next opportunity to spend some time here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saginaw, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

The Schneiders have a great B&B just 6 miles from downtown, but it's far enough away to escape the noise and bustle. Very relaxing! We loved the prairie-style furnishings and architecture, which were a nice change from the usual Victorian-style B&B. Lovely, well-tended grounds. Delicious, hearty breakfast made with their own eggs and locally grown fruit. We would highly recommend Token Creek Inn to all visiting the Madison area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2011

This B&B was a wonderful discovery. It surpassed our expectations! Loved the arts and crafts decor, the food was fantastic, and Jean and Jason are amazing people. We would recommend staying here if you are visiting the Madison area. We plan on visiting again!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

As Michigan natives visiting Wisconsin for the first time, we were impressed by the harmonious relationship between nature and culture. It is not uncommon to find an art gallery among cornstalks or a classic theatre among hiking trails and picnic grounds. Art and nature blend naturally and beautifully throughout the entire Madison area, and the Token Creek Inn follows suit by offering both elegance and eco-mindedness.
Our hosts met us at the car and offered the choice of showing us directly to our room or taking a tour of the property. Wisely, we chose the tour. Jean showed us where we could pick and eat fresh strawberries while pointing out the fruit tree orchard that will be in full harvest by next year. Jason answered our questions about rain barrels while explaining their natural irrigation system. While introducing us to the chickens, Jean’s face lit up as she removed a pullet egg from one of the straw beds. She held out her palms to share and explain the color variations and size differentials and with an element of parental pride exclaimed, “Fifteen weeks is early for them to start laying.”
Inside, we were instantly enchanted by the Arts and Crafts décor, and were especially impressed by the couple’s choice to feature local artists in both their wall hangings and ceramic accent pieces. Unexpectedly, our choice to lodge in the Garden Room with the detached bath actually offered a considerable amount of privacy due to its location, tucked back into a corner on the main floor.
Breakfast was a work of art each day, and after savoring the pumpkin French toast or the frittata accompanied by homemade jams, assorted fruits, and light vinaigrette salads, we did not require lunch. When we decided at the last minute to stay another night in order to avoid holiday traffic on the construction filled highways, we told Jean not to worry about making a major breakfast for just the two of us. Her idea of light and easy included fresh eggs with spinach, tomatoes, and aged cheese accompanied by a pan seared beet salad and an enormous gluten free, berry scone purchased to accommodate our dietary restrictions.
Our most memorable experience from this holiday weekend will likely be the ecological lessons we learned through natural and engaging conversations with our highly informed and deeply passionate inn keepers. Jason said it best when he remarked, “We’re happy with any level of change or acceptance people are willing to make. It’s just great to be able to talk about these things and raise awareness at whatever level possible for each individual who walks through our door.” We are both very glad we walked through their door, and we highly recommend this experience to anyone seeking a luxurious night’s sleep on natural bedding, engaging breakfast conversation with an amazing cup of coffee, and just possibly a late night campfire beneath the country stars. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Token Creek Eco-Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Token Creek Eco-Inn

Address: 3919 Gray Road, 4 miles North of Madison, DeForest, WI 53532
Location: United States > Wisconsin > DeForest
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in DeForest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Token Creek Eco-Inn is a tranquil, relaxing retreat situated on 4 acres near the headwaters of Token Creek. Located just 15 minutes from the downtown Madison, we offer all the convenience of being near Madison without all the hustle, bustle and noise of the city. At Token Creek Eco-Inn, we are focused on sustainability and decorated in the arts and crafts style while featuring 3 bedrooms, each with its own private bath. Our creative breakfasts feature local organic produce and we cater to omnivores, vegetarians, vegans and people with food allergies. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Token Creek Eco-Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.