We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“should be called the "cash-outto"” 1 of 5 stars
Review of St Croix Casino Danbury

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Danbury
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
St Croix Casino Danbury
Save
You added St Croix Casino Danbury to your Saves list
30222 State Road 35, Danbury, WI 54830   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Danbury
Nonya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“should be called the "cash-outto"”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

the new casino is as tight as a drum. more than likely to make up for all the money they spent on the new building. during the week it's a ghost town, weekends aren't so bad. but if you don't like smoke, don't go there. they have one tiny non smoking room, but the smoke still gets into it because it's wide open right next to smoking.

for the amount of money someone could burn through there, they're better off flying to vegas, staying a weekend, playing all the machines, take in a few shows, eat well and probably still wont have spent as much as you lose at the st. croix casino in less than an evening.

buffet is pretty pricey. food is very, very salty, but there's lots to choose from, depending on which night you go.

we've stopped going, since 50 bucks wont last you but about 10 minutes on the machines

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    10
    7
    2
    14
See reviews for
9
20
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

My husband and I decided to visit St. croix Casino Hotel in Danbury, WI for Thanksgiving. We had eaten there last year but this year also stayed at the hotel. The rate was great but the room decor, amenities, and food were like you would expect at a much more expensive hotel. They have a beautiful pool with sauna. Two restaurants plus a deli to spchoose from. The staff was very helpful. We even got money to play at the casino with! We will definitely plan to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

I had visited the all new St. Croix Casino Danbury before, but hadn't had the opportunity to dine there yet. A friend and I decided to make the gorgeous trip there (the fall colors were beautiful) and gamble a bit and enjoy lunch. To our great surprise, they were offering a weekend brunch buffet ~ I love breakfast food, so I was very happy. Everything was great. The dining room was clean and bright (full wall of windows) with friendly staff. The buffet was small, but well layed out. And for it being close to closing time, all of the food was fresh, hot, and tasted really good (except the french toast ~ it was a little tough~ i think it sat too long).
Made to order omlets, bacon, sausage, eggs, waffles, french toast, hashbrowns, biscuits and gravy were all really good.
They also had a full salad bar, dessert bar, and lunch items (chicken, potatoes, fish, veggies, etc.)
Highly recommend the buffet! And i think it was only $6.99 or at least somewhere close to that price! Great deal :)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

I've stayed at St. Croix Casino-Danbury (formerly known as "Hole in the Wall"...the new name doesn't quite roll off the tongue as well, does it?) twice now. The new building has been open for a little more than a year. My husband and I stayed there shortly after it opened last summer. While our experience that time was good, they were understandably working out a few bugs that come with any new business. My more recent stay was a girls' getaway this past weekend.

The new building is very modern and beautiful. The main entrance bisects the casino area from the restaurant/bar/entertainment area. There are three restaurants: a deli, a buffet and a full service restaurant. I've only tried the buffet so far, which I would rate as better than average, but not great. Certainly fair for the price though. We didn't spend any time in the bar, but it was an open, inviting space with a stage for live entertainment on weekends.

The casino isn't overly large, but again, it's very modern and inviting. High ceilings and neat multi-colored lighting. In addition to the main bar by the restaurants, there's another bar in the casino (with little baskets of mints, nice touch!) Non-smokers may be bothered by the smoke smell during busy times. They do have a small non-smoking area, but it's way in the back. VERY new games, mostly penny slots. My friend was a bit disappointed that they didn't have more of the older games, but I personally like trying new ones :) I'm not a table game player, but besides the usual blackjack tables, there was also craps, which is rare for a smaller Native American casino such as this one.

Our standard double room was beautiful; nice modern color pallate of greens, tans and browns. Crisp, white duvet and sheets. I thought the bed was comfortable, but my friend found hers to be a little too firm for her liking. The room was spacious, clean and included a microwave, fridge, sink and coffee maker. There was also a flat screen TV, a comfy chair and ottoman as well as a table and chairs and desk area. The bathroom was spacious and also clean.

A walk down a sunny hallway with lots of windows leads you to the pool area, which features a zero-entry pool and hot tub. The pool only gets to 4 feet deep, seems to be geared more toward kids? There's also a fitness room on the 3rd floor. We didn't use it, but the equipment looked nice. Apparently you have to request the key from the front desk (not sure why your room key doesn't open it? Oh well.)

Everyone we encountered was friendly enough. My only minor annoyance with the service is when you call the hotel, there never seems to be anyone answering the phones and you have to leave a message. They always call you back pretty promptly, but it just seems strange that no one is ever available? I also wish they had more pictures/descriptions of the various room types on their website, and a way to book online.

I'd definitely stay here again. In fact, the hubby and I are looking at trying one of their suites next time. Apparently their "high roller" suites are two stories (again, not much of a description). There are also "standard" suites and "executive" suites. We will check out the prices and probably be back in December.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

I and my wife visited this small Casono for gambling and eating last November and we liked it a lot !!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and we must say that this place is wonderful The room was spacious and clean. We stayed in 2 different rooms do to the fact that the first night we stayed we used the anniversary package and the second night we had a different room.Both of them were way above the normal casino room. We were very impressed. The price was unbelievable. The casino itself was small but fun. the resturant was good. The bar area was large and very pleasant, All of the employees were great. They really seemed to love their jobs,they took pride in the casino and hotel. We will be coming back .

Room Tip: we only stayed on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We stayed at the origianl hotel the "Lodge" and were very diappointed from the moment we got there. The woman at the desk couldn't not figure out the billing portion of it and we waited about 15 minutes just to check in. We were not given the $10 in casino money as promised at the time of reservation. Our room was nasty, couch and chair stained badly we did not want to even sit down. We were suppose to have 2 beds, there was one bed and the nasty couch pulled out, very uncomfortable. We had asked for a different room but the Lodge and Hotel were both booked. We were a party of 3 and were given 2 swim towels only and no other towels by the pool. The one great thing was the pool in the new hotel. It is a zero entrance pool, our 4 year old LOVED it! The brunch buffet at the casino was very good and reasonably priced. If we ever stay again we will only stay in the new hotel, would never stay in the Lodge again, and only hope the rooms are cleaner and that we have better customer service.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Croix Casino Danbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Croix Casino Danbury

Address: 30222 State Road 35, Danbury, WI 54830
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Danbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Danbury
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit us at St. Croix Casino Danbury! We've got your game! Whether your preference is slots, blackjack, roulette, craps or poker, St. Croix Casino Danbury has what you're looking for. St. Croix Casino Danbury. All new and waiting for you!Every stay at the St. Croix Casino Danbury Hotel is special. Our attached hotel has 47 standard rooms, standard suites, high roller suites and executive suites with second-story lofts. Guests also have the use of the hotel's deluxe indoor pool. The St. Croix Lodge, located about a block from the casino, is also still open for business. Complimentary shuttle service is available from the Lodge to the casino. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Croix Casino Danbury, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.