We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cost + value doesn't add up” 2 of 5 stars
Review of 1855 Saloon and Grill

1855 Saloon and Grill
218 S Main St, Cottage Grove, WI 53527-9812
608-839-3700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Fort Atkinson, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Cost + value doesn't add up”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Pricey and not really worth the wait or the money you pay. Our waitstaff stayed off to the side, texting or something, on her cell phone. Had to wave down other staff to get water refills.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    24
    14
    7
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant, great food with weekend entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We enjoy visiting 1855 on Friday evenings for their fish fry. Just the right amount of delicious fish is served over a very light rye bread and it is very tasty (and I normally don't care for rye bread). 1855 has excellent brick oven pizza, and on weekends there is usually live acoustic entertainment which is fun. This restaurant can get busy, and they only offer reservations for parties of 6 or greater. Be prepared to wait it out if you arrive at prime time on Friday or Saturday. However, a large crowd is evidence of a great meal! Enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Delicious and plentiful fare!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I recently took a group of customers into the 1855 Saloon and Grill for dinner. I have eaten there a few times now for lunch but had not had dinner before. The 1855 Saloon has a nice warm and welcoming atmosphere. The night we went they also had live acoustic music in the bar.

The menu has a lot of variety and the portions are certainly plentiful! I had the Southwestern Pork Tenderloin which was quite tasty. Two in our party had the Pecan encrusted Walleye and they both were extremely happy with their choices. The salads that came with each of our meals was also very good. The specialty dinner bread was VERY good and I wish we had asked for a 2nd bowl!!

The 1855 Saloon also has nice steaks. Overall this restaurant is surprising at how competent the menu is and considering it is in a small suburb outside of Madison....which has a number of well known culinary destinations as it is!

I would definitely recommend the 1855 Saloon for an evening out on the far east side of Madison, WI.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant - Food could be kicked up a notch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have eaten here 3 times, and the food is ok to good, depending on what you order. With each of the three times I've eaten here I've always felt like the food was missing something, leaning to the bland side, I feel like there could be more flavor or effort into the food, especially for the price. It's not bad but I haven't found that dish that's blown

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“No Expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Originally we were going to Sun Prarie for our lunch, but decided to try 1855 Saloon. My husband and I did not have any expectations. Then we opened the menu and I was so happy to see the different vegetarian selections, I even had a hard time deciding what to eat. My veggie wrap was delicious! And the sweet potatoes were very good. My husband liked his salmon sandwich (minus the bread), and he too liked the sweet potato fries, though he later realized that the fries were probably coated with flour as he had a gluten reaction. Aside from that, we are definitely going back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 1855 Saloon and Grill also viewed

 

Been to 1855 Saloon and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 1855 Saloon and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.