We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, small town restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Village Inn

The Village Inn
Po Box 328, Cornucopia, WI 54827-0328
715-742-3941
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Restaurants in Cornucopia
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Here is the telephone number: 715-742-3941. There is also lodging at the Inn, but I wanted to write a review of the restaurant. The zip code for Cornucopia is 54827. The restaurant is open every evening, and on Sunday starting at noon. Here is the email from the brochure I picked up: cheryl@villageinncornucopia.com. The town is so small, I don't know if it really has an address; they apparently use the box number and phone number. Thanks. It is a great spot in a secluded place.
Clear Lake, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Friendly, small town restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This winter we had several dinners at the Village Inn. Each time we had a great dinner, and friendly service. The room temperature was cool, but so many people coming in and out in sub zero temps would make any building hard to heat! Can't wait to get " Up North" , and to the Village Inn very soon!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    15
    1
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cloquet, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“One word...AWESOME”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Friendly service. Great burgers. Homemade chips. What more can I say?

Wish we lived closer so I could eat here again! Very good!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Village Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We had a long day outside and stopped here to have dinner. It was busy, as it has been since the Ice Caves have been open. Owners were friendly and service was good. Food was great! Thanks for a great experience! You have a fun place!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foxboro
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stop in port wing for food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We went to visit the ice caves and when we stopped at the local gas station in cornucopia inquiring about a good place to eat it was recommended to go to the Village Inn. In my 40 years, with part of them being a waitress myself, this was the worst service I had ever received. Right from the start, Amber, had an attitude and it never improved. Drink order not taken from everyone, water glasses never filled when empty, and when asked about a menu item was very rude in response. She dropped food off and never came back to the table. The Fettuccine alfredo had a funny taste, which my daughter couldn’t eat. She never followed-up with our table to see if everything was all right or if we needed anything else. Poor customer service can negatively impact the business and with as many people passing through for the ice caves now is the time to show a great business with a friendly wait staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Whitefish doesn't get any fresher”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

A visit to the Village Inn has become a tradition when visiting the Lake Superior Ice Caves. We decided to have the fish meal for lunch as it was only $1 more than the sandwich. After a very busy weekend, they were out of cole slaw but we were offered some homemade fish chowder instead which was delicious. Of course the whitefish tasted as though it was just out of Lake Superior - it's what keep bringing me back!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Village Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Village Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Village Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.