We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth of b&b; privacy of hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington House Inn

Save Saved
You added Washington House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   W62 N573 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI 53012   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Cedarburg B&B and Inns
south bend, indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Warmth of b&b; privacy of hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Washington House Inn is centrally located on a lovely street of shops in Cedarburg, Wisconsin. The building itself is very cool....exposed beams, amazing old wood floors, brickwork, lots of history here. The staff was exceptionally kind, friendly and helpful, but never chatty or intrusive. Very easy check-in and check-out. Very nice hot egg casserole breakfast with a cold area of cereals, fruit, yogurt, nuts, etc. Big dining room with many tables for dining with your own party. Wine and snack hour had wines from local Cedar Creek Winery. Coffee/tea and delicious ice water with fresh fruit added were available all day. Our Living Social coupon included a wine tour (which we did not do because the weather was too beautiful to go inside) and 2 passes to the local movie house (historic building right next door to the inn). We had a nice dinner at the Anvil Pub down the street followed by the movie. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We were THRILLED that we could turn off our room's A/C and open the windows for fresh, spring air. Unfortunately, we were facing the back of the inn and there was quite a bit of noise from some kind of mechanical item cycling on and off all night. Still, to be able to open windows in an inn is rare. We loved this place and the friendly staff and would stay there again in a minute! Also, the Living Social coupon was a really good deal....thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the street (rear was noisy, but we had our windows open).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    331
    46
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
295
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Enjoyed the antique setting and style of rooms. We really enjoy the wonderful breakfast. There is no bed and breakfast anywhere that comes near comparing with the Washington House. The dinning room is very special-antique tables and chairs allows you to sit as a couple or in a small group. Room has one angled wall that causes the room to have quiet acustics. When I'm there I feel like it's 1930.

Room Tip: The street side can be noisy at night. Many style rooms to choose from. Enjoy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I have nothing but good things to say about the Washington House Inn. We also purchased the Living Social deal and stayed mid-April. We were in Room 213 which was lovely, especially the exposed brick/wood wall and wood floors. The room was very clean and the bed was super comfy! We totally enjoyed the 5-6pm social hour and were surprised by the amount of cheese, hot meatballs, and wine that was served. It was a great way to relax and unwind after a long day of shopping :-). The breakfast on Sunday morning was delicious! I can't stop thinking about those maple/cranberry scones, and my husband was so happy to have eggs, sausage, etc. to start his day. Much more variety than a standard continental breakfast. Our visit to Amy's next door on the way out of town was fun. My one complaint is there are too many delicious caramel apples to choose from!

Overall we give Washington House Inn 5 stars, and we WILL return in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I purchased a living social deal for my husband and I to stay at this beautiful inn a few months ago. I've lived in nearby Port Washington for many years and I've always wanted to stay in this picturesque little town. However I forgot to make a reservation and when I realized that it expired at the end of May it left me scrambling'. I called the inn and as luck would have it the lovely and polite woman on the other end of the line had just taken a cancellation for the following weekend as they were all booked up for the next few months. We couldn't wait to take our trip this weekend and we were not disappointed. The Inn is gorgeous and sits right in the middle of town, flanked by quaint shops, trendy bistros and an idyllic little theater to list a few places. Check in was effortless and did not require large deposits or even a credit card verification. The staff was friendly and exceptional in every way. The room was beautiful and tastefully decorated reminding one of a simpler time. However the jet tub in the private bath was awesome! Upon check in we were given coupons for several different shops around town and a two for one concert deal at the cultural center for an amazing and eclectic musical event. The complimentary wine and cheese hour was both classy and a bit extravagant offering six or seven different brands of wine which you could sip without judgement to your heart's desire. They also offered a large selection of different tasty cheeses, several types of crackers along with hot meatballs and yummy fruit and other snacks. This was served in their quaint dining room for all guests to enjoy. Sunday morning arrived with a complimentary breakfast that consisted of fresh and tasty cakes, muffins, croissants, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, hot scrambled eggs and polish sausage along with other delectable treats too numerous to mention. Guests once again enjoyed this breakfast served in the dining room along with different juices and coffee or if one so desired to sleep in, they would also deliver similar tasty treats to your room.....,still free of charge. I can't say enough about the Inn, the awesome staff and the friendly town folk. My husband and I had a wonderfully memorable weekend and we will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: there are many different types of rooms with exceptional amenities so there's a room for every b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Oh my gosh -- I have stayed at this inn once every year for eight years to attend the and be in the Cedarburg Annual Wearable Art show.I LOVE this place! It has EVERYTHING!! The staff is so fantastic, the charm doesn't quit -- the wine and appetizer happy hour is classy and delicious and the breakfast is out of this world good!! The rooms are clean, bright and so inviting. Just can't say enough about this place. I travel a LOT - so I have much to compare this to - and it is OUTSTANDING.! (plus - the town is so quaint - so many shops and fun places to pop in and out of and good places to eat. ) Okay. I'll stop gushing now!

Room Tip: I always stay in the Schroeder room (205) - because I share the room with another artist friend. Thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This place was wonderful and absolutely charming! We used a Living Social Deal and were welcomed as if we were paying full price! It was a great romantic and relaxing get-a-way. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking to relax and enjoy the offerings of a smaller town. There were tons of little shops to explore and cafes to visit. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everything was great about our visit to the Washington House Inn. All of the staff members were friendly and helpful, check in and check out was quick and easy, and all the little "extras" were included. We used a Living Social deal, but weren't treated any differently than if we were paying full price. The room was beautiful and clean, with free water (most hotels charge $4 each!), and bathrooms had nice toiletries and a whirlpool bath (if we had wanted to use it). In addition to a delicious and fresh breakfast (billed as a continental, but so much more), the wine and cheese hour was more than we expected. The extras that came with the Living Social in the town of Cedarburg just made the whole thing very worthwhile, but we would go back without it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington House Inn

Address: W62 N573 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI 53012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cedarburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cedarburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington House Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic side of Milwaukee at our unforgettable Cedarburg, WI bed and breakfast. This Cedarburg lodging, built in 1886, features 34 rooms and suites with comfy beds, luxurious linens, whirlpool baths and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese social that surpasses all other Cedarburg hotels. Don’t miss out on a truly romantic Wisconsin getaway experience at our historic inn in Cedarburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Washington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington House Hotel Cedarburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.