We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“favorite getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington House Inn

Save Saved
You added Washington House Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Washington House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   W62 N573 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI 53012   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Best Rate
Ranked #1 of 2 Cedarburg B&B and Inns
Arlington Heights, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“favorite getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

My husband and I have been going here every winter for a weekend for about 5 years. Every time we are astounded by the excellent staff, amazing food & overall pleasantness of the trip. If you are looking for a place to de-stress and relax for a weekend, this is it. We've stayed in a couple different rooms but the "King Suite" or Dr. Frederick Luening room is absolutely worth the extra price. The hot tub room is to die for.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    46
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
28
296
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

This place was great! I would definitely come back and recommend to others. The room was pretty, the generous wine and cheese hour was delightful and the breakfast was amazing! Definitely surpassed our expectations. It was a nice romantic weekend away in the winter, but would be even more fun in the summer with the lovely creek and shops in the little downtown. The innkeepers were nice and the only issue we had was the warm and humid temperature of our room that we were unable to get any lower, and it would be nice to have a fan for some circulation and white noise - not that it was noisy at all. If anything, it was really quiet! We are just used to it at home and anywhere else we go. The only fan there was could only be set to blow warm air in the winter and cool air in the summer. Minor complaint for such a lovely place!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Ludwig Groth room and it was very pretty, but a little warm and humid. If you do no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Staying on business? Apparently it is not listed on the website, but the corporate rate halves the website rate of $160 for the Leopold Jochem Room. The inn is old, very old. The room was small, but decorated nicely. Staff was friendly.

Reason for average rating:
Heat - if you like to be warm it takes 2 + hours for the room to increase from 67 - 73 degrees via a small wall mounted fan switch in combination with thermostat. Interesting but not too interesting when it is 30 degrees outside. The bathroom heat lamp works well!

Bathroom needed renovation. Tub step in was very akward. The step in was well over my knee (I am 6 feet tall), difficult to manage the ingress and egress from tub to floor. Any shorter than me and you would have to crawl in. Shower head only had one thin stream of water and the fan in the bathroom was as loud as a small engine. After tow attempts, I vetoed the use of the exhuast fan and just left the door open.

If the room rate was $160 I would have rated this property with two stars, but for $80 bucks - have to overlook some of the items above. With a few improvements this property could push to a 4 star rating. In WI and traveling for business or pleasure, make the trip to Madison and stay at the Speckled Hen - this is a 5 star B&B!

Room Tip: Advise if you are a business traveler for the BEST RATE! Ask for a room that does not overlook the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WashingtonHouseInn, General Manager at Washington House Inn, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
We are pleased you chose to stay with us when traveling on business. We do offer a corporate rate to our registered single business travelers Sunday-Thursday. When next visiting, please be aware we have an Innkeeper on premise 24 hours a day. If you ever need assistance or are uncomfortable in any way, please call the front desk so we may remedy any of your concerns immediately. Our goal is to make your stay comfortable, and of course memorable in a positive way. When planning your next visit we suggest you mention you prefer a lower tub surround, or perhaps try one of our walk in therapeutic, or steam showers. Our business travelers rave about them! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Wendy J. Porterfield
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

Obviusly, as a bed and breakfast this is an exceptional gem to enjoy amid a vacation to this area. But, mid winter, Wisconsin, on business? This adds a touch of home to business travel. The room, the bed, the sheets, the bathroom, all of a quality and standard, that gives you the reliable accommodations you want in a hotel when on the road for business. It's the service and the breakfast that puts this over the top.

How about a hot egg dish, homemade cranberry bread, fruit compote, and other tasty items? You want healthy, whole greain bagels, yogurt, fruits, and cereals with skim milk. This is not the breakfast at a quality inn with fake eggs, frozen potatoes, waffle machine and orange juice from a machine.

This is all in a nicely furnished dining room. Quiet, no cell phones, simple and enjoyable.

I found this place a few months earlier and now stay here when I have business in the area.

Recommend? Why would you stay in a hotel room without all this has to offer. Enjoy. I have.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windy city
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We too were among the many to stay at the Washington House Inn prompted by a Living Social promotion. The Inn was full the night we stayed but that did not deter from the personal feel we received. Received excellent advice on where to go to dine, shop and directions to places we inquired about.

The inn was in clean, well kept condition and we had no issues at all with the room. Wine & cheese hour was very nice. The breakfast was outstanding, and was everything as advertised with the fresh bakery items, fruit, juices and coffee.

Our room (206) was comfortable, had a wonderful theraputic shower and plenty of room to move about.

Inn is centrally located and is within walking distance to shopping and dining options.

Free parking is available at the Inn - would recommend the Washington House Inn to

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

We enjoyed a lovely evening at the Washington House Inn. We felt so welcome from the moment we walked in. There was a nice wine & cheese social, the room was fabulous and the breakfast was outstanding!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elm Grove, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

everything antique is authentic, no faux anything! delicious food, much of it local.Clean, friendly, love the thick stone walls.Even locals should try it.I was in a B and B last month in Atlanta, no comparision.The best!

Room Tip: each room is acurately and separately pictured online and named with a local historic figure
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Washington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington House Inn

Address: W62 N573 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI 53012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cedarburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cedarburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington House Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic side of Milwaukee at our unforgettable Cedarburg, WI bed and breakfast. This Cedarburg lodging, built in 1886, features 34 rooms and suites with comfy beds, luxurious linens, whirlpool baths and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese social that surpasses all other Cedarburg hotels. Don’t miss out on a truly romantic Wisconsin getaway experience at our historic inn in Cedarburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, T4B, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz and Venere so you can book your Washington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington House Hotel Cedarburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.