We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderfull stay at the Washington House Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington House Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Washington House Inn to your Saves list
Washington House Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   W62 N573 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI 53012   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Cedarburg B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Another wonderfull stay at the Washington House Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have stayed at the Washington House several times over the past 10 years. Each time we encounter wonderful people, great staff, take time to shop in the ever changing town of Cedarburg, and try new and different restaurants.

The Inn now provides a hot entree, since they are now members of the Select Registry, the breakfasts have been kicked up a notch. They were good before - now even better.

This time we stayed 2 nights, met a nice couple from Iowa, went to dinner at the Anvil, saw fireworks provided by the city, and found a new pizza place south of town, a franchise of Tomasso's.

Just a wonderful trip.

Room Tip: Get a room OFF the main street - sometimes the trucks are noisy at 5AM! Off the main street there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    52
    15
    6
    1
See reviews for
31
347
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Hts, IL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Been coming here for 24 years. Have seen many changes in town, but one thing that is always it's same great self is this inn. Nice to see familiar faces and staff is always willing to help you have a pleasant visit in Cedarburg. We went to Door County for a few days and decided to not rush home and stay a night here. This time we stayed in the Schroeder House next door to the main inn. We stayed in Room 1 which is in the back of the house and has a lovely little sunporch. Certainly enjoyed reading the morning paper in that comfy little porch. Rooms are beautiful and always immaculate. Like all the touches they continue to add to the service and quality of the inn. Beds are oh so comfortable that one hesitates in getting up in the morning. But you don't want to miss the expanded continental breakfast with some of the best homemade breads and rolls.
Wine and cheese in the evening is the perfect way to relax prior to going out for dinner. Staff is always willing to make reservations as well as recommendations for you.
Have already booked two more visits in the future to the Washington House Inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

My sisters and I all stayed in a suite. The room was marvelous. We were there for the Ladies Night Out and the Inn had wine and cheese that evening. They were very helpful and took great care of us. We are already planning a return trip next year!

Room Tip: Great pictures on their web site http://www.washingtonhouseinn.com/
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We had two rooms at the Inn for a graduation celebration. Everything about our stay was just wonderful! Staff can't be beat, the rooms were spotless and lovely. Excellent wine and cheese hour and breakfast. Perfect location, can walk to everything. Washington House is our "go to" place to stay when visiting family in Cedarburg. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

This has to be one of the nicest hotel/B&B's I have ever stayed in! And that is saying something, as I have stayed all over the world, and am a former hotel employee (so I'm kind of picky). If I had to pick one word for this inn, I would pick cosy. The rooms are lovely, and very clean. We stayed in room 211, and I would certainly recommend any of the rooms with a whirlpool tub- they are so nice and deep! So relaxing. I love the fact that the inn and its rooms still have that historic feel, without feeling run-down or claustrophobic. The breakfast was delicious, and the wine tasting hour is such a great idea! It was also very nice, as far as B&B's go, that they had 24 hour desk service. At a lot of B&B's, the owners go to bed, and then the desk is closed, which I understand. However, it was really nice to be able to check out a late night DVD from the library they have at the front desk, or to have someone to ask what places are open for late-night dining. We stayed just for a relaxing extended weekend, and would have been content just staying at the hotel, but the town of Cedarburg is very charming as well. I would recommend the winery, and all the shopping in town. We weren't able to do many outdoor activities (it was rainy the whole weekend), but I understand it has great outdoor activities as well.

Room Tip: For relaxing, I would recommend a room with a whirlpool tub
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

Every room is a little different. and very comfortable. The staff is very freindly and accommodating. We look forward to the food at the social hour and breakfast. Have been going here for years and will continue to do so. The town is also so enjoyable to walk around, eat, shop and have coffee.

Room Tip: The wed site shows all the rooms and what they provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

We have gone to Cedarburg many times, but never stayed overnight since we live within an hour's drive. We were given a gift certificate for Washington House Inn, and it was just wonderful. The staff is friendly, the place is quaint and historic, the breakfast was excellent, as was the wine and snacks in the late afternoon. You are able to pick your room from photos and descriptions on their website. We definitely will plan to stay again and again. Cedarburg itself has so much to offer.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington House Inn

Address: W62 N573 Washington Avenue, Cedarburg, WI 53012
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cedarburg
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cedarburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Washington House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the historic side of Milwaukee at our unforgettable Cedarburg, WI Hotel, a Select Registry Property. This Cedarburg inn, built in 1886, features 34 rooms and suites with comfy beds, luxurious linens, whirlpool baths and fireplaces. Enjoy complimentary breakfast and an afternoon wine and cheese social that surpasses all other Cedarburg hotels. Don't miss out on a truly romantic Wisconsin getaway experience at our historic inn in Cedarburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Venere, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Washington House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington House Hotel Cedarburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.