We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is my idea of what a bed and breakfast should be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Oscar H. Hanson House Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Oscar H. Hanson House Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Oscar H. Hanson House Bed & Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   303 E. North Street, Cambridge, WI 53523   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Cambridge B&B and Inns
Manistique, Michigan
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“This place is my idea of what a bed and breakfast should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Home was ideally located within a few blocks walk from the downtown shops, but located off the busy street so was very quiet. The rooms are tastefully and wonderfully decorated. The bathroom in the Townsend room where we stayed was very large with a two person soaking tub and two person shower. Two TVs in the suite - one in the bedroom and one in the bathroom to watch as you relaxed in bubbles. The gardens were beautiful, colorful and if I had more time would enjoy viewing the flowers with a refreshing drink. Breakfast in the morning in the dining room was fun meeting other guests and listening to Duke's (host) stories. Wish I had time to spend a couple nights there. Definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
49
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
LucienNicholson
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2010

My wife and I visited the Oscar H. Hanson House on our honeymoon and it was far and away the perfect spot to honeymoon, or even have a nice get away. The rooms are beautifully decorated and equipped. We had a two-person shower, two-person bath tub, and a TV in one bathroom! How perfect is that? The other rooms were also gorgeous.

As for the "breakfast" in the "Bed and Breakfast," Duke and Mary Jane were nice enough to accommodate our dietary needs and even went out of their ways to bake us a plethora of gluten-free goodies. Overall, it was a great experience for our honeymoon. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone else.

The town of Cambridge, WI was also welcoming and friendly. Where ever we went, we were greeted by friendly people and invariably got good customer service and even got a few free pieces of merchandise, like a bottle of champagne and pizza from a delicious baker on main street. The town is not far from Madison or the Wollersheim winery, which we visited. Check out the Riesling and Prarie Fume. Unparalleled.

If you're looking for a place for a quiet weekend to de-stress or enjoy that significant other, look up the Oscar H. Hanson House.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Duke and MJ run an outstanding inn. We were welcomed with the warmest hospitality. We immediately felt "right at home". Our room was perfect. We wanted a very mellow new years eve, just the two of us, and that's exactly what we got :) The DVD collection was fantastic, the fireplace kept us warm, and in the morning we stuffed ourselves SILLY with a gourmet breakfast. They accommodated our vegetarian diet and we even left with a cookbook! These two are inspiring and it was a pleasure to meet them both. We hope to return one day, and of course we will send all friends and family their way.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

What a lovely inn! We were amazed at the attention given to every detail. Our room and bathroom were spotless. We loved the heated mattress pad, electric fireplace, and the small Christmas tree in our room. It was so nice to have hot water for tea available for us at any time of the day or night, and we liked having the snacks and small refrigerator in our room. Although our bathroom was across the hall, robes were provided for our use. If you prefer, you may have breakfast served in your room, but we liked coming down to the beautifully set dining room table to visit with the other guests. The food was plentiful and good--no excuse for walking away from the table still hungry. Mary Jane and Duke were so kind and friendly and ready with tourist suggestions. Don't miss having dinner at the Mill on Main and the Velvet Lips Supper Club--delicious!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2009

Each visit whether your first or your fifth affords new, enjoyable experiences while having the benefits of feeling like you’ve just come home. MJ and Duke offer fine attention to detail from the subtle touches of their warm friendly greetings at the door to the elegant breakfasts of delicious pastries and delectable main courses that they provide each morning . There are comfy throws on the beds, and snacks by your bedside. They are up on all the local happenings to insure that your stay is as restful, and quiet or fun filled and action packed as you desire.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We are just back from a night at the Oscar H. Hanson House where we had our best B&B experience to date. The hosts were friendly and welcoming and made us feel at home immediately. The inn was pretty and comfortable and our room was incredible in every way.
Attractive, meticulously clean, bright with window light. We stayed in the Cambridge Room which has an adjoining bath with 2 person jacuzzi, 2 person shower and a calming color scheme. There was a hidden refrigerator in the bathroom with complimentary beverages including wine and glasses were provided. Soft, thick towels with a light fresh scent. So much better than the bleach-reeking hotel towels.
The bed was beautiful and very comfortable; firm with quality sheets and heated mattress pad.
The breakfast was outstanding; fresh fruit, vegetable fritata (sp) breakfast sausage and freshly baked scones that were amazingly light, and tasty.
I can't say enough good things abouosts.t the inn, the accommodations and the gracious hosts. If you are looking for a perfect B&B experience then choose this inn.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2008

We stayed at the Oscar H. Hanson House B&B for Valentine's Day this year. We had a lovely time. This was our first stay at a B&B and we really didn't know what to expect. Since then we've stayed at one more and are already pretty certain that we won't be able to surpass the experience at the Oscar H. Hanson House. The B&B is very elegant and tastefully decorated. While it is historic there aren't knick-knaks and antiques on every surface, which is one thing we were afraid of when considering a B&B over a hotel. Also, Duke and Mary went out of their way to accomodate our dietary needs. I am a vegetarian and my fiancee has to eat gluten free. In fact, we didn't even sign up for breakfast because we didn't want to risk it. We asked for a recommendation when we were checking out and discovered that Mary also has to eat gluten free. They insisted that we stay for breakfast and it was wonderful.

Our room was amazing. There was a private bathroom with a hot tub and a two person shower. There was also a DVD player and a large selection of movies. Our only complaint is that we didn't stay one more night!

  • Liked — The room was gorgeous! tastefull and elegant.
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oscar H. Hanson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar H. Hanson House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 303 E. North Street, Cambridge, WI 53523
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cambridge
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Cambridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oscar H. Hanson House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Oscar H. Hanson House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oscar H. Hanson House Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.