We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old style resort” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lakewoods Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cable
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakewoods Resort
21540 County Rd M, Cable, WI 54821   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Cable
Logan, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“old style resort”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This is an old style resort on a lake. Furnishings and decor from the 70's. No cell phone service and in hotel wi-fi signal weak in the rooms. Nice people and great atmosphere if you want to relax. Clean rooms just needs a little updating. Food good and has a nice bar.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    13
    16
    22
See reviews for
42
20
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our experience was pretty good while staying here for a family wedding but you've got to understand what you're getting into:

1. Pool/lodge rooms. DO NOT book these. They are outdated, musty and not very nice. The doors to poolside room are literally 6' away from the pool edge so you'll get all the noise, smell and humidity in your room.

2. Condos are hit/miss. All are independently owned so they vary in decor and amenities. My advice is to request photos ahead of time and confirm for a specific unit vs. a generic 2-bedroom. I can fully recommend #218 as very updated, clean and comfortable with a huge TV + 2 fireplaces. Our family had 3 other condos which ranged fom "kabin kitsch" to "somewhat outdated" to "downright awful" so it's critical to know which unit you'll be getting.

3. Wifi also is hit/miss. Sometimes it worked well for brief periods but mostly it didn't.

4. The restaurant is "meh". It's ok for bar food but if you want a good meal drive about 2 miles to Garmisch.

5. The bar is fun, especially is Kerry is bartening. He makes a mean old fashioned.

6. There is a golf course, some fairly rundown tennis courts, a nice small outdoor pool (heated!) and a decent indoor pool with a big hot tub. Great for families, but don't expect luxury.

In short, Lakewoods had it's heyday in the 60's-70's and could use some updating. Enjoy it for what it is - a time capsule to "the old up north".

Room Tip: Confirm specifically which condo you are getting and request photos. # 218 is great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just stayed here this past weekend, will not be back until they complete a whole scale renovation. Room we had was right off the pool, and the outer walls and doors were warped from moisture. The electronic key reader had mold and mildew as well, keeping this polished in a high moisture environment should be on every housekeepers check list. Room was clean for the most part, though very outdated. The mattress in 403 was terrrible, wife and I both woke up with back aches and neither of us slept all that well. TV was old tube type and with very poor reception and only a few channels. It almost looked like there was no shower head, but it was there, just a tiny 'shotgun' head, had to turn on shower to be sure! Had a patio overlooking the lake that was a nice view. The patio needs a power washing, and the light outside did not work, bare bulb on old socket, no cover.. Was going to have dinner there, but checking reviews, could not find a single even decent review of the restuarant, and given what we were looking at in the room, made sense. We went up the road to the Rookery, and that was a great place with fantastic food! All in all, really could not wait to leave on Satuday morning. As an FYI, I was a Rooms Division Manager for Sheraton for many years and know what I speak of. In this day and age, hotels have to either step up or step out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed with a group over 4th of July. It is so nice on the lake. Very nice beach but the pier thing sunk while we were at the beach. Nice sand volleyball court. Great bonfire pit. Love the outdoor pool. Now for the inside. Pool area and hot tub. DIRTY. bathrooms by pool are consistently slimy disgusting. There is no way they are cleaned more than once. Standing water by toilet. Ick. Restuarnt is so so.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

just spent a couple days at Lakewoods and so sad to see how the lodge has deterioted. we have always loved visting lakewoods but the lodge rooms are in such need of an update. may as well take the tv out of the rooms and no microwave or frig...room very outdated. Will give the workers a plus, plus grade and food was AWESOME! but overall with the room conditions... we would not stay there again but definetly stop by for the food and the great bartenders!. music in the bar/restaurant was terrible until a few of us commented but that changed the next day....

Room Tip: your customer service was wonderful but lodging was so disappointing....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My Nephew and I reserved a snowmobile for rent and Lakewoods two days before driving four hours to the resort. I had a sled of my own and we only needed a rental for him. The entire purpose of the trip was to get a full day of riding in on Saturday. At dinner Friday night, we were flagged down and told that one of the machines broke down and that we may not get one; we understand that these things can happen. The owner assured us that they would work on an alternative and to check back the next morning. When we checked back in, we were simply handed a piece of paper with a phone number to a rental place and were told to "check them out." Apparently it was now our problem to go find another snowmobile and I called multiple places over the course of 1.5 hours. As it turned out, Lakewoods ended up having a machine available as another party didn't show at 10:00am; two hours after we had planned to be on the trails. We rented this machine and after riding it for a short period of time, we could tell there was something wrong. The machine slid all over the trails and was very difficult to control for my Nephew. After my Nephew expressed concern, I rode it and could tell there was something very wrong with how this machine tracked over snow; I've been riding snowmobiles for 25 years and this was not normal. We were too far out to turn around (after all, we had one day to ride and this was the sole purpose of the trip) but I called Lakewoods to notify them that I felt something was wrong. In the end, we returned the sled and were refused a refund of $210.00. In addition, I was billed for the phone calls to the other rental places in the area if you can believe that. It's really a shame that they don't understand true customer service and satisfaction. They'd rather collect their $210.00 than to see our normal crew of 15 come back like we have for 10+ trips; unfortunately those days are over. I would recommend the Garmish as a place that truly "gets it." Thanks.

  • Liked — Location up North
  • Disliked — Lack of customer service/satisfaction as a long time visitor.
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LakewoodsFamily, General Manager at Lakewoods Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
It is unfortunate the party needs to place blame for circumstances beyond our control. The snowmobile they had reserved suffered a mechanical failure when the previous operator burned out a cylinder on a machine with under 2,000 miles. We contacted the party as soon as we found out and located an available snowmobile at a local rental outfit. However, we are unable to rent snowmobiles for other parties and it is necessary for them to do so themselves. We gave the party the contact information and instructions to contact them in the morning. When another party did not pick up their reserved machine in time, we did rent the available machine to them. If something was “very wrong with” this machine and it was noticeably malfunctioning in “a short period of time” we question why it was not brought in earlier so we could remedy the problem. Instead, after a full day of use, they asked for a complete refund of the rental. Phil, Lakewoods’ owner, went with the renter and examined the snowmobile for mechanical defaults. Finding none, they discussed snow conditions as being the primary factor to the handling issue. At no time did the renter discuss phone charges with him. Although arrangements were made locally, we would be happy to reimburse him for long distance charges which were used to check on other rentals outside our area, as we do not charge for local calls. The machine was used for the full day, so we did charge them for the use of the machine. We’re sorry the renter felt this was unacceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I have no idea how this place got any good reviews? It is a dump, unsafe, unclean and would not ever go back. Nothing worked in any of the rooms are party rented. Low expectations will be fufilled. Pictures are so deceiving.Owers should clean up the rooms in the lodge!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lakewoods Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewoods Resort

Address: 21540 County Rd M, Cable, WI 54821
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Cable
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Cable
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the pristine Northwoods of Wisconsin on the shores of Lake Namakagon, Lakewoods is right smack in the middle of the Chequamegon National Forest. Surrounded by nature, the areas lakes streams rivers and trail are perfect for getaways during any season of the year. Lakewoods' complete amenities including pools, restaurant, marina, golf course and more are designed to make the most of our location. Get here and experience all the Northwoods has to offer; be it snowmobiling the 1,000s of miles of trails, catching a world class musky, or biking the best trails in the nation, Lakewoods allows you to experience it all with your family, business colleagues, or your favorite golf foursome. Call now to make your reservations. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lakewoods Resort Cable
Lakewoods Hotel Cable

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lakewoods Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lakewoods Resort to your Saves list