We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going down the tube” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Charcoal Grill & Rotisserie

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Charcoal Grill & Rotisserie
580 Milwaukee Ave, Burlington, WI 53105-1251
262-767-0000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Burlington
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Rochester, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Going down the tube”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We used to frequent here more when we lived closer but hadn't been there in some time. The food quality has drastically dropped and there are less menu options. Our waitress was great but it took forever to get our food (I was about ready to walk to McDonald's which is a block away and come back).

There were a lot of waitresses, almost too many, so it seems to be a problem in the kitchen and with management...I'm guessing management. It's almost like they're lazy or something, or just don't care. The lettuce in my salad was brown and it wasn't cheap iceberg lettuce that they probably bought from some service and then passed on to sucker customers.

If you're in Burlington, other than their Sunday Brunch, this is NOT the place to go. Try Fred's or Lucky Star or even John's. At least at one of those, they're managed well and you get your money's worth. Not the place to go until they solve their management issue.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    19
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“2 for 1 Burger Night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was there on Monday night for 2 for 1 Burger night. The burgers were decent but the service did take some time.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great Burgers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stopped here for lunch while in town on business. I had one of their Roadhouse Burgers (swiss, caramelized onions, bacon) so I could enjoy their Fixin's Bar. The Fixin's Bar had your standard lettuce, tomato, onion, pickles and an assortment of mustards, BBQ, and other sauces. The burger was good tasting and cooked just right (medium well.) Service was very good and I will be back. It was a good place to talk over lunch without too much extraneous noise.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Nice Location & Service But Tasteless Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Four of us went for lunch yesterday at Charcoal Grill. We were seated overlooking the Riverwalk, which was lovely. The waitress was quite attentive, but the restaurant was not very busy, probably due to the unseasonably warm weather in November causing people to be outside one last time. So, it was a nice place for us to sit and chat.

However, only one of the four of us really enjoyed the food. She had a grilled chicken sandwich that she said was wonderful. I had the rotisserie chicken white meat dinner, which had little flavor, especially for someplace known for their rotisserie. I would go to Gooseberries market and pick up their broasted chicken instead next time. My husband had the South of the Border with a huge chimichanga which looked very tasty, but he said wasn't. The last of our party had an inferno burger, which he said was definitely not inferno, not even close. It was just a plain old burger with pepper jack cheese. It was supposed to have chipotle sauce, but didn't look or taste like it was there.

I had the raspberry lemonade that tasted neither raspberry nor lemon, but like sweet water. One of our party had a mango tea, which he liked.

It is a shame. It could be such a nice restaurant, but the food just doesn't measure up. For a place called "charcoal" you would expect the food to have a good grilled flavor. It did not. We won't go again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, decent service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our meal here. Food was good, service was decent although they weren't very busy. I like the flavor the woodfire oven imparts on the food. Portion size is good too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Charcoal Grill & Rotisserie also viewed

 

Been to The Charcoal Grill & Rotisserie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Charcoal Grill & Rotisserie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.