We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Every meal is one of the best I've ever had here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mr B's Bartolotta Steakhouse

Mr B's Bartolotta Steakhouse
18380 W Capitol Dr, Brookfield, WI 53045-2006
+1 262-790-7005
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Mr B's Bartolotta Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 147 Restaurants in Brookfield
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Brookfield Rd.
Transit: From Downtown Milwaukee: Go west on I94 and then north on Hwy 45. Exit west onto 190 (Capitol Drive). Travel approximately 5 miles and Mr. B's will be on the north side.
Description: Mr. B's Steakhouse provides spacious, handsome surroundings with characteristics of an Italian countryside. We are a classic Italian Steakhouse featuring classic steaks and fresh seafood; offering only the best ingredients and service to create an unparalleled dining experience. One of Milwaukee's top steakhouses, we prepare our steaks in our unique 1100-degree, wood-burning ovens. This preparation ensures a caramelized, buttery crust, which is unlike any other steak you've ever eaten. Mr. B's Steakhouse features three distinct private dining rooms. Each private space has individual capacities. Imagine your next gathering greeted with a welcoming bar and a sprawling patio complementing the graceful interior featuring wrought iron and warm woods. We offer an extensive wine list with selections from around the world with an emphasis on California Cabernet Sauvignon. See our award winning selections in our beautiful, temperature controlled celler in the bar area.
brookfield, wi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Every meal is one of the best I've ever had here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We have been coming to Mr. B's since it opened 15 years ago at its previous location. The steaks are always tender, juicy and delicious. The salads are fresh, crisp and tasty. The wait staff has been extensively trained, and dinner here is a relaxing, enjoyable experience. Try the calamari for an appetizer, or the buttermilk battered haystack onion rings. I can't actually think of anything on the menu I wouldn't recommend!

When ordering steak I usually have the angus ribeye; hubby's favorite is the 12 ounce classic filet mignon. The rigatoni pasta with eggplant and fresh mozzarella is a favorite from the first Bartolotta restaurant, Ristorante Bartolotta, and is a fresh tasting dish that has no chain restaurant comparison.

Great steaks don't come cheap, but If you are on a tighter budget and still want great service and food, Mr. B's Classic Burger is huge, juicy, comes with fries and your choice of cheese, and is a bargain at $10.95. Also on the lighter side are some worthy entrée salads with generous portions of steak or chicken, and a steak sandwich that's flavorful and filling.

Reservations are suggested if you wish to dine on weekends especially, or you can take your chances and hope to grab a table in the bar where you can get the full menu served to you.

If you want a great meal, guaranteed, then your only choice should be Mr. B's!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    36
    23
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Valentine's Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

We arrived shortly before our reservation and asked for a table away from the middle of the restaurant. Our request was promptly fulfilled even though it was a busy night. Our server was very helpful and assisted us in our selections. The seafood bisque was delicious and so was the wedge salad. My lamp chops were tender, juicy and flavorful. My husband ordered the ribeye steak and found it to be somewhat chewy in areas. The side order of mushrooms was huge and delicious. Good for special occasions.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, WI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great atmoshere in bar area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I prefer to sit in the bar instead of the restaurant. We were waited on promptly and food arrived in a reasonable timeframe. Our server was not knowledgeable on some of the menu items and the hostess made frequent trips through the bar area staring from table to table but never making eye contact with anyone and had quite a sour look on her face. It was just odd.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snowman11
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I took an important client here for dinner when we were in town and it could not have been more perfect. The waitstaff is very attentive and the food fresh and delicious. Highly recommend it.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great food overshadowed by disappointing service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My husband chose Mr.s B's for his birthday dinner, which we both thought was a great choice given past performance by both the kitchen and wait staff. While the kitchen held up its end, the wait staff fell far short of expectations, especially from a high-end restaurant. We arrived on time for our 6:15 reservation and were seated immediately. Close to 15 minutes later, one of the two wait staff assigned to our table introduced himself and took our drink order. Another 10 minutes goes by before the second member of the team asks if we want to view their cuts of meat. By this time we're thirsty and hungry. The drinks were still on their way. We declined her offer but asked if she could take our order. It was 30 minutes before we had beverages and their complimentary bread. No communication with us at all until the food arrived a few minutes later. The steaks were cooked to perfection and our order was almost entirely correct. Once again, both wait staff ignore us for an extended period of time - long enough for us to go without beverages (other than table water) for roughly 15 minutes. We had to finally stop someone to have our drinks refilled. When the manager stopped by the table - after the meal had ended - and asked about our experience, my husband told her the food was great, but the customer service was uncharacteristically slow and inattentive. She covered our dessert - a birthday sundae that we hadn't ordered - and coffee with an apology, but the service seems to be an ongoing issue rather than one bad night. Sadly, Mr. B's comes off our list until we hear they've made tracks toward realizing and solving this service issue. We can buy good steaks elsewhere, where customer service and good food are equally valued.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe B, Public Relations Manager at Mr B's Bartolotta Steakhouse, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your experience. Please email us at media@bartolottas.com with your contact information so that we may follow up with you. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr B's Bartolotta Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Mr B's Bartolotta Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mr B's Bartolotta Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.