We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beer food needs work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aqualand Ale House

Aqualand Ale House
10450 Main Street, Boulder Junction, WI
+1 715-385-0380
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner
Description: Welcome to Aqualand Ale House! For those of you who wondered what happened to Aqualand, let us say that we are back; and for the next generation, we hope you will find a new favorite place at Aqualand Ale House. Celebrate with us Wisconsin’s artisan craft soda, beer, wine, cider, mead, cheese, sausage, chocolate, pretzels and fresh Wisconsin ingredient based comfort foods made from scratch for your total craft experience. Also enjoy fair trade coffee, tea and snacks, while connecting with your world through our free wi-fi.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great beer food needs work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had high hopes for good food and good beer in bj. Flatbread pesto shrimp pizza really lacking in flavor. Could not taste pesto. Waitress very nice and service was great, but she implied the pizzas were not made there. Also had panini with same response, not great.

Hope they will work on the food. More veggie options would be nice

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    10
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good beer - off night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Neat restaurant in the north woods. The menu was very different not too appealing to my teenager.
There was many beer options - I had a great cranberry wheat beer. But, the night we were there they were short handed and we waited a long time for food. When the food did arrive we were not impressed. For the price not sure we would go back.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, IL
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Amazing new addition to Boulder Junction”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This weekend, my sister and I embarked on a trip 'up north' to see the fall colors at the peak. While it rained the entire weekend and was only in the 50's, it was warm, cozy and inviting at Aqualand Ale House.

When we arrived for lunch on Saturday, the place was surely hopping. We were fortunate enough to secure one of their last tables without a wait. We were excited to try such a new, innovative concept for the Northwoods...a gastro-pub is not something you run into much in these parts.

The architecture of the building is definitely worth the stop here. Picture a high-end Adirondack-style lodge. Everything was ultra-clean too.

They have 20-beers on tap and most are from small, Midwestern craft breweries. It was hard to narrow our selection, but we decided on a pumpkin ale from Stevens Point and an Oktoberfest Ale. Food started with a great Spinach-Artichoke dip that was quite good...we especially liked the whole-grain, flatbread-style points that were served with it and the fresh veggies were a welcome, low-carb option. We then moved on to sandwiches and chose to split a Cubano and a Chicken Jalapeno Popper and bacon panini. All we can say is WOW. Both were prepared with high-end ingredients and quickly disappeared from the charming pie tins they are served in.

Although they were very busy, service was very pleasant and our food arrived quickly. Our servers were still able to chat with us and answer questions we had, so it was far from brusque. While the prices may be a bit higher than other, more traditional Wisconsin restaurants in the area, you truly 'get what you pay for here' and we did not feel like we overpaid for our lunch.

If you are up in this beautiful area of the country, definitely make a point to give Aqualand Ale House a visit. You won't regret it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Aqualand Ale House has announced its presence! Must stop place for food and beer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

If you don't know what a gastro pub is, then stop by the Aqualand Ale House! They have 20 different craft beers on tap with four and eight flight samplers for you to figure out your favorite flavor.

The atmosphere is elegant, yet cozy, and is not reminiscent of a bar. If you're looking for a bar this isn't it. This is a gastro pub where one will get a five sense experience.

The food is delicious, priced right and makes you want more. I suggest you start with the crab stuffed jalapeno poppers, topped with bacon. Just the right amount of cream cheese, crab, and bacon with a slight tinge of heat. Simply stated they are to die for and the perfect complement to a tasty draft. They also have a shrimp topped bruschetta which is also very tasty. Don't stop at the appetizers though...go for the entrees. I recommend the shaved prime rib sandwich with red wine au jus sauce for dipping...sure to satisfy any appetite. I could've eaten another, but had to save room for dessert.

I had the tiramisu paired with a stout beer (yes that's right, dessert and beer) and I couldn't stop eating and drinking. This pairing was a new one for me, but it tasted like the most delicious, light, fluffy mix of sweetness (the tiramisu) followed by a caramelly, dark roast coffee (the stout beer), and is now one of my favorite desserts. I only hope I can find something similar in Colorado.

The owners, Dick and Sue, are friendly, charming and welcoming. On any given night you'll find Dick and Susie's sons, Perry and Dan, helping out in the restaurant in one form or another, which makes this place even more special. It speaks of the family's long history in the community and their desire to give back to a community that has given to the family for decades.

The atmosphere, the name that has a long standing history, the food and the beer make this the destination restaurant when you're in Boulder Junction, and would rival any gastro pub in my home state of Colorado.

If you stop at the Aqualand Ale House you won't be disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazomanie, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great ambiance, healthy food choices, awesome beers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We wish great success and longevity in boulder junction! A standing recommendation. The samplers are fun and the gift shop a nice way to take home the memory!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aqualand Ale House also viewed

Boulder Junction, WI
Boulder Junction, WI
 
Boulder Junction, WI
 

Been to Aqualand Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aqualand Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.