We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rifugio Fodara Vedla

Rifugio Fodara Vedla
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Vigilio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rifugio Fodara Vedla
Save
You added Rifugio Fodara Vedla to your Saves list
Localite Fodara 2, 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 28 San Vigilio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“One of the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at Fodara for 3 nights end of September/beginning October. What a great Rif and what a great family that runs it - a bit like a home away from home with a distinctly Italian mountain atmosphere. The food is great and people just seem to drop in from everywhere - locals, walkers, tourists, bikers .... A very laid back pleasant little social hub .... Has to be one of my most favourite Rifs! Plus the setting is truly beautiful. Plenty of nice hiking and climbing all around. My room with bathroom and balcony was clean and comfortable. Loved my stay there, wish I had had the time to stay longer, and will definitely go back the next time I head to Italy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
13
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a nice private room with a balcony and private bath. Took quite a while to get hot water up to the shower, but it finally got there. Food was excellent, hosts extraordinarily friendly. Accommodated vegetarian tastes with plenty of excellent food. Breakfast was pretty normal "continental" fare, with granola, yogurt, and croissants, but the hostess also offered to cook eggs for us. Excellent coffee too.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed at Fodara Vedla on our last day trekking in the Dolomites. Beautiful setting, friendly hosts and a great experience all around. It's great to find that these little family run gems still exist. Probably the most comfortable bed I had on the entire trip. The only down side was the flies but I guess that comes with the ambiance of free roaming alpine cows.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

This place is gorgeous. It is on an incredible piece of property. The family who runs it is really sweet. The best spaghetti with ragu sauce. The room was cute and spotless. Nothing was out of place. It is hard to believe that such a place could be run so well so high in the mountains.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for one night. The double room we got was very clean and spacious. The staff was very nice and helpful. The location was good, the surrounding area was very quite and beautiful.
The food was ok, though we expected for a bit more for that price..

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This refuge was very nice. We made a reservation for dormitory, and got a room in the old building with 5 beds and adjacent bathroom, so we had our privacy. The conditions are rather basic, but rather good - hot water in the shower, pillows and blankets.
Dinner was good, but as it is in all refuges, expensive. Breakfast was standard and good.
We made a reservation months before the date of arrival. Somehow, they thought we are not coming. I would expect them to call/email me and ask, but they simply assumed we are not coming. However, they fixed the mistake within minutes.
Overall, the staff is very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rifugio Fodara Vedla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rifugio Fodara Vedla

Address: Localite Fodara 2, 39030 San Vigilio, Marebbe, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > South Tyrol Province > Marebbe > San Vigilio
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in San Vigilio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The mountain refuge Fodara Vedla is located at the heart of the Nature Park Fanes-Senes-Braies, which is almost entirely in the administrative area of San Vigilio di Marebbe. The vast, green basin at 2000 metres above sea level is used as mountain pasture in the summer and is surrounded by the marvellous Dolomites.You will enjoy the traditional friendliness that has always characterised this lovely little spot within green alpine pasture and pines. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rifugio Fodara Vedla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.